Parents rent condos for better P1 balloting chance

Jman888

I thought the MOE minister say do away with the ranking??

Parents rent condos for better P1 balloting chance

SINGAPORE - Parents who are desperate to have their children enrolled in the primary school of their choice have allegedly resorted to renting a unit within the 1km radius, The Straits Times reported.

Such applicants stand a better chance of getting a place in the school during balloting.

The paper said that they had been receiving letters from parents alleging that these parents would move out once their children had gotten a place in the school.

The Ministry of Education (MOE) said that children who receive the distance priority should be living in the address of their registration during their primary school education.

Cases of pupils who change their address within the six years will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis by the ministry, a spokesman told the paper.

The spokesman added that there have been very few proven cases of parents using false addresses.

In such cases, the parents were referred to police for investigations and the child transferred to another school.

Some parents are calling for the ministry to enforce stricter checks and clearer rules. They want the authorities to specify how long the family has to stay in a rented apartment and to conduct regular checks.

errrr....this ST reporter juz woke up from deep sleep all these years izit? such 'renting' practices hv been around for donkey years.

officially no ranking.

unofficially in the hearts of many parents there are already schools ranked higher they are aiming for.

if people got money to do such thing, how to enforce against?

you cannot expect govt to do things against people that are born in rich family. just because themselves are not able to compete because they don't have money doesn't mean govt must level the playing field.

can be done as one of the scholar suggested, do away with PSLE :D :D

officially no ranking.

unofficially in the hearts of many parents there are already schools ranked higher they are aiming for.

if people got money to do such thing, how to enforce against?

you cannot expect govt to do things against people that are born in rich family. just because themselves are not able to compete because they don't have money doesn't mean govt must level the playing field.

can be done as one of the scholar suggested, do away with PSLE :D :D

haha......that can be done. but parents will still flock to nanyang, henry park etc because the environment there is deemed best and conducive to them.

just noticed you have surpassed me in the post count. you must be posting fast and furious recent months? [laugh]

Solution is simple - just have parents reconfirm address every year at start of school year. If address has changed, must change school.

We got IC etc etc to track - shouldn't be so hard.

But to my mind the biggest scam for enrollment is still Alumni, Clan and Church priority.

haha......that can be done. but parents will still flock to nanyang, henry park etc because the environment there is deemed best and conducive to them.

just noticed you have surpassed me in the post count. you must be posting fast and furious recent months? [laugh]

even post count also so competitive... [:p]

you newbie?? :huh: which school you from why post count so low? [laugh] [laugh]

Obviously not working hard enough. My dad always said that if someone else has more posts than me I should just make more posts instead of complaining

haha not competing la.

i know him for long time and remembered his psot count were low.

so suddenly saw his post count high so made a comment la.

oie. [mad] dont bully Sabian hor..

he is here to bully me one [laugh]

the stress will reduce significantly from fighting for Pri school, kena con by Gifted tuitor, or sitting for PSLE :D

haha not competing la.

my post count was only 6000+ 18 months ago until i found some pig and dog kaki [laugh] [laugh]

sorlee sorlee.

i not from elite JC. in uni kenna dumping ground faculty. and kenna exiled to developing country to work. [laugh]

haha not competing la.

listurb you only lah bec of the thread topic. [laugh]

oie. [mad] dont bully Sabian hor..

he is here to bully me one [laugh]

i never bully you lah. only like to check if you got huat sio or not. [:p]

lately u never see me ask you right and also got many bros expressing their "joy" at agreeing with you.