Flat owner takes HDB to court

Jman888

Does locking one room mean you dun have to stay in the flat?

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/flat-owner-takes-...41--sector.html

By Romesh Navaratnarajah: In a landmark move, the Housing and Development Board (HDB) has been taken to court after a flat owner filed a case against it for acquiring his flat due to alleged illegal subletting.

Chew Teck Fatt, owner of the five-room unit in Bukit Batok, wants the right to be fully heard based on all the evidence gathered.

But the HDB feels that the court does not have the power to review its decision and that it can compulsorily acquire a flat that has been illegally rented out.

According to facts of the case, HDB acquired Chew's unit after its officers discovered from tenants that he did not actually live there.

Chew denied the allegations, explaining that the third room is kept for his own use.

He added that several appeals were made to HDB not to acquire his flat but they were denied and resulted in the court action.

In its defence, the housing board said that tenant Zulkeple Husin signed a statement in March this year verifying it to be correct.

This is disputed by Zulkeple, who felt the document he signed only attested to the fact that HDB officers visited the flat.

At issue now is whether there must be continuous physical occupation of the property or whether Chew lost interest in the flat and illegally sublet the whole unit.

Chew also questions how HDB arrived at its decision when it did not give him any opportunity to address the whole issue.

He noted that the court action was a last resort, adding that he fully cooperated with HDB and hopes to see the case resolved.

No. even close one door, you dont stay inside also consider whole unit sublet out.

By Romesh Navaratnarajah: In a landmark move, the Housing and Development Board (HDB) has been taken to court after a flat owner filed a case against it for acquiring his flat due to alleged illegal subletting.

Chew Teck Fatt, owner of the five-room unit in Bukit Batok, wants the right to be fully heard based on all the evidence gathered.

But the HDB feels that the court does not have the power to review its decision and that it can compulsorily acquire a flat that has been illegally rented out.

According to facts of the case, HDB acquired Chew's unit after its officers discovered from tenants that he did not actually live there.

Chew denied the allegations, explaining that the third room is kept for his own use.

He added that several appeals were made to HDB not to acquire his flat but they were denied and resulted in the court action.

In its defence, the housing board said that tenant Zulkeple Husin signed a statement in March this year verifying it to be correct.

This is disputed by Zulkeple, who felt the document he signed only attested to the fact that HDB officers visited the flat.

At issue now is whether there must be continuous physical occupation of the property or whether Chew lost interest in the flat and illegally sublet the whole unit.

Chew also questions how HDB arrived at its decision when it did not give him any opportunity to address the whole issue.

He noted that the court action was a last resort, adding that he fully cooperated with HDB and hopes to see the case resolved.

Whatever the truth is, sometimes I like to sue someone suing HDB....Ppl should stand up if they think they are wrongly accused. HDB can be a pain at times...

I have this case, someone from their end tells u something, then another person from similar dept tells u another thing and finally came a 3rd person who said that the due to some reasons unknown....they tell u whatever being said by Person 1 and 2 no count and what they are telling me is final... This is the kind of standard u get...no wonder procurement is a big issue now....

Lock one room for own use does not mean the person has to be physically there always mah...can stay there once a while...and then use that as a temporary storage space or office oso can mah...

Champion... -_-

why you want to sue him for suing HDB?? [laugh] [laugh]

i know its typo ^_^

Whatever the truth is, sometimes I like to sue someone suing HDB....Ppl should stand up if they think they are wrongly accused. HDB can be a pain at times...

I have this case, someone from their end tells u something, then another person from similar dept tells u another thing and finally came a 3rd person who said that the due to some reasons unknown....they tell u whatever being said by Person 1 and 2 no count and what they are telling me is final... This is the kind of standard u get...no wonder procurement is a big issue now....

i think it's ony fair that we have a channel (a court or a MP) for us to tell the whole story, before HDB can do anything.

We are not North Korea. Especially when it comes to a basic need like a shelter home over our heads, we must have the basic right to fight for it, if we are not in the wrong.

Govt stat boards cannot suka suka, based on their own analysis, take whatever actions they want. The person involved need a fair system which he can present whatever facts he wants.

Guess who are the taxpayers who are paying for their salaries and overheads?

Whatever the truth is, sometimes I like to see someone suing HDB.

most likely typo. should be SEE

Edited by Mcf777

Lock one room for own use does not mean the person has to be physically there always mah...can stay there once a while...and then use that as a temporary storage space or office oso can mah...

gist of the issue is.. he declare to HDB. rent out two room. when actual fact he sublet out whole unit minus the one close door..

you know 1 room 500, 2 room is 1000. iirc 2 bedroom plus living plus kitchen easily 1500 to 1700 now..

meaning he is cheating gahmen by 700. plus if you still stay there. the property tax will be 4% if not 10%.

he is in actual fact jumping tax too..

i think it's ony fair that we have a channel (a court or a MP) for us to tell the whole story, before HDB can do anything.

We are not North Korea. Especially when it comes to a basic need like a shelter home over our heads, we must have the basic right to fight for it, if we are not in the wrong.

Govt stat boards cannot suka suka, based on their own analysis, take whatever actions they want. The person involved need a fair system which he can present whatever facts he wants.

whole story go read Straits time.

someone on Yahoo mention the story reported in yahoo is incomplete and ST gave a more complete picture

Once you bring in Govt it will turn politics again.

We all knows that all stat board do things as they like just becuase their boss is wearing white colour.

My neighbour rent out all the room coss he is a PRC now living in HK (i never get to see him for past 13 years!).

the living room and kitchen is like a garage where the tenants throw their unwanted stuff when they leave, so it accumulate after they change tenant like every quarter PER room <_< <_<

you from HDB? :o :o

gist of the issue is.. he declare to HDB. rent out two room. when actual fact he sublet out whole unit minus the one close door..

you know 1 room 500, 2 room is 1000. iirc 2 bedroom plus living plus kitchen easily 1500 to 1700 now..

meaning he is cheating gahmen by 700. plus if you still stay there. the property tax will be 4% if not 10%.

he is in actual fact jumping tax too..

actually sue hdb to disclose how much to construct a flat is better lar. at least the majority will gain.

you want to know how much the cost ofa bottle of SKII magic water that your wife pay $100 for? [laugh] [laugh]

He probably has many friends doing the same "lock one room" tactic but are all doing fine even after inspection by HDB inspectors except for HIM. He is buay Song because of so many offenders why catch only him?