Lift at Blk 986B Buangkok Crescent HDB snapped and fell

Yamapi

Think it is all speculation at this point. Lifte cable doesn't snapped so easily and I believe there should be secondary safety features eg. safety clutch, etc.

Edited by Silver_blade

Some joker is gonna to say it's coz of 7th month......

its coz of 7th month.

(dont want to disappoint you [:p] )

Edited by Joseph22

Think it is all speculation at this point. Lifte cable doesn't snapped so easily and I believe there should be secondary safety features eg. safety clutch, etc.

Agree.. Got a snippet from Wiki..

Elevator safety

[edit]Cable-borne elevators

Statistically speaking, cable-borne elevators are extremely safe. Their safety record is unsurpassed by any other vehicle system. In 1998, it was estimated that approximately eight millionths of one percent (1 in 12 million) of elevator rides result in an anomaly, and the vast majority of these were minor things such as the doors failing to open. For all practical purposes, there are no cases of elevators simply free-falling and killing the passengers inside; of the 20 to 30 elevator-related deaths each year, most of them are maintenance-related

The lift contractor is at the scene. No one seemed to be inside the lift when the incident happened. But there is a very loud bang. I lived at the opposite block also chua tio at the sudden bang. The lift involved has been shut down.

Edited by Yamapi

people at times watched too may hollywood movies.... <_<

Or too many " Final Destination" movies?

Hope it's not as serious as speculated...

No offence but nowadays most lift are MIC.

Prev, the old lifts were MIJ, so far never heard this happen before.

Cut cost, this happens.... mcm SMRT

Just my 2cents.

Based on the facebook link, some posted:

What rubbish. My sister stays there. The people already rescued and out before 10pm. And the lift didn't snap and fell.

Another case of "chinese whispers"

Based on the facebook link, some posted:

What rubbish. My sister stays there. The people already rescued and out before 10pm. And the lift didn't snap and fell.

Another case of "chinese whispers"

The sound must be super loud, even louder than thunder strike. If not will not have so many people gather. I can imagine why people got this mindset lift drop and hit the ground. ( If it happens, I may also think that way )

But another note, lucky no injuries in this incident, after reading facebook and hardwarezone comments, I still do not know what exactly happen except a lot of people gathering at outskirt of blk 986B and speculating life drop and fall, ambulance come and go an fireman clearing up the area, with policeman telling people liff never snap and ask people go home.

So what exactly happen that causes the Super loud bang??

Anyone lives near blk 986B got any information what has happened?

Because it is very unique and very rare, what exactly happen should be shared so that public and also relevent authorities will know what has happened and to make sure such incident ( No idea what happen ) does not happen again.

Edited by Yewheng

wrong... its gahmen fault... n ft fault....

Yeah, right. People will start saying Sg is so overcrowded that MRT and lifts cannot take it.

But on a more serious note, newer flats are built higher (~50 storeys) nowadays.

More safety features should be incorporated into the lifts.

Edited by Albeniz

Maybe not the lift that fell but the counter-weights? The one that looks like many slabs of concrete.