Teacher vs Parents = Police Report!!

Jman888

i really sometimes wish these mothers would file police reports when we were in army. then no need cut bald, get scolded all the time...

simply put, parents of this generation don't know how to discipline their offspring from young, developing all these traits that further manifest into such upbringing...thinking that the world owes them a living and their kids turn out to be spoiled, soft strawberry generation. Can't take hardships, punishment, trials and tribulations.

$60 hair cut for a BOY <_< <_< i eat until so old never had a hair cut so expensive wow!

Mum files police report after teacher cuts boy's hair just before exam

Edvantage | Thu Aug 23 2012

SINGAPORE - One hour before his PSLE oral exam last Thursday, a 12-year-old pupil was hauled into an empty classroom to have his hair cut by his teacher.

The pupil from Unity Primary School in Choa Chu Kang said the teacher, Ms Belinda Cheng, had told him that his hair was too long and if she didn't cut his hair, marks will be deducted from his exam.

Faced with little choice, the pupil agreed, but told The New Paper that he felt "sad and depressed" afterwards. He said two other pupils also had to have their hair cut.

Enraged by the actions of the teacher, his mother, Madam Serene Ong lodged a police report and complained to the Ministry of Education (MOE).

Madam Ong, 39, a sales manager, told The Straits Times: "The teacher had no right to cut his hair...She showed me no respect by not telling me that she was going to cut his hair beforehand," adding that the snip had ruined the boy's $60 haircut.

Madam Ong also worried that the incident may have affected his performance on the exam.

The school's principal, Mrs Jasmail Singh Gill, agreed with Madam Ong that the teacher should not have cut the boy's hair. But, she said the pupil had been given a warning letter and that Ms Cheng had the right intentions.

Madam Ong was unaware that a warning letter had been given as her son had forgotten to show it to her, The New Paper reported.

The notice was dated Aug 14, two days before the exam.

Madam Ong scolded her son for not producing the slip earlier, but added that her son was dyslexic, and they "tend to be forgetful".

However, a teacher and principal whom The New Paper spoke to felt that the timing of the letter was too near to the exam, and the situation should have been dealt with at least a day earlier.

"Ultimately, principals should exercise discretion and have the welfare of the child at heart," said the principal, who declined to be named.

A spokesperson for MOE said schools are provided with a set of guidelines to manage school discipline, but "within the guidelines, schools may formulate their own rules based on the school context and needs".

[email protected]

Stupid Mother, Stupid son...

I would say there are still many understanding parents around....whether they are from old or new generations.

I think MOE should close down MCare cause it take a lot of time for the school to deal with all these complains.

I would rather the school spend their time on how to educate the child...nurture them etc than dealing with parents.

end of the day, the parent shoot herself in the foot, cos she NEVER bother to find out about what the kid is doing in school [laugh]

now she wants to kpkb <_<

what to do.... sales manager leh... busy earning money to pay for the condo, the new beemebers 5ers and not forgettting the $60 bucks hair cut .... [laugh]

My side burn kana pull by my teacher, hand kana hit by ruler, backside kana 3 stroke....how.

But i am thankful to the decipline i recievd.

Thank you teacher. [:)]

That is how you become Goodcar now? :D

I would say there are still many understanding parents around....whether they are from old or new generations.

I think MOE should close down MCare cause it take a lot of time for the school to deal with all these complains.

I would rather the school spend their time on how to educate the child...nurture them etc than dealing with parents.

should educate and grill such parents., not the childs problem but the parents.. so, should focus more on the parent mah.. [laugh]

And the stupid Principal criticised the teacher for not issuing the letter a day earlier.

The Principal is responsible for her staff's action.

The teacher made a mistake by acting as a barber. She should have escorted him to the barber shop and made the mother pay for the haircut.

Edited by Fitvip

The Principal is responsible for her staff's action.

If the letter states "through Principal", that means she is the one who endorses it in the first place. I'm surprised that she now just pushes the responsibility to the teacher.

Anyway, because of this hoo-ha, chances are that this teacher will get a "D" ranking this year.

$60 hair cut for a BOY <_< <_< i eat until so old never had a hair cut so expensive wow!

Mum files police report after teacher cuts boy's hair just before exam

Edvantage | Thu Aug 23 2012

SINGAPORE - One hour before his PSLE oral exam last Thursday, a 12-year-old pupil was hauled into an empty classroom to have his hair cut by his teacher.

The pupil from Unity Primary School in Choa Chu Kang said the teacher, Ms Belinda Cheng, had told him that his hair was too long and if she didn't cut his hair, marks will be deducted from his exam.

Faced with little choice, the pupil agreed, but told The New Paper that he felt "sad and depressed" afterwards. He said two other pupils also had to have their hair cut.

Enraged by the actions of the teacher, his mother, Madam Serene Ong lodged a police report and complained to the Ministry of Education (MOE).

Madam Ong, 39, a sales manager, told The Straits Times: "The teacher had no right to cut his hair...She showed me no respect by not telling me that she was going to cut his hair beforehand," adding that the snip had ruined the boy's $60 haircut.

Madam Ong also worried that the incident may have affected his performance on the exam.

The school's principal, Mrs Jasmail Singh Gill, agreed with Madam Ong that the teacher should not have cut the boy's hair. But, she said the pupil had been given a warning letter and that Ms Cheng had the right intentions.

Madam Ong was unaware that a warning letter had been given as her son had forgotten to show it to her, The New Paper reported.

The notice was dated Aug 14, two days before the exam.

Madam Ong scolded her son for not producing the slip earlier, but added that her son was dyslexic, and they "tend to be forgetful".

However, a teacher and principal whom The New Paper spoke to felt that the timing of the letter was too near to the exam, and the situation should have been dealt with at least a day earlier.

"Ultimately, principals should exercise discretion and have the welfare of the child at heart," said the principal, who declined to be named.

A spokesperson for MOE said schools are provided with a set of guidelines to manage school discipline, but "within the guidelines, schools may formulate their own rules based on the school context and needs".

[email protected]

Cannot like this la, Parents too spoil child lao .This little thing want make police report. Like that when son grows up and get spoilt how?? Who to blame? Blame the parents?

Not everything legal action can solve the fundamental issue. Sometimes child need to 吃苦abit.. and get over it, than they will grow up to be a better person.

Edited by Yewheng

But hor teacher these days all act yaya papaya as if they are smart or something , 85% of parents from good schools have higher qualifications and earning power than those teachers .. Sigh .. Teacher should just teach the syllabus .. I mean u expect a 25 year old single teacher to teach teenagers how to be a person? They don't even have kids or life experience .. At most textbook stuff ..

The son looks like a spoilt ah sia kia who has the makings of a minor pai kia. Certainly got the kiam pah face. Mother's clearly spoiling him.

But whatever his transgressions, I think teacher forcibly cutting his hair right before a major exam is in another league of f**ked up. How does long hair affect one's exam performance? This is not the army!

Yes, this kid deserves to be disciplined, but there was a better time and a better way to have done it. I've seen a lot of bad teachers in my time, many of them have serious self-esteem issues, which they're happy to take out on their charges.

The son looks like a spoilt ah sia kia who has the makings of a minor pai kia. Certainly got the kiam pah face. Mother's clearly spoiling him.

But whatever his transgressions, I think teacher forcibly cutting his hair right before a major exam is in another league of f**ked up. How does long hair affect one's exam performance? This is not the army!

Yes, this kid deserves to be disciplined, but there was a better time and a better way to have done it. I've seen a lot of bad teachers in my time, many of them have serious self-esteem issues, which they're happy to take out on their charges.

well said +1

Yes I also agree with your point.