Taxes must rise for social spending to increase

HP_Lee

for a start....

the obscene amount spent on PA, is it spent for the national interest or for party ?

The free ride given to all the FT scholarships, benefit who?

The untold amounts spent on SMRT... privatising profits socialising cost..?

All the mayors, our presidents, are they necessary at all for the amounts they consume?

A lot of money spent in our names have ulterior motives behind.... its like a man saying the family must cut down... but his car expenses include fetching his mistress, his housing expenses include ONS at hotels, his food expenses include buying drinks for his buddies at night clubs. etc

They like to cherry pick issues, hide and confuse, before saying we need to impose higher taxes, current spending and practices must be thoroughly reviewed.

Wow...really pay and pay...has his wife lost so much of our savings in Temasick??

Water tax up...

VES up..

Carlite 0% growth...coe up...

ERP up up up

Carbon tax coming...

Petrol price up up up...

PTC promising to lower transport fares but did nothing until now...

GST and personal income tax coming now as announced by PM Lee

CPF savings rate for us peasants kept constant despite global hike in interest rates...

wow anything else I missed? Only thing not up is my pay

Thats why nowadays when I see new linkway shelters being built, and dont dun know what Microsoft Excel course subsidised at  SGD500 per course...I cringe...cos I know the middle class is gonna pay back the gahmen for all these so called 'schemes' and 'benefits'.... :TT_TT:

Edited by Kyrios

instead of saying, we should do more with less, he just take the convenient way out and say tax more to spend more foolishly.

Why not decrease the ministers' pay by a million?

Maybe don't even have to raise taxes at all for the next 10 years. 

I hope lsl to see where else can further reduce government spending leh. It is big government that will become a problem. The bigger the government, the more money is needed to fund the government. So where to get more money? Increase taxes lor. Like that how? Cost of leaving further increase and lower and middle income group will suffer more.

I am not talking about ministers salary, but more to processes and chain of command, to see where can cut down or reduce or streamline to make things more efficient. This one confirm can save quite a bit of money.

Edited by Yewheng

I hope lsl to see where else can further reduce government spending leh. It is big government that will become a problem. The bigger the government, the more money is needed to fund the government. So where to get more money? Increase taxes lor. Like that how? Cost of leaving further increase and lower and middle income group will suffer more.

I am not talking about ministers salary, but more to processes and chain of command, to see where can cut down or reduce or streamline to make things more efficient. This one confirm can save quite a bit of money.

there are numerous tapes with a certain primary colour...

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/bin-centre-was-a-complicated-project-nac

NAC-bin-centre.jpg

http://www.straitstimes.com/sport/sea-games-2015-singapore-to-host-games-on-budget-of-3245-million

4891165960_b870c25baa_b.jpg

2faee594-ae4c-46b3-b10d-4a9c7328bbf7.jpg

661px-Singapore_Youth_Olympics_2010.svg.

Edited by Mustank

Yes I am sure 100% they could save more money.. Just look at the bin center, how much it cost to construct again? Enough said.. Edited by Yewheng

increase income tax lah....make is progressive where the higher bracket income earners pay higher % of taxes...

this will make it the more you earn the higher you pay loh.....

this case the poor will not be burden loh...

but will they do this? coz ALL of them policy makers falls under the high income category! :secret-laugh:

• Dislike 1

post-14834-0-38584100-1511137468_thumb.png

Look at the middle sentence, although it is related to smrt issue and is posted by goh meng seng on Facebook.

If lhl and his team can look more deeply on how different government agencies run.. The middle sentence resembles it. It is not only time consuming to submit proposals, it also waste of resources. Imagine submit proposals need MANY layers of approval. How to make things going Sia? Worst is if it involved many different agencies, the time it took to settle things even worst.

Anyone remember the yishun mrt shelter that LBH that was proposing to construct was going no where and complained in parliament? Different agencies are all pushing around, because of fire safety issue and etc, things cannot get going. End up after it was voiced out in parliament then different agencies finally worked together and build the yishun mrt shelter to hdb block in no time.

So yeah.. Before rise taxes first, PLEASE look into internal processes and see wher can streamline 1st especially the workings before different agencies. *100% there will be a lot of things that need not so many layers of approval but because of Kia si end up a lot layers and become a waste of time and money. Those little thing add up make people very busy and unable to do other better things.

Edited by Yewheng

I read about this last week in MCF before it was announced. One smart MCFer work this out already.

You get all the news here first.

Not sure if i remembered wrongly, but during last GE, the PAP team mentioned that there will be no increase in GST, so means expect increase in other areas. 

i also remember that some garment people suggest / recommend peasant to spend within the means, buy smaller flat if cannot afford big ones; and take MRT instead of buying cars, but why ownself want to overspend ?