Why Cars Keep Caught On Fire ....

Maxus-MIFA9

CNA report : Car catches fire on PIE, driver unhurt

By Kimberly Spykerman | Posted: 11 September 2012 2156 hrs

SINGAPORE: A car caught fire along the Pan-Island Expressway on Tuesday evening.

The incident occurred at a slip road heading toward the Central Expressway.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said it was alerted to the fire at around 7.40pm.

Two fire bikes and two fire engines were dispatched.

A spokesman said the fire was put out in 10 minutes, and that the driver of the car was not injured.

- CNA/fa

Its seem like cars nowadays easily caught fire .... [sweatdrop]

no clear picture, look like a taxi ...

Was driving on Bukit Timah the other day. At a traffic junction, there was a sonata taxi. The exhaust pipe was smoking... literally. Lots of white smoke. For a moment, I thought the taxi was going to burst in flames. :o

Then the look on the passenger face is epic. He kept looking out the window wondering why there is smoke surrounding him. [laugh] [laugh] I think he also think the taxi caught fire. [laugh] [laugh] . Green light and taxi took off like nothing wrong. Hope the passenger reached his destination safely.

Was driving on Bukit Timah the other day. At a traffic junction, there was a sonata taxi. The exhaust pipe was smoking... literally. Lots of white smoke. For a moment, I thought the taxi was going to burst in flames. :o

Then the look on the passenger face is epic. He kept looking out the window wondering why there is smoke surrounding him. [laugh] [laugh] I think he also think the taxi caught fire. [laugh] [laugh] . Green light and taxi took off like nothing wrong. Hope the passenger reached his destination safely.

That could be blown gasket...engine oil leaking into the combustion chamber.

It happen to my old Legacy before...there was a leak at the bottom and the oil drip the hot exhaust and smoke lor...but won't burst into flames lah...got it fixed the next day.

SINGAPORE: A car caught fire along the Pan-Island Expressway on Tuesday evening.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said it was alerted to the fire at around 7.40pm.

A spokesman said the fire was put out in 10 minutes, and that the driver of the car was not injured.

- CNA/fa

That is the problem nowadays. Cars watch too much TV. [shakehead]

That could be blown gasket...engine oil leaking into the combustion chamber.

It happen to my old Legacy before...there was a leak at the bottom and the oil drip the hot exhaust and smoke lor...but won't burst into flames lah...got it fixed the next day.

So that's why the taxi was smoking [laugh] I sure won't get into one that is like that. Better safe than sorry

Either that or his turbo up lorry liao. hahahahaha....

Exhaust dun have to worry so much...but if coming from bonnet...watch out. Saw one burst into flame right before my eye. At the traffic light, this old Sunny was smoking from bonnet...I horn and warn driver...I saw him pop his bonnet and I told him not to open it...but he bochup me...and went on to open it...and BOOMZ...car goes up in flame.

Remember guys...if you are ever so suay to see your bonnet smoking...DO NOT POP YOUR BONNET. Just turn off the engine and get away from the car and call SCDF.

Anyhow modified by those ah bengs at accessories shop.

Yeap, a lot of modifications are done cheaply without safety concerns.

As long as it works when it leaves the shop who cares, if it burns a few days/weeks later ?

Anyhow modified by those ah bengs at accessories shop.

mine was a STOCK Hyundai Tucson and caught fire 2 years ago.

the best part was, the ignition was OFF.

drove about 5km, from serangoon central to sengkang, went upstairs

to collect my stuff and when I looked down, engine compartment was

on fire.

How to explain that ?

Either that or his turbo up lorry liao. hahahahaha....

Exhaust dun have to worry so much...but if coming from bonnet...watch out. Saw one burst into flame right before my eye. At the traffic light, this old Sunny was smoking from bonnet...I horn and warn driver...I saw him pop his bonnet and I told him not to open it...but he bochup me...and went on to open it...and BOOMZ...car goes up in flame.

Remember guys...if you are ever so suay to see your bonnet smoking...DO NOT POP YOUR BONNET. Just turn off the engine and get away from the car and call SCDF.

Oh yes, saw an incident like that once. It was at the causeway. Massive jam coming back to Singapore and weather was very hot. I think that car was a sunny too. Bonnet started smoking probably engine cannot tahan after being stuck in the jam for a long time. Driver came out and open bonnet and there it was, a small flame. The driver very calm. Goes back into car, took out a bottle of mineral water and poured on the fire. I left the scene after that. Not sure if he can still drive the car. If stuck there then the jam would be even more jialat :wacko:

- CNA/fa

Most are Hyundai Sonata Taxi. They turbo too much

Edited by HP_Lee

I encountered one 300C taxi on PIE. Same like ur case, white smoke coming out of his exhaust and it was dam smelly.

eh... you wound down your windows to smell ah? :blink:[:p]