Radiator tank leaks

Header

hi guys, wanna check Toyota long life coolant can last how long? my mechanic says must change every 20k servicing. is that true?

every 40k drain and flush. [laugh]

Not sure! Temp raise high only at 160km/hr leh! Any comment?

Any other stockist u know beside Ming Ghee or Fong Tat?

Thks..!

Can anyone advise what is the price range of a radiator for toyota axio? Is there a need to change the radiator along with something else attached to the radiator? (Example: fan...)

Call a aircon specialist workshop to ask lah. Eg. Markcool....

If radiator kaput, just change the radiator. Other attachment if working well, no need to change.

QUOTE (Edca @ Sep 19 2012, 12:41 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
hi guys, wanna check Toyota long life coolant can last how long? my mechanic says must change every 20k servicing. is that true?

every 40k drain and flush. laugh.gif

i never change in my camry since jan 2005

110k liao [grin]

i never change in my camry since jan 2005

110k liao [grin]

I wud think LONG LIFE COOLANT sud last abt 3-4 yrs (60-80K km).

Normal coolant usually change every 1-2 yrs(20-40K km)

I use long life coolant (OWS) n use fr abt 3-4 yrs then flush n replace.

Should be lest than $300

Thanks I was quoted around 300+ for an aftermarket radiator. Mechanic told me that the difference with the original one is that aftermarket radiators are lighter in weight and can only use toyota original coolant which is red in colour.

Call a aircon specialist workshop to ask lah. Eg. Markcool....

If radiator kaput, just change the radiator. Other attachment if working well, no need to change.

Thanks man. I think no need to change too if it is still working like mine, considering that the cost is really high. 700+ for an original radiator. I was told some workshops actually weld the affected areas so as not to change the whole radiator.

Thanks I was quoted around 300+ for an aftermarket radiator. Mechanic told me that the difference with the original one is that aftermarket radiators are lighter in weight and can only use toyota original coolant which is red in colour.

Thanks man. I think no need to change too if it is still working like mine, considering that the cost is really high. 700+ for an original radiator. I was told some workshops actually weld the affected areas so as not to change the whole radiator.

But remember that with the aftermarket lighter radiator, yr cooling wil not b as good as the original one.

Prob less rows of pipe so coolant cannot b cooled as well as the original one. It might affect the temp especially when it is older n maybe stuck in a jam on a hot day.

But remember that with the aftermarket lighter radiator, yr cooling wil not b as good as the original one.

Prob less rows of pipe so coolant cannot b cooled as well as the original one. It might affect the temp especially when it is older n maybe stuck in a jam on a hot day.

I wasn't informed on that but I guess it's true. Every cent counts. You pay for what you get. Anyway, will stick with current one since there is no problem this far... Touch wood!!!

If you have problem with your car radiator or buying a car radiator, you can contact EVERCOOL TRADING COMPANY for advise.

You can call them at 6453 3744 or 9747 6115 They are the local distributor for KOYORAD radiator which are made in Japan.

If you have problem with your car radiator or buying a car radiator, you can contact EVERCOOL TRADING COMPANY for advise.

You can call them at 6453 3744 or 9747 6115 They are the local distributor for KOYORAD radiator which are made in Japan.

seems, you're advertising it haha

Edited by UbErZoNe

seems, you're advertising it haha

seems like advertising but people tend to go to workshop to repair or replace a radiator, they will mark up up to 50%-100% for the service.

So if you can save money by $100-$300 why not go directly to them. Get what i mean.

Anyone ever did a heater core by-pass? 

Where did you do or where can you buy a by-pass tube?

In our climate, the heater is redundant and when it corrodes, gives problem.