A matter of perspectives?

A friend bought an used Cayman S, told me yrly dep about $24k+-.

We were chatting: $24k can go with wife for a Alaska Cruise or similar each year, or have $2k each month for fine dining, or be utilised as yearly interests for property loans, etc etc. To each his own. Maybe we should ask wife to sacrifice a yearly cruise but enjoy a fine / fast car for a change? Of course, the elites will have all the above without a blink :D

Some will say donate the $24k every year to charities, the good feeling is priceless besides making many poor happy.

We were chatting: $24k can go with wife for a Alaska Cruise or similar each year, or have $2k each month for fine dining, or be utilised as yearly interests for property loans, etc etc. To each his own. Maybe we should ask wife to sacrifice a yearly cruise but enjoy a fine / fast car for a change? Of course, the elites will have all the above without a blink :D

Some will say donate the $24k every year to charities, the good feeling is priceless besides making many poor happy.

what's makes you think that some one who can afford a porsche will change his lifestyle just because of a car?

he can probably still enjoy his fine dining and holiday even with the annual depreciation.

what's makes you think that some one who can afford a porsche will change his lifestyle just because of a car?

he can probably still enjoy his fine dining and holiday even with the annual depreciation.

Those u mentioned r elites

Precisely.

But, but, some people can still have 'em all leh ... the $24K/yr depreciating Cayman S, the annual cruise to Alaska and elsewhere, including fine dining every week or more!

So why even stinge on the car?

Must also remember it is about enjoyment...

some people will get more enjoyment from driving a Porsche than they will from an annual holiday or cruise.

For some, driving to Penang and back in a "sports car" is better than a cruise or whatever.

Some also believe in "my enjoyment is also priority over education" or may already have put aside money for the kids, or may not believe in providing a "free ride" for education so saving for such things not a priority

But, but, some people can still have 'em all leh ... the $24K/yr depreciating Cayman S, the annual cruise to Alaska and elsewhere, including fine dining every week or more!

So why even stinge on the car?

Of course many can well afford all and more simultaneously. These elites have their perspectives, the non-elites who also love such cars have theirs too. Naturally, it's not right or wrong, it's just differences in perspectives hence the thread title mah. :D

Must also remember it is about enjoyment...

some people will get more enjoyment from driving a Porsche than they will from an annual holiday or cruise.

For some, driving to Penang and back in a "sports car" is better than a cruise or whatever.

Some also believe in "my enjoyment is also priority over education" or may already have put aside money for the kids, or may not believe in providing a "free ride" for education so saving for such things not a priority

Agreed. Also, at different phase of one's life the priority in types of enjoyment shifts, not always a constant. [:)]

Of course many can well afford all and more simultaneously. These elites have their perspectives, the non-elites who also love such cars have theirs too. Naturally, it's not right or wrong, it's just differences in perspectives hence the thread title mah. :D

OIC ... understand the rationale of your starting this thread now.

A non-elite who spends 3-4 times, or more, of his salary on a premium car ...

He must have an 'escape clause' in the event that he loses his job the following year, or were to be told that he has cancer with only 6 months to live and has no medical insurance to cover treatment and surgery.

That will be tragic, cos his Porsche will be negative equity and a severe liability ... unless he paid in full cash. Made worse if his mortgage(s) are also over-leveraged!

Then. that will be a very sad case indeed!

At least when he look back at least U own a Porsche some point in life before that may be his goal.

True. Driving one for say a year to places, then change to other kind of enjoyment if he has limited resources and can't keep it longer. Elites may scorn at him. But no big deal really. Just like can't afford private jet, then fly business or first class.

He must have an 'escape clause' in the event that he loses his job the following year, or were to be told that he has cancer with only 6 months to live and has no medical insurance to cover treatment and surgery.

That will be tragic, cos his Porsche will be negative equity and a severe liability ... unless he paid in full cash. Made worse if his mortgage(s) are also over-leveraged!

This could be the case but not all cases are like such. I won't jump to such a negative conclusion on my fren and feel superior about it. He may have lots of reserves but chooses the way he makes use of them. See my point here? Wise not to assume the negative but feel happy for those who enjoy what they do. :D

I would rather have a used Cayman S than go with wife for a Alaska Cruise. [thumbsup]

Alaska cruise sounds exotic but maybe not with wifey lah ... [lipsrsealed]

As long as he spends, and only spends, money that HE earned, dun think anyone should have a quarrel nor authority on where he spends it ba...

Your want to think in terms of perspective.

You mention someone have 6 months to live. At least he would die, yet knowing when he lived, he know how to enjoy his life, like driving his Porsche.

Thats perspective.

Everybody dies, but not everyone truly lives--thats a line from Braveheart by the way.

I agree one cannot overspend, but many people also too concious about things that only when it is too late, did they realise what they wanted to do, is impossible now, maybe too old, terminal illness etc.

Moderation is key. You only live once.