ST Forum: 'Blank cheque' motor claims'

Vulcann

From the good doctor's description, it seemed like the other driver/owner was the victim as his vehicle's damage was "scratches to right back tyre ream and door".

If that was the case why would the other driver wanted to claim his own insurance le?

I guess Dr Lee might have mistaken and it would be good if the other driver could respond because his honesty/integrity had been doubted liao...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...claims-20121105

'Blank cheque' motor claims'

Published on Nov 05, 2012

I AM a mother of two with 12 years of driving experience and no prior accident history or claims experience.

On Oct 23, I had my first car accident at the junction of Balmoral Road and Dunearn Road while I was driving my husband to work.

After the other driver and I exchanged the relevant details and snapped pictures related to the accident, it was agreed, or so I thought, that we would each claim the cost of the repairs from our own car insurance.

I paid $1,400 for my own repairs, after much deliberation, to avoid claiming from my insurance.

Subsequently, I received a letter from my insurer informing me about the other car driver's application to claim the cost of his repairs from my insurance.

His repairs for the scratches to his right back tyre ream and door cost $3,500, which was double what I paid to repair the damage to my car.

Are there any regulatory bodies guarding consumer rights when a car owner uses these workshops? It seems to me that they may quote high prices when they know the owner is likely to claim from the other party's insurer.

Are there cameras at every traffic junction that can provide useful evidence for the claims process? How do we go about obtaining such evidence?

Mandy Lee (Dr)

Many things hav changed over the twelve years [laugh]

In the past workshop repair wats need to be repair...these days they just claim replacement of parts (door)

If no party admit to fault, then just submit case to insurance and let them fight out...

Edited by Tayspiderx

From the good doctor's description, it seemed like the other driver/owner was the victim as his vehicle's damage was "scratches to right back tyre ream and door".

If that was the case why would the other driver wanted to claim his own insurance le?

I guess Dr Lee might have mistaken and it would be good if the other driver could respond because his honesty/integrity had been doubted liao...

From ST Forum:

I AM a mother of two with 12 years of driving experience and no prior accident history or claims experience.

On Oct 23, I had my first car accident at the junction of Balmoral Road and Dunearn Road while I was driving my husband to work.

After the other driver and I exchanged the relevant details and snapped pictures related to the accident, it was agreed, or so I thought, that we would each claim the cost of the repairs from our own car insurance.

I paid $1,400 for my own repairs, after much deliberation, to avoid claiming from my insurance.

Subsequently, I received a letter from my insurer informing me about the other car driver's application to claim the cost of his repairs from my insurance.

His repairs for the scratches to his right back tyre ream and door cost $3,500, which was double what I paid to repair the damage to my car.

Are there any regulatory bodies guarding consumer rights when a car owner uses these workshops? It seems to me that they may quote high prices when they know the owner is likely to claim from the other party's insurer.

Are there cameras at every traffic junction that can provide useful evidence for the claims process? How do we go about obtaining such evidence?

Mandy Lee (Dr)

A lot of motorists DO NOT understand & keep thinking:

"my own car repair costs $x so the other car repair should cost $x also"

Since when is this the case? There is no such proof...

And if you are a businessman who opens a workshop, would you do business at costs only???

Obviously you would want to make profits rite?

The issue is how much profit to make, whether ethical or not... thats all!

Why must say she's a mother of 2? Absolutely useless piece of information that has nothing to do with the accident.

Because saying she's a mother of 2 makes her sound like she is a responsible citizen. :ph34r: More credible lah.

From ST Forum:

Mandy Lee (Dr)

any agreement has to be documented, even the ginas in hwz knows NPNT!!!! :D

A lot of motorists DO NOT understand & keep thinking:

"my own car repair costs $x so the other car repair should cost $x also"

Since when is this the case? There is no such proof...

And if you are a businessman who opens a workshop, would you do business at costs only???

Obviously you would want to make profits rite?

The issue is how much profit to make, whether ethical or not... thats all!

your logic is skewed. you think the other workshop that charges $1400 only recovers only cost? what is highlighted is quite true though, if workshops know is claim insurance case, they increae the labour charge, increase the parts cost etc.

but of course, i understand your logic. but just don't make these workshops look like an angel

Edited by Acemundo

Mandy Lee (Dr)

from this title, will TP/LTA allow her to obtain the evidence?

maybe she stay overseas for too long, and trusted people too much [laugh] [laugh]

from this title, will TP/LTA allow her to obtain the evidence?

maybe she stay overseas for too long, and trusted people too much [laugh] [laugh]

My friend got in to accident requested to view the video. LTA say no such practice.

In essence, it seems to suggest that the other party will play one out if one does not have a written agreement to settle privately.

$1400 self repair cost? Does the letter writter means to say her next insurance premiums will be higher by $1400(next pre renewal) or at least $700( assume two subsequent years of higher premiums)?

It's really an irony how one is willing to pay out of pocket, when insurance purpose is to protect car owners pocket!

My friend got in to accident requested to view the video. LTA say no such practice.

won't happen unless got fatalities involved

In essence, it seems to suggest that the other party will play one out if one does not have a written agreement to settle privately.

$1400 self repair cost? Does the letter writter means to say her next insurance premiums will be higher by $1400(next pre renewal) or at least $700( assume two subsequent years of higher premiums)?

It's really an irony how one is willing to pay out of pocket, when insurance purpose is to protect car owners pocket!

I gentleman, kenna long at the rear, i told him prvt settle, $500. He go atm take, pass me $$$, end of story. (Also becos i actually don't wanto claim... knn sibeh lecheh and waste my time running around file report blah blah blah... one whole morning+afternoon gone)

Edited by Mockngbrd

Pivate settlement also must report insurance hor... [wave]

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...hicles-20121109

Pre-repair inspection rule for accident vehicles

Published on Nov 09, 2012

WE WISH to remind motorists that under the Motor Claims Framework, motorists are required to file an accident report with their insurer even if there is a private settlement between the parties ("'Blank cheque' motor claims" by Dr Mandy Lee; Forum Online, Monday).

This is to protect the insured against the other party later having a change of heart and then filing a claim.

Regulations introduced on May 1 last year require motorists making property damage claims to their vehicles to give the other motorist or their insurer an opportunity to inspect the damage to the vehicle prior to the commencement of repairs.

This is aimed at mitigating inflated and fraudulent claims. The other motorist's insurers will have two working days to conduct a pre-repair inspection on the damaged vehicle. This requirement acts as a deterrent against workshops making unnecessary repairs and inflated or fraudulent claims.

For more information, please refer to the Consumer Guide at the Motor Insurance Section of GIA's website.

Mark Lim

Executive Director

General Insurance Association of Singapore

Edited by Vulcann