First time driving in to MY (melaka)... need advise and tips

Newdrive

Hi guys,

I am driving in to Melaka next month using Garmin map as my guide, first time driving to MY. So need experienced help :D

This is my understanding...

1. 3/4 tank upon reaching TUAS checkpoint

2. Need auto pass card before entering MY checkpoint (can I buy this card in sg? I heard maybank selling it).

3. Any reliable and wun chop carrot Workshop/Tow service contacts in JB and along the route to Melaka in case of vehicle breakdown? In the event my car breakdown how ah? I had to find my own way to Melaka by public transport or LLST need to go to the workshop and wait?

4. Need to purchase those bat like steering wheel lock for protection (personal and car), this type of steering wheel lock wun get me into trouble at the customs right?

5. Since I am not used to driving above 120.... I will stick to left lane around 100-110, ok right?

any other advise/tips/points to take note?

:huh:

Edited by Newdrive

Hi guys,

I am driving in to Melaka next month using Garmin map as my guide, first time driving to MY. So need experienced help :D

2. Need auto pass card before entering MY checkpoint (can I buy this card in sg? I heard maybank selling it).

touch and go. i think can buy in MY only3. Any reliable and wun chop carrot Workshop/Tow service contacts in JB and along the route to Melaka in case of vehicle breakdown? In the event my car breakdown how ah? I had to find my own way to Melaka by public transport or LLST need to go to the workshop and wait?

AA member4. Need to purchase those bat like steering wheel lock for protection (personal and car), this type of steering wheel lock wun get me into trouble at the customs right?

no trouble with customs 5. Since I am not used to driving above 120.... I will stick to left lane around 100-110, ok right?

should be ok

check your tyres are inflated properly, all oils are at their required level.put a bottle of water and some makan in your car just in case.

Agreed no need GPS in Malacca... Malacca most of the small road one way....

The best way to explore Malacca is to get lost.... [laugh]

Can buy Touch n Go card at left most lane of first Toll. Need about MR100 for 2 way journey iirc.

AAsingapore do towing in Malaysia. Also River Valley AA office sells steering wheels bat type locks.

110 in left lane OK Just be aware of what is ahead and behind and signal and move to overtake in time.

Parking tickets can be bought in many small shops in Malacca. Sign outside shop saying PTs for sale inside.

Don't need GPS as Malacca well signposted and once off NSH at Ayer Keroh just follow signs to Bandar Pusat.

Easy.

Yes

Can purchase at MY customs, just head to last lane

3. Any reliable and wun chop carrot Workshop/Tow service contacts in JB and along the route to Melaka in case of vehicle breakdown? In the event my car breakdown how ah? I had to find my own way to Melaka by public transport or LLST need to go to the workshop and wait?

Go do a preliminary check at yr workshop first. Or sign up as AA member if wish to use their tow service/workshop

4. Need to purchase those bat like steering wheel lock for protection (personal and car), this type of steering wheel lock wun get me into trouble at the customs right?

Nope no prob with MY , get mine at autobac at $19

5. Since I am not used to driving above 120.... I will stick to left lane around 100-110, ok right?

100-110 is fine.

steering lock wont cause u any customs trouble..don't worry.in fact,it also double up as a weapon (self-defense) should anybody try to be funny with you.

3/4 tank is a yes.most of the time they wont check,but don't need to take the risk.

just treat it as a leisurely drive.no matter wat speed you are,if someone is faster than you,its best to keep to the left lane to let them overtake.

if want to stop at R&R stops, choose those 'big' ones.these tend to have more human traffic,definitely much safer.eg,gelang patah,yong peng,machap,etc.

enjoy ur holidays..

Points 1 & 2 other bros had answered you.

Point 3 - if breakdown at NSH, you can try to call the highway recovery to assist you. check this website : http://www.plus.com.my/index.php?id=services_products

This website also contains info on rest points along NSH, and how much is the toll from any point A to B.

Point 4 - no problem with such a steering wheel lock in MY. I myself have one (always) beside me below my driver's seat

Point 5 - Always drive on left lane, unless overtaking. Signal when overtaking. Switch on headlights if raining. And drive within speed limit.

Others - if you not used to long distance driving, cater a rest point half way in your journey for kopi or just to stretch your legs! Pagoh and Machap rest points along NSH are bigger with food/toilet/petrol station all-in-one place.

I disagree, it is better to have a GPS and also use it, you don't want to take risk losing your way and end up in some small kampong.

Don't be hero, buy a good GPS and use it.

Traveling at the left lane at a leisure pace is OK, just keep a look out for speeding vehicles and heavy vehicles.

Rule of thumb is to drive defensively and be gracious and always give way to others.

Don't rush, take your time and enjoy the drive there and back.

Don't need GPS as Malacca well signposted and once off NSH at Ayer Keroh just follow signs to Bandar Pusat.

Easy.

GPS is good to have but not really necessary in Malacca. Or after exit NSH, just follow the road most cars go...sure they will lead you into Malacca city.

Going back NSH, just follow the "Toll Plus" signboard. Very easy.

No doubt malacca is a not a very big town, do use the GPS as you can concentrate on driving. at least there's no last minute turning of lanes. do some map reading b4 you go your trip. at least you know where to turn off from the NSHW. Malacca has many one way street, so once you miss a turn, at least with a GPS you won't "Gabra" happy driving..

IF u need to make stop for toilet break or for any other reason, always look around before you open the door. If there are other passengers in the car, ask them to lock the door after u get out. Likewise when going back to the car, look ard, safe then open the door.

Hi guys,

1. 3/4 tank upon reaching TUAS checkpoint Better maintain this.

U wouldnt want to make a U-turn from the start and spolit the holiday mood.

Cant comment cos i dont go in via Tuas CP. At Jbee CP, they do sell at the very last counter.

Should get your current car insurance company to answer you. Most have contacts in MY.

No need lar. Just park in bright and busy areas can liao. Personnal proctection wise. Just be 10 times more street smart than in spore can liao.

And dont go around hao lian everything cheap & cheap and yaya papaya. Be alert at all times.

Up to you. Dont forget bigger slower lorries keep to the left too. And prolong the journey much longer. Boring drive might cause dose off while driving. i'll rather drive faster and get off the Highway asap. 140-150km/hr is recommeded.

Nothing much to add on. Car doors to kept locked immedaitely in/out of the car. Look around before u do that. Heard there are ppl whom purposely bum your car. If really kena, try to act blur and drive on. It might be a set-up to rob you.

Hi guys,

120 is already above the speed limit. It may get you into all kinds of problems, traffic police, get into near misses (accidents), etc. If any driver insist on breaking the law of another country, be ready to face the consequence. Don't be like some driver, deliberately break the law then come back here complain of paying kopi money and other grandfather stories.

1) Don't leave your passport or valuables in the car, even for a short while

2) Leave RM50 in a easy to reach place when driving, you might need it. Don't volunteer, when in doubt ask

3) A baseball bat is more intimidating, screw driver more damaging. Both are usually found in the car of an avid softball playing mechanic

4) Bring a spare key, leave it with your passenger

5) Make a photocopy of your passports and keep them apart from the originals

6) The Peranakan food in Melaka are over-rated but you will still eat it somehow. There is a few thread on those

A detailed guide I wrote quite sometime back for your reference:

Here is a simple directional guide to driving from Singapore to Melaka using the North-South Highway from my own experience.

The NS Highway stretch from Singapore to Meleka is designated E2. So if you are lost, keep looking out for the E2 route sign.

Drive carefully and get up to speed slowly. Getting up to 110kph should not be a major problem. After that, slowly get used to higher speed in the region of 120kph+ for overtaking. If not comfortable, just stay on the left lane, but try not to go too slow. Listen carefully to your car for any strange noises. Make sure your passengers are buckled up and if they are distracting you, tell them so politely and ask them to help watch the road.

There are KM markers (milestone) along the NS Highway. Its either on the divider or at the side of the road. 0km is JB, counting up as you go Northbound. The markers are seen every 100meters (white plate) and every 1km, green plate, IIRC or vice versa. Try to keep a look out for them every now and then to orientate yourself. You can ask you passengers to do that for you. Keeps them awake.

North bound out of SGP, Machap R&R is around 70+km mark. Its a big stop so rather safe, but still the common cautions be taken i.e look after your belongings. There will not be much stop from here until Pagoh 140km mark, so I recommend the Machap stop to refresh a bit. There is a Baskin Robin here but the price is pretty steep.

After Yong Peng (100km), which is about half-way to Melaka, you will cross the hills. Some up-slopes and sweeping bends. Keep the power and momentum going so you dun loose too much speed or get caught out trying to accelerate up-slope. Coming off the hills will be a stretch of concrete straight road. There are a few culverts you will cross so keep your eyes looking far ahead. Slow down if you dun want to roller-coaster your passengers. Pagoh R&R is another big stop at around 145km. You can stop if you want to.

Next up is Tangkak (nothing there) and the Johor-Malacca State border. Once you pass Jasin, your exit will be coming up next. Keep a look out for the signs and milestone.

Exit AYER KEROH for Melaka. Exit 231. The exit is at 195km mark. So start to pay attention at around 190km mark. Signal and keep left earlier becoz exits come and go rather fast when travelling at high speed. If you miss the exit, don't panic. Never try to reverse on the NS Highway. Just keep going on, there is another exit at 217km mark. Exit to Alor Gajah and make your way back to Melaka either using Route No. 5 (Old road) or get back on the South bound lane of E2. If you miss that, go KL, the food is better anyway.

From the toll plaza at Ayer Keroh, it

1) Don't leave your passport or valuables in the car, even for a short while

2) Leave RM50 in a easy to reach place when driving, you might need it. Don't volunteer, when in doubt ask

3) A baseball bat is more intimidating, screw driver more damaging. Both are usually found in the car of an avid softball playing mechanic

4) Bring a spare key, leave it with your passenger

5) Make a photocopy of your passports and keep them apart from the originals

6) The Peranakan food in Melaka are over-rated but you will still eat it somehow. There is a few thread on those

A detailed guide I wrote quite sometime back for your reference:

Here is a simple directional guide to driving from Singapore to Melaka using the North-South Highway from my own experience.

The NS Highway stretch from Singapore to Meleka is designated E2. So if you are lost, keep looking out for the E2 route sign.

Drive carefully and get up to speed slowly. Getting up to 110kph should not be a major problem. After that, slowly get used to higher speed in the region of 120kph+ for overtaking. If not comfortable, just stay on the left lane, but try not to go too slow. Listen carefully to your car for any strange noises. Make sure your passengers are buckled up and if they are distracting you, tell them so politely and ask them to help watch the road.

There are KM markers (milestone) along the NS Highway. Its either on the divider or at the side of the road. 0km is JB, counting up as you go Northbound. The markers are seen every 100meters (white plate) and every 1km, green plate, IIRC or vice versa. Try to keep a look out for them every now and then to orientate yourself. You can ask you passengers to do that for you. Keeps them awake.

North bound out of SGP, Machap R&R is around 70+km mark. Its a big stop so rather safe, but still the common cautions be taken i.e look after your belongings. There will not be much stop from here until Pagoh 140km mark, so I recommend the Machap stop to refresh a bit. There is a Baskin Robin here but the price is pretty steep.

After Yong Peng (100km), which is about half-way to Melaka, you will cross the hills. Some up-slopes and sweeping bends. Keep the power and momentum going so you dun loose too much speed or get caught out trying to accelerate up-slope. Coming off the hills will be a stretch of concrete straight road. There are a few culverts you will cross so keep your eyes looking far ahead. Slow down if you dun want to roller-coaster your passengers. Pagoh R&R is another big stop at around 145km. You can stop if you want to.

Next up is Tangkak (nothing there) and the Johor-Malacca State border. Once you pass Jasin, your exit will be coming up next. Keep a look out for the signs and milestone.

Exit AYER KEROH for Melaka. Exit 231. The exit is at 195km mark. So start to pay attention at around 190km mark. Signal and keep left earlier becoz exits come and go rather fast when travelling at high speed. If you miss the exit, don't panic. Never try to reverse on the NS Highway. Just keep going on, there is another exit at 217km mark. Exit to Alor Gajah and make your way back to Melaka either using Route No. 5 (Old road) or get back on the South bound lane of E2. If you miss that, go KL, the food is better anyway.

From the toll plaza at Ayer Keroh, it

Do the "touch and go" sellers/operators operate at night (although I think TS will drive off in the daytime la haha)? I thought I remember reading it somewhere that the working hours for them are 0700-1900. I may be wrong about this though.

Edited by Hotshot85