White Paper to Address Population Issues 'holistically'

Gee

Singapore gearing up for 6 Million population despite infrastructure adequacy in question as well as skyrocketing property prices, and other social issues.

Questions unanswered, yet.

---

White Paper to address population issues 'holistically': DPM Teo

by Ng Jing Yng

04:45 AM Nov 16, 2012

SINGAPORE - The Government's White Paper on Population, to be released in January, will address "in a holistic way" issues such as the adequacy of existing infrastructure to accommodate population growth and the social impact of new immigrants.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said this in response to questions raised by Aljunied GRC Member of Parliament (MP) Pritam Singh and Hougang MP Png Eng Huat.

Noting Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's view that Singapore could accommodate six million people in the future, Mr Singh asked about the composition of the country's future population as well as the impact of new arrivals socially and on property prices.

Mr Png, meanwhile, asked if existing facilities are adequately designed to support the current population of 5.31 million and whether a survey has been conducted to assess the quality of life in relation to the increase in population density.

Mr Teo, who is in charge of population matters, said population growth in recent years has "outpaced our planned infrastructure capacity", but the Government will strive to better match infrastructure provisions and population needs.

"Issues such as our societal make-up and cohesion, our living environment, and economic viability are fundamental in determining the sustainable population we want for Singapore into the future," he added.

Mr Singh also asked if the Government conducted any studies on the increase in population size going forward, and if the findings will be made public.

Mr Teo replied that several papers pertaining to population have been released publicly over the past year. "I would rather address population issues holistically through the White Paper rather than in piecemeal manner right now," he added.

Separately, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Grace Fu told Parliament that about 10 per cent of Permanent Residents (PRs) here have been PRs for at least 20 years.

The Government has no plans at this point of time to consider not renewing the re-entry permit after one has held PR status for a stipulated number of years, she added. The PR status does not have a validity period but PRs are issued with a Re-Entry Permit that can be renewed after five years, should the PR meet certain conditions including gainful employment and maintain ties in Singapore.

---

TODAY

Edited by Gee

Singapore gearing up for 6 Million population despite infrastructure adequacy in question as well as skyrocketing property prices, and other social issues.

Questions unanswered, yet.

---

White Paper to address population issues 'holistically': DPM Teo

by Ng Jing Yng

04:45 AM Nov 16, 2012

SINGAPORE - The Government's White Paper on Population, to be released in January, will address "in a holistic way" issues such as the adequacy of existing infrastructure to accommodate population growth and the social impact of new immigrants.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said this in response to questions raised by Aljunied GRC Member of Parliament (MP) Pritam Singh and Hougang MP Png Eng Huat.

Noting Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's view that Singapore could accommodate six million people in the future, Mr Singh asked about the composition of the country's future population as well as the impact of new arrivals socially and on property prices.

Mr Png, meanwhile, asked if existing facilities are adequately designed to support the current population of 5.31 million and whether a survey has been conducted to assess the quality of life in relation to the increase in population density.

Mr Teo, who is in charge of population matters, said population growth in recent years has "outpaced our planned infrastructure capacity", but the Government will strive to better match infrastructure provisions and population needs.

"Issues such as our societal make-up and cohesion, our living environment, and economic viability are fundamental in determining the sustainable population we want for Singapore into the future," he added.

Mr Singh also asked if the Government conducted any studies on the increase in population size going forward, and if the findings will be made public.

Mr Teo replied that several papers pertaining to population have been released publicly over the past year. "I would rather address population issues holistically through the White Paper rather than in piecemeal manner right now," he added.

Separately, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Grace Fu told Parliament that about 10 per cent of Permanent Residents (PRs) here have been PRs for at least 20 years.

The Government has no plans at this point of time to consider not renewing the re-entry permit after one has held PR status for a stipulated number of years, she added. The PR status does not have a validity period but PRs are issued with a Re-Entry Permit that can be renewed after five years, should the PR meet certain conditions including gainful employment and maintain ties in Singapore.

---

TODAY

so who was the one who opened the gate so fast to so many????............. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

now he agrees that all these not planned for????...........

Edited by Tianmo

How to have an oversupply of houses by 2014 when they intend to take in another 690,000 pple?

Bring in the people first and later then say. [rolleyes]

In other words, its a honest mistake, we will work harder, take same million dollar pay and wun say sorry or take responsibility [laugh]

Please go to 7.50 min on this video..............this is how they define professional........... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

DPM Teo said the government would be careful to ensure that the country's living environment and economic viability would be key considerations in "determining the sustainable population we want for Singapore in the future."

http://http://sg.news.yahoo.com/govt-admit...ion-growth.html

So, he says that things done are always planned per what they wanted, instead of what the nation needed.

Edited by Perseus76

Please go to 7.50 min on this video..............this is how they define professional........... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Lol, no wonder we have so many professional here?! :D

FINALLY!! Someone admits that population growth outpaced our planned infrastructure capacity. I applause for his submission, like I had mentioned in the other discussion thread "More FTs/FWs = high growth?" poor planning. If you had planned for the increase, keep pace with the infrastructure.

I believe we can accommodate more so work on the infrastructure. Period. [cool]

Lol, no wonder we have so many professional here?! :D

for that matter...............we are all professional...............even the dish washer is one...............[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

so now make the whole singapore

wait for a single piece of white paper

to be released in January 2013.

to solve all our population woes.

i suspect the recommendations are going

to disappoint a large majority.

[rolleyes]

so 6.5 m population is no longer just a "planning parameter"?

so once we reach 6.5M then what? no more population growth means property prices will peak? End of day regardless 6.5M, 7.5m or 8M, SG is limited we cant grow forever coz we dont have enough land. Can make $ in this generation but next generation will face a slow growth fully matured economy. totally different from now

Imagine a fish tank, how many fish can u squeeze inside before they all suffocate n die?

Edited by Duckduck

so once we reach 6.5M then what? no more population growth means property prices will peak? End of day regardless 6.5M, 7.5m or 8M, SG is limited we cant grow forever coz we dont have enough land. Can make $ in this generation but next generation will face a slow growth fully matured economy. totally different from now

Imagine a fish tank, how many fish can u squeeze inside before they all suffocate n die?

like this lor............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

pedrabranca.png

LOL thats alot of sand required to do so!!!!

than can add another 3-5 million ppl liao.................easy mah............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

for that matter...............we are all professional...............even the dish washer is one...............[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Some durian seller sibeh professional.. From packing look nice, bring home is lousy quality..