Rim and tyres change

Eric76

decided to change rim and tyres together. check with all bros something, if want to downsize to 16" rim(Stock 17"), do i need to change the spare one also? any good place to recommend with good package of rim and tyres, plus makan the old rims, tks.....

Not need to change the spare, no do you need to match the tires with the new ones. I have driven with the spare tire before, to drive to the tire shop, & tire type are not the same to say the least, & its a steel wheel, rest are aluminium. No issue, just drive slowly.

Try Cheng An Da at kaki bukit.

You can try AL Tyres Cooperation. Should be in the sponsor thread or section. They have quite huge variety of rims. Price wise I find it acceptable if you get rims and tyres from them.

I totally agree that 17" have more designs to choose from and since your stock is 17", might as well still to 17". Changing to 16" might not look that good on your ride.

You can try AL Tyres Cooperation. Should be in the sponsor thread or section. They have quite huge variety of rims. Price wise I find it acceptable if you get rims and tyres from them.

I totally agree that 17" have more designs to choose from and since your stock is 17", might as well still to 17". Changing to 16" might not look that good on your ride.

tks bro, drive the kia forte SX with 17" stock rim, the reason i want to downgrade the rim is feel the car's suspension is bit stiff and with a big rim makes it worse the ride more bumpy, i use it as family car so want more comfort than performance, heard from friend smaller rim will be more comfort as the tyre with bigger side wall can absorb the road bumpy, actually also don't know how true it is, any bro got experience?

Yes, and your FC/acceleration will improve also. At the price of cosmetic appearance.

How old is your forte. Forte's suspension softens over time, if yours is still new then you might want to give is a bit more time. Otherwise check if you are over pumping your tires. What tire are you using?

My CSC3 feels pretty comfortable in my SX. It only gets harsh when I bring the tire pressure up to 40PSI.

Smaller rims gives you more comfort and better fuel consumption at the expense of looks and handling. Just make sure you choose a tire that has a rolling diameter thats not too far off your current setup, else your speedometer and odometer reading will be way off.

How old is your forte. Forte's suspension softens over time, if yours is still new then you might want to give is a bit more time. Otherwise check if you are over pumping your tires. What tire are you using?

My CSC3 feels pretty comfortable in my SX. It only gets harsh when I bring the tire pressure up to 40PSI.

Smaller rims gives you more comfort and better fuel consumption at the expense of looks and handling. Just make sure you choose a tire that has a rolling diameter thats not too far off your current setup, else your speedometer and odometer reading will be way off.

Hi mine going to 3 yrs, always pump 240 kpi slightly higher than the recommended 220, maybe this also contribute to the bumpy

Slight improvement on comfort but u lose on handling.

Y dun u just stick wh 17" tiil u get used to it.

I upgraded fm 14" to 16" wh vast improvement on handling wh only a slight loss of comfort.

U can get 17" tires wh a slightly higher sidewall when yr tires need changing n it sud help. Yr original rims also best fr yr car.

Hi mine going to 3 yrs, always pump 240 kpi slightly higher than the recommended 220, maybe this also contribute to the bumpy

[/quote

wah 240 :wacko::blink:

Thats yr reason fr harsh n bumpy ride. Go back to 220 n u feel e difference.

It depends on your tire, if your tire has a soft sidewall, 240 is still ok. If your tire's sidewall is stiff then its better to go back to 220 for comfort.

When I was on the stock Khumo KH17, 250 kpi is the max I went for daily ride and its uncomfortable but the car feels more responsive. When I had to ferry my parents, I will lower to 220kpi, else i dont think their bones can tahan.

Although ride can be uncomfortable with higher pressure, I am already used to it, maybe my bums are well padded enough. With a soft sidewall tire like the csc3, 220kpi can be quite torturing, cause the car feels like a boat.