The young thinking is pretty much sum up in 1:40

Wt_know

well done mediacorp ... this one must give credit .... lolz

20 years later also cannot get a wife, cannot buy hdb, cannot have children, cannot .....

As long as work hard while young and studying in school, get good results, go for tertiary at local univ, at least a degree in some high-demand profession - even engineering, accountancy, is good enough - money, and a reasonably good life is attainable.

Only problem that young faces now is that they spend too much to get their wants, mainly costly luxury stuff and gadgets. Too lazy to put in full effort in school. Even waking up early and being punctual is a problem so what to expect? End up getting low salary then complain about this and that.

Basically aim too high, but never put in commensurate effort.

20 years ago, or now, the rules of life are the same.

What BS! Can't afford this and that... Is it really that bad?

Just be realistic and don't compare, and you sure can live comfortably.

The video very true.

Say a humble person works for $3000+ per month for the next 15years.

Say can save $1000 per month, due to frugal living.

At the end of 15 years savings is only $180,000.

What can one buy with $180,000 in year 2027?

Seriously, the youngs are correct in aiming high and have high expectations, and best to take full risk when they are young. It's make or break type of mentality that makes sense currently.

Slow and steady hardworking, will not get one anywhere anymore.

I rather regret I failed and become a bankrupt for overburden myself with high housing loans, and car loans, etc. At least I live the high life, most importantly enjoyed 15 years of good life and enjoyment!

Than regret wasting 15years of my life living frugal to save $180,000 and still living with parents and taking MRT everyday.

you are right. otherwise, we will not have google and facebook today.

gone are the days when my grandma told me to save $0.10 from my pocket money so that one day i can have $100

how we live 20 years ago and now is the same but the environment had changed

cost of living skyrocketed 10-20x and salary only up by merely 1-2x ... how to catch up?

last time one operate a noodle stall can make a living and good profit > slowly become huat ah.

now one operate a noodle stall ... large percentage of the cost goes to rental, material cost keep going up, labour cost pressure, etc ... not to mention competition from big name with stalls all over singapore because they have the financial muscle.

last time ... anything goes ... now everything must be branded ... no brand no sell

yes, the young must cheong but must with wisdom and plan ... not like going to RWS to bet big or small to make it or break it

The video very true.

Seriously, the youngs are correct in aiming high and have high expectations, and best to take full risk when they are young. It's make or break type of mentality that makes sense currently.

I rather regret I failed and become a bankrupt for overburden myself with high housing loans, and car loans, etc. At least I live the high life, most importantly enjoyed 15 years of good life and enjoyment!

Than regret wasting 15years of my life living frugal to save $180,000 and still living with parents and taking MRT everyday.

The video very true.

Wah, can save $180k in 15 years, I'd already be happy. It's enough to retire on, actually, while just supplementing through part-time work.

HDB flat, as usual, is paid via CPF, no issues there. Anyway, a person with $3k gross for 15 years on average... better be taking public transport and not be thinking about car, IMHO - that's the root of his money woes.

yes, the young must cheong but must with wisdom and plan ... not like going to RWS to bet big or small to make it or break it

in life there's no draw,either you win or you lose.

who dares win!

time to go casino again this weekend.a place where dreams come true.

The video very true.

Frugal living, I dun think can find any in the forum.

Wah, can save $180k in 15 years, I'd already be happy. It's enough to retire on, actually, while just supplementing through part-time work.

HDB flat, as usual, is paid via CPF, no issues there. Anyway, a person with $3k gross for 15 years on average... better be taking public transport and not be thinking about car, IMHO - that's the root of his money woes.

We got to be realistic, the word 'retire' is not for everyone.

I don't think I'd be "retiring" in the sense of totally not working as well... will definitely have a part-time or flexi job lined up, as long as health allows. Driving, teaching, consulting, sales, etc. are some of the full-time jobs that can easily extend to part-time in older age.

When we're still young or even middle age (never too late!), it's good to pick up some skill or knowledge with a view of turning it into this 2nd line of income.

Last line of defence is, of course, children. Out of two or three, better chance that one will take care of you [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

in life there's no draw,either you win or you lose.

who dares win!

time to go casino again this weekend.a place where the casino owner's dreams come true.

There is a sucker born every minute.

there is always Singapore pools... 4D$, Toto$, soccer$, horse racing$, big sweep$ [:p]

almost every week at least 1 person stand a chance to become millionaire [:p]

The video very true.

so after 15 years, you jump or go bedok reservoir?

the frugal guy will still have a life, family and definitely more than 180K after 15 years.