Running Injury - Plantar Fasciitis

Chrispie

I had it on one of my feet after a marathon some years ago. Took a few weeks to heal.

I didn't see any doctor or took any medicine. Just search on internet and do some alot of diy conditioning like tennis ball or frozen drink-can steam-rolling. These help.

Hi runners out there...

any one also kena plantar fasciitis? I kena on right foot, it got better, then now left foot kena.. see specialist, physio therapist, sinseh etc still as bad.. Now i can only keep doing calves stretch to relieve the pain.

the thing is i dont even run a lot.. i always warm up properly.. mileage is like 5km per run, once to thrice (rarely) a week...

Any solution?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plantar_fasciitis

I had it when I ran my first marathon.

Try using a golf ball to massage (sit on a chair and step on the golf ball), it soothes the pain. [:)]

thanks everyone for all the valuable advise.

Should be advice. Advise is a noun whereas advice is a verb.

Sounds familiar right :D:D

already wearing Asics for years... when younger, wore DS - Racers...

Now.. Gel Nimbus with support insoles..

Actually when i kena the right sole.. doc already warned me that the left may kena as if i continue running, body will naturally put stress on the healthy foot and due to extra stress... the other foot will be affected also. Really came true. [bigcry]

Worse is.. for this condition, cannot perm downgrade.. maximum is 6 months temp downgrade.. lagi sian.

You are wrong.

I got perm down grade for this... but after a long process to specialist and conditioning therapy..

It's how you "act" in the MO room lah.. haha

I have only been to 1 IPPT since ROD in 1998.. got it while playing soccer very actively then.

Now still playing but after game walk like heavily pregnant lady for a few days [laugh]

Edited by Puteh83

Change shoes and running style, from heel running to forefoot running.

Had it and changed the running style and shoes and it did not bother me again.

Its a sign of amauter but motivated running, so pack distances little in a time. That will help also...

I had it when I ran my first marathon.

Try using a golf ball to massage (sit on a chair and step on the golf ball), it soothes the pain. smile.gif

Running too much and too fast will also likely lead to knee injuries.

This holds true for the majority of people. A small % are tougher and can run to more senior years.

It is better not to get hooked on long distance running. Do moderate running and keep healthy through other sports like badminton, walking.

This holds true for the majority of people. A small % are tougher and can run to more senior years.

It is better not to get hooked on long distance running. Do moderate running and keep healthy through other sports like badminton, walking.

Yes, its not always true that lots of running is good. Just enough for each individual is better.

Alternative is swimming which is more easy on all joints of the body................ provided each can swim lar... hahaha lol [:)][thumbsup]

Yes, its not always true that lots of running is good. Just enough for each individual is better.

Alternative is swimming which is more easy on all joints of the body................ provided each can swim lar... hahaha lol [:)][thumbsup]

Think there was one recent report that said that run around 5 to 10 mins per day enough, benefits the same as running for 30 or 60 mins, something like that. Maybe it means run shorter time, but faster.

I like swimming better too. Including dry swimming.

Think there was one recent report that said that run around 5 to 10 mins per day enough, benefits the same as running for 30 or 60 mins, something like that. Maybe it means run shorter time, but faster.

I like swimming better too. Including dry swimming.

I believe in this too. It's shorter quality runs as oppose to longer distance run at slow pace.. I prefer to run half an hour at tempo pace (Panting)..

HIT. Think it's getting quite popular. But haha mentally punishing.

Running intervals was sibei sian in SAF. Still is.

I've run many marathons - over 13 or so... planta facitis - don't think of it too much.... after a few weeks or months it just disappears... kind of a mind over body thing ... all mentioned ways by the contributors like towel, stretching... etc helps ... try putting a frozen can of any drink under your feet and roll it from under your ball of foot... Happy feet mate!

Good advice except for the badminton part. Tennis is better.

Many/most of us live in HDB flaats and do not have BMI conducive for running. Look at Mok Yen Ren's BMI, and you know what I mean.

Running is a classic sport.

It is so easy to do , just need a good pair of shoes.

Compare that to any other sport - tennis, swimming, badminton - all need more time to arrange for a court or meet with others to play.

Running is a classic sport.

It is so easy to do , just need a good pair of shoes.

Compare that to any other sport - tennis, swimming, badminton - all need more time to arrange for a court or meet with others to play.

correct ! and any time (24x7) is a good time -with park connectors here and there; FOC and no bookings

Just to share.

I used to suffer from this condition some years ago, first on 1 foot then the other.

Those days I could go to the Sports Medicine Clinic at the National Stadium even though I wasn't a sportsman. I was initially given a steroid jab and advice on some stretching exercise for that tough tissue at the base of the feet. There was immediate relief but the pain came back after several months. I was then advised that a permanent cure would be surgery, where the plantar tissue would be 'divided' ie cut and allowed to regrow, whereby it would be stretched.

Well, one fine day I was playing tennis with my kakis. I ran and stretched for a shot and suddenly there was a feeling like something giving way at my foot. The pain was so unbearable I could no longer put my foot down. I managed to get an immediate appointment at the Clinic. The doctor then explained I had actually torn my inflamed plantar. He said not to worry, the tissue would eventually heal and in the process would be stretched. In short, I had performed my own surgery! True enough, after some weeks I was never troubled by this problem on that foot again.

But then the 2nd foot started having the same problem. Again a jab did not cure my problem. The Sports Clinic was no longer an option. But again tennis came to the rescue. I tore the plantar on this foot too during a game. This time I was not unduly worried because I knew what had happened. After the healing process I have not had this problem again! [:)]