KL businessman sues National Cancer Centre

Jman888

not sure also can operate meh? :huh: :huh:

KL businessman sues National Cancer Centre

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2013

The Straits Times By K.c. Vijayan Law

SINGAPORE - A prominent Malaysian businessman underwent major surgery here for suspected cancer but later found out that he was not suffering from the ailment.

He is now suing National Cancer Centre Singapore (NCC) and a senior consultant for damages.

Kuala Lumpur-based Datuk Seri Hii Chii Kok, 54, claimed they had failed to provide proper advice, did not consider the results of various other tests and failed to get his informed consent.

Both defendants deny the claims and made it clear in court documents filed that they never told him he had cancer of the pancreas. They pointed out that there were multiple specialist opinions that showed that the cancer could not be ruled out in his case and surgery was recommended.

Mr Hii is the managing director of KL's public-listed SEGi University Group and executive chairman of private investment vehicle HCK Capital Group.

In June 2010, after check-ups in Malaysia, he was referred to NCC where he was advised to undergo a scan to ascertain "hot spots" or cancerous lesions.

The test showed some hot spots in the pancreas. He was advised to undergo the Whipple's Procedure - a surgery to resect, or remove, portions of the pancreas, duodenum and part of the stomach.

After the August 2010 surgery, the resected pancreas was found to be not cancerous. He was discharged about 10 days later.

Mr Hii complained that other tests by NCC, which included a full blood count and urine test, all yielded normal results but NCC did not advise him about these results or their significance.

He returned to NCC in September 2010 for a review and was told he was recovering well. But about two weeks later in KL, he vomited blood and became unwell. This led to two major operations in KL. Mr Hii now suffers the effects of all the abdominal procedures he underwent. He needs to be administered insulin, is on a strict diet and is unable to lead an active lifestyle.

Through lawyer S. Palaniappan, he alleges both parties were negligent and had breached their duty of care towards him, which led to pain and suffering as well as loss of amenities.

Professor London Lucien Ooi, in defence documents filed, pointed out the NCC's Neuroendocrine Tumour Board had concluded Mr Hii had a slow growing grade tumour and recommended resecting surgery for the pancreas.

He pointed out that Mr Hii could have opted for a repeat scan six months later, but that risked allowing the tumour, if present, to spread if he waited that long. Defence papers filed by his lawyer Edwin Tong said Mr Hii had been advised on this.

Mr Hii had consented to the surgery and the results of the other tests were not relevant to the diagnosis of the tumours.

Prof Ooi added that the complications Mr Hii suffered could have been caused by a secondary infection that could not have been detected at the time of the review.

They also could not have been caused by, or reasonably expected from, his post-operation recovery in August 2010 when he had been discharged well.

Prof Ooi added they were more likely to be caused by a secondary infection that occurred when he returned to KL after the out-patient review on Sept 3, 2010.

Lawyer Kuah Boon Theng, in 14-page defence papers filed for NCC, said the advice and options presented to Mr Hii were "reasonable and justified and made in the best interests of the plaintiff".

Prof Ooi said yesterday he has asked his lawyers to "robustly" refute the allegations.

A High Court pre-trial conference is due next month.

[email protected]

not sure also can operate meh? :huh: :huh:

u scan, can only see the tumor based on the scan mah.

If cut open, no tumor. then what to do?

doctor no x-ray vision or mri eyes to see the tumor inside your body leh...

the pancreas is quite a small organ also. on scans not easy to see.

But u have to open up the abdomen to get to the organ in the 1st place. No doctor will just open up then take a sample then close back up again.

from report, they give him two choice and tell him the possiblities

1) Cut and see

2) Rescan - but if got turmor and if its bad, then might grow.

he chose 1 because he kiasee if go for option 2.

if a person is suspect of cancer, he will be very worried and the only hope he see is the doctor.

The advice from the doctor is important and must be quite 'assuring'. If the advice is as good as tossing a coin, people will tend to play safe.

if a person is suspect of cancer, he will be very worried and the only hope he see is the doctor.

The advice from the doctor is important and must be quite 'assuring'. If the advice is as good as tossing a coin, people will tend to play safe.

actually, other than surgeory to take out the turmor for testing. is there other method that can be used??

u scan, can only see the tumor based on the scan mah.

If cut open, no tumor. then what to do?

doctor no x-ray vision or mri eyes to see the tumor inside your body leh...

the pancreas is quite a small organ also. on scans not easy to see.

But u have to open up the abdomen to get to the organ in the 1st place. No doctor will just open up then take a sample then close back up again.

is this the one in chinese called blind intestine ??

I heard that this one doctor and scientist still dont know the function. so normally doctor will just recommend removal for anything related to this.

Edited by Joseph22

is this the one in chinese called blind intestine ??

I heard that this one doctor and scientist still dont know the function. so normally doctor will just recommend removal for anything related to this.

Pancreas is to produce insulin.. Not an unknown.

I think you're are referring to appendix?

I can only say being doctors now are not ez.

Pple suka suka sue them. -_-

some doctor also suka suka ask you to cut :wacko: :wacko:

Pancreas is to produce insulin.. Not an unknown.

I think you're are referring to appendix?

oh.. that one that if spoilt will mean diabties right??

that one how can anyhow cut :o no wonder kenna sue. [:/]

Yeah i think its appendix..

Edited by Joseph22

If you see specialist next time and ask doctor if you have cancer, he tells you its possible... knn, how will you feel when doctor cannot tell you a straight yes or no?

is there any doctor in the world that can give you a straight yes or no on your illness??

now aday because of the sue here sue there. Doctor also speak like politician liao.

they will tell you, " i can only tell you that base on my pass experience its this or that... base on medical journal is this and that.. bla bla bla"

is there any doctor in the world that can give you a straight yes or no on your illness??

now aday because of the sue here sue there. Doctor also speak like politician liao.

they will tell you, " i can only tell you that base on my pass experience its this or that... base on medical journal is this and that.. bla bla bla"

i still prefer some kampung doctor advice like -

"i can tell you that your cancer seem like quite serious liao, if you take these medicine and treatment A-Z, the chances is 50-50, cost you $50K minimum, but if you want to por, just go home and relax, if it come, it come and you save $50K, and less suffering" [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Jman888

he rather cut open then see he really got cancer mah

Cut open liaoz ... discovered no cancer ... the patient become despondent and jin disappointed si boh?

Machiam money not well spent? [laugh]

Actually I am not surprised at all. More often than not doctors merely make a best educated guess based on experience. There is no 100% certainty as too many variables involved. Sometimes even a few doctors make wrong diagnosis. My mom had stage 4 ovarian cancer but ALL the doctors diagnose her as having Parkinson disease until her lymph nodes enlarged. Cancer vs Parkinson disease are world apart arent they? Well good thing they are doctors and not Ministers running a Country [:p]

Cut open liaoz ... discovered no cancer ... the patient become despondent and jin disappointed si boh?

Machiam money not well spent? [laugh]

Yalor find cancer then HAPPY! cos money well spent mah [laugh]