Timber floor expert please come in

AFV_V200

I got my condo unit renovated, and i water proof the whole house (unit below me requested). After installing oak plank in the bed room. the oak plank warp! when they remove the solid plan. it found water drop on the surface of the cement floor. That is to say. the moisture unable to escape as it was trap between water proof and timber floor.

I even let the cement floor cure 3 weeks before i install! 1.5 weeks after 2nd installation. it start to warp again! :(

tis was a pre finish oak floor and need not lacquer again. any expert out there can help?

does letting the cement floor cure a longer time then install again will help?... or....

install it. let it warp and sand down to re-lacquer again to solve the problem. ....Since I cant and no way i can remove the water proof under the cement floor.

Edited by AFV_V200

Oak is not a tropical wood, and it's only natural that it behaves differently compared to tropical woods like teak.

Sounds like u are using the oak wood on level 1 of a landed property?

The ground is moist, and overtime moisture will penetrate through the concrete slab.

This is not uncommon, that's why.. have to use materials that has high resisteance to moisture absorption.

you stay in landed? maybe there is a well below it! :huh: :huh:

nope. is the unit below hope I water proof to prevent seepage . As the condo is really old and water seepage every where. so I just do it, never know I got myself into a huge nightmare.

You water-proof your house???

That means water/moisture cannot enter and cannot escape from your house also!

Wah Lao. sian like tat!

the contractor just do and never advice. :(

I don't want those hao lian condo owner come knocking my door and claim my unit got water leak into the house Lor. got a small studio unit n now nightmare. :(

High chance its from the water seepage since you mentioned its extensive.

Engineered wood (Pergo) installation includes a plastic sheet layover before installation of the timber planks so perhaps you can explore that option. Real wood parquet floor is always a b i t c h to maintain. Cannot be too wet. Scratches easily. Must polish and buff periodically. Damn pain in the a s s.

nope. is the unit below hope I water proof to prevent seepage . As the condo is really old and water seepage every where. so I just do it, never know I got myself into a huge nightmare.

2 possibilities:

i) water seepage thru the external walls into the floor (this one jialat liao....)

ii) the parquet not properly cured (assuming u switch on a/c and dry air can accelerate the warping)

solution: sell the place.

Your schlong can also warp one. Warp in Radx' direction :D:D

walau.....u cum onli parquet oso can turn into gay talk.

2 possibilities:

i) water seepage thru the external walls into the floor (this one jialat liao....)

ii) the parquet not properly cured (assuming u switch on a/c and dry air can accelerate the warping)

solution: sell the place.

Hong kan liao like that.

I need solution! cant see the place. is nice for me and my love one. :)

by the way. not parquet floor. is solid oak plank - 22mm thick. 125mmW and 1.8m long.

Same concept lah. Parquet is real wood as well.

Long planks are more susceptible to warping. Either you change to short ones or to engineered wood

Same concept lah. Parquet is real wood as well.

Long planks are more susceptible to warping. Either you change to short ones or to engineered wood

I see. sorry no timber floor expert here. thinking about it. ya. smaller piece may not warp so easily.

lucky got these kind of threads! read already learn some stuff!!! [thumbsup]