BMW 316 vs Mercedes C180

Spring

Hi all, would appreciate feedback on the merits of this 2 cars.
Obviously comments from existing C180 owners are appreciated.
Not sure how BMW owners can comment since the 316 is not on the road yet but perhaps
320 owners care comment? Admittedly its not a fair comparison since 320 is 2 litre. Tks!!

Look at this Nazi brute!

AMG is pumping more and more testosterone into Mercedes Benz cars! Very macho now!

TS asking about C180 and 316i ..... you post pic for the facelift E .....

I would go for the F30 316i as it is the newer model.... W204 started production in Y2007 and should be expecting a all new model soon. Only issue is that the 316i has only 136 BHP and the C180 output is 156 BHP.

316i only 136 bhp?? It's TC right?? Many NA 1.6L can churn out around that amount of bhp nowadays..

Same engine as 116i .... no 318i as the specs would be too close to 320i. I cannot remember the 0 to 100 km/h .. I think the 316i is about 9 sec ... not bad.

Edited by Civic6228

he not get 2 yellow cards for nth leh [laugh]

brnig the 316 go tune

U want more Ah Beng or Gentlemen look?

I want the gentlemen look! They both look like gentlemen leh but can't believe the 316 only 136hp??

Wow, like this also someone can purchase a luxury car? You are almost buying online liao (without doing any ground work)!

Yes, it is 136hp only and 0-100 is 8.9s (Not bad)

Go through the following link for further details

http://www.pml-bmw.com.sg/asia_dl/sg_en/ne...technical_data/

Since already pay close to $200k, why not buy 320?

It made no sense to buy 316. Don't tell me because FC or road tax.

Lastly, BMW is the toy. Not what is inside the car.

yes both also gentleman...

go aftermarket tune if u need the hp...otherwise the torque figures are good enough.

Since already pay close to $200k, why not buy 320?

It made no sense to buy 316. Don't tell me because FC or road tax.

Lastly, BMW is the toy. Not what is inside the car.

cannot like that say leh..later ask 320 then someone chime in ask why not 328..30k more....no end leh...

and agree..bmw is the UDM compared to peers of same level.

Though TS asking for opinion of 316 vs C180,

Agree with what someone mention, why not go for the next higher, 320 vs C200?

Since the difference in COE btn CAT A and B now quite small, unlike previuosly where is abt $20K +/-.....

Unless the actual selling price is still huge, like $20K more expensive....

cannot like that say leh..later ask 320 then someone chime in ask why not 328..30k more....no end leh...

and agree..bmw is the UDM compared to peers of same level.

In previous round of COE, the price diff btw 316 & 320 is around $20k. I think the diff has dissappear now unless PML eat the diff.

Though TS asking for opinion of 316 vs C180,

Agree with what someone mention, why not go for the next higher, 320 vs C200?

Since the difference in COE btn CAT A and B now quite small, unlike previuosly where is abt $20K +/-.....

Unless the actual selling price is still huge, like $20K more expensive....

So what's the price diff between 320 vs 316? If not mistaken is at least $30k?

In previous round of COE, the price diff btw 316 & 320 is around $20k. I think the diff has dissappear now unless PML eat the diff.

wouldnt be surprise...i am amazed by the tricks AD have in their sleeves..

but back to topic...bmw anyday over merc

Hi all, would appreciate feedback on the merits of this 2 cars.

Obviously comments from existing C180 owners are appreciated.

Not sure how BMW owners can comment since the 316 is not on the road yet but perhaps

320 owners care comment? Admittedly its not a fair comparison since 320 is 2 litre. Tks!!

Still prefer my new C180, though 320 is nice with it's lines. [cool]