Fridge not cold

Donut

When I buy fridge, I look for one with automatic ice maker. :D My current Toshiba has the ice maker n plasma function. [:p]

can cook food on it own or not [laugh] or recommend some dishes base on what the ingredient INSIDE it [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

Fridge not cool only after 12 years?

Thats a good fridge, can share what brand?

I want to buy. Thanks

That fridge is not cheap one hor. It's not even those bread and butter brands that u can buy from big stores. i go see the brand first and tell here later.

Just to share, my parents change their fridge from a <300 liter to a >500 liter inverter type, total electricity bill save over 35%. Maybe you should go help your MIL look for a new fridge. More space and save money as well.

last time i also have similar problem, felt that the fridge is no longer cold, i went to get a fridge thermometer and attached it into the inner food compartment.... as long as the temperature readings is below 5 degree celcius the food is in the " safe zone" , i adjust the thermostat till it is about 3-4 on average degrees [laugh] . very difficult for human to judge what is cold or not cold......if you have a thermometer and after adjusting also cannot get below 5 degree better get a new one.

Most fridges even 12 years ago are likely to be of the frost free variety. There are 3 types

1. manual defrost

2. cycle defrost

3. frost freee

The heater is an important element of the fridge although it serves an ancillary function, which is to defrost and melt ice that will otherwise clog and reduce the thermal transfer efficiency of the evaporator coil. So one place to look is to check whether the heater is malfunctioning.

my air con compressor not cold 2 weeks ago, cost me $1800 [:(] [:(] think put a fridge inside cheaper [laugh] [laugh]

You spent $1800 to replace a compressor?!?!

i tot its like car air con compressor.... can pump gas one.... [laugh][laugh]

Got Gas to top up one...esp the older fridge. Just get a fridge specialist to check....top up gas is cheap but if kena major issue like compressor spoil, think it's more worth to buy a new fridge than to repair the compressor...

Edited by Pocus

See if can repair first...if not then up-lorry and buy a new one. Problem is : how to find a trusty repairman to come to check ?

Already 12 years this fridge - your MIL already earn back every cent of its worth liao...so if up-lorry also no loss lah.

Got Gas to top up one...esp the older fridge. Just get a aircon specialist to check....top up gas is cheap but if kena major issue like compressor spoil, think it's more worth to buy a new fridge than to repair the compressor...

Actually wrong perception.

Air-cons, fridges are all closed loop system.

The gas remains in the system and is not suppose to leak out. Don't think of it like fuel in your car.

If you need to top-up, it means there is a leak somewhere.

thanks bro,

I check liao. she called the fridge company, mine is LG, then ask for rough quote.

They sent someone down, change a part but not sure what part and wash the fridge because there was ice all over that prevent the coldness.

total cost $60.

I check liao. she called the fridge company, mine is LG, then ask for rough quote.

They sent someone down, change a part but not sure what part and wash the fridge because there was ice all over that prevent the coldness.

total cost $60.

Thanks! Let's see how

Eyh. cheapskate, buy your MIL a new fridge, she will you deep deep! Well...her daughter does! :wub:

No need to buy la. Her daughter already love me deep deep...... Lol. Very deep..........