Damaged ignition coil. consequences?

Playtime

My Latio AT felt jerky this morning when I drove to work.

Went direct to AD as its near my office.

They told me the ignition coil and spark plugs need to be replaced. Est $900.

Went to a small motor shop and the uncle who had a nissan diagnostic computer told me only 1 ignition coil need to change. Est $100 plus.

However, spares are available only on Monday.

Anyone knows if driving with one misfiring coil will damage the engine?

It will cause incomplete combustion which leads to higher fc.. will cause other coils to work harder and end up cease working and worse case if the coils fail while u r on d expressway den yr engine will cease n next thing... good luck n pray hard

Just get from stockist and replace in regular workshop.

My coils were malfunction and causes the car to misfire, soon the engine checl light will be on.

Hi playtime,

-----

Went to a small motor shop and the uncle who had a nissan diagnostic computer told me only 1 ignition coil need to change. Est $100 plus.

---------

This motor shop workmanship and ethics ok? Able to recommend?

Thanks, Tony

Workshop are all linked one leh. 1 call and half an hour the spares delivered liao. I think uncle feel $100 not worth the time, that's why say next week lah. Try another workshop, sure entertain you.

misfiring, car jerky , high FC.....for most cars usually change the

faulty one only. can use the OBD to check which cylinder misfire and change the one only.....based on subarus not sure if other cars are

also the same can change on one piece only.........

should not be that difficult to change most workshop should be able to do it. just how much they wanna charge.

I think AD want to play safe and eliminate the problem completely, that's why quote you to change for all spark plugs and coils if i'm not wrong?

BTW, my regular workshop told me Latio spark plugs are very hard to access, so the labour charge is higher.

I didn't believe it but after searching indeed it is very troublesome to get to the coil/plugs on some Nissan! Compared to the cars I had before.

If you invest in a $10 Bluetooth OBD scan tool you would be able to pin point exactly which cylinder is misfiring and change just that coil. Old plugs can cause roughness too, so change that first or at the same time. Don't be a carrot!

Edited by Volvobrick

worth to change all four ignition coil at one go? or just the faulty one will do?

as mentioned, troublesome to change coil, and labour charge might be more worthwhile to change all at once?

worth to change all four ignition coil at one go? or just the faulty one will do?

as mentioned, troublesome to change coil, and labour charge might be more worthwhile to change all at once?

Just change the faulty one

You need to remove your inlet manifold to access the ignition coil so labour should be expensive for this job, not worth it to install and remove inlet manifold just to test if it's the correct coil that is changed.

Oh, you might want to change your spark plugs when you at it, if not, you might need to pay expensive labour again just to change plugs next time.

just changed whichever faulty and its one of the most easy DIY.

but do you know which one? If  not just change one at a time and see which one is the culprit.

if boxer engine......different case.

I didn't believe it but after searching indeed it is very troublesome to get to the coil/plugs on some Nissan!  Compared to the cars I had before.

If you invest in a $10 Bluetooth OBD scan tool you would be able to pin point exactly which cylinder is misfiring and change just that coil.  Old plugs can cause roughness too, so change that first or at the same time.  Don't be a carrot!

Could you provide more detail about the Bluetooth OBD? any link?

$100 for a spark plug?

The guy must laugh all the way to the bank.

Most normal spark plug cost no more than $20.

Take 2 minutes to fit.

Looks like my workshop should move to Singapore asap for the huge profit.

$100 for a spark plug?

The guy must laugh all the way to the bank.

Most normal spark plug cost no more than $20.

Take 2 minutes to fit.

Looks like my workshop should move to Singapore asap for the huge profit.

He is talk about Ignition coil la.