Personal compensation claim

Kurty

anyone got any experience with such compensation claim arising from car accident?

my side of story:

3 years ago, while at stationery, was rear hit by a taxi who dozed off.

impact was huge as my head fell directly on steering, Concussion shortly after the accident.

was also in neck brace for a period of time but i was stupid, hospital insisted in hospitalization but i decline.

MC was a month if i recall correctly

during this 3 years, i have visited numerous specialists for ailment like whiplash and severe migraine.

whiplash was minor and recover over time, although i suffer stiff neck from time to time.

Migraine was severe, it took a long period to fully recover with medication etc.

based on the medical supporting, it did state the form of injuries suffered but both are just brief and didn't state it was whiplash.

Migraine, medical supporting, was recovering and doing fine.

during this period, i also have visited physio for treatment

with such weak medical supporting, the lawyer also conclude my compensation won't be significant.

however, as a victim, i feel that this is a lifetime injury as i do suffered attacks from time to time, although improved.

i do feel that this law firm was weak, didn't really study my case well nor fight for my right

my hearing is today, i would like to ask if i rejected the compensation claim offered, will i be offered another higher compensation?

what are the other options that i could consider to justify for higher claim?

anyone got any experience with such compensation claim arising from car accident?

my side of story:

impact was huge as my head fell directly on steering, Concussion shortly after the accident.

was also in neck brace for a period of time but i was stupid, hospital insisted in hospitalization but i decline.

during this 3 years, i have visited numerous specialists for ailment like whiplash and severe migraine.

whiplash was minor and recover over time, although i suffer stiff neck from time to time.

Migraine was severe, it took a long period to fully recover with medication etc.

based on the medical supporting, it did state the form of injuries suffered but both are just brief and didn't state it was whiplash.

with such weak medical supporting, the lawyer also conclude my compensation won't be significant.

however, as a victim, i feel that this is a lifetime injury as i do suffered attacks from time to time, although improved.

i do feel that this law firm was weak, didn't really study my case well nor fight for my right

my hearing is today, i would like to ask if i rejected the compensation claim offered, will i be offered another higher compensation?

Your lawyer is from the insurance company ?

Maybe you would like to speak to your own lawyer and seek his advise.

I know from the date of accident...you have 6 years to file a personal claim against the 3rd party insurance policy. But you would have to take a private suit against the cabby insurance policy. They will try to reject your claim...but if you wanna seek higher compensation...you would have to be prepared to slug it out in the court with the 3rd party insurance policy.

So make sure you have a case...else you might end up losing more...I heard is that you need to pay for the other party's lawyer expenses if you loose.

Your lawyer is from the insurance company ?

Maybe you would like to speak to your own lawyer and seek his advise.

I know from the date of accident...you have 6 years to file a personal claim against the 3rd party insurance policy. But you would have to take a private suit against the cabby insurance policy. They will try to reject your claim...but if you wanna seek higher compensation...you would have to be prepared to slug it out in the court with the 3rd party insurance policy.

So make sure you have a case...else you might end up losing more...I heard is that you need to pay for the other party's lawyer expenses if you loose.

thanks for the reply.

the lawyer is from a law firm, was referred by workshop. during that time, it was my first car accident and was told that in sg, there isn't many players who handling such car accident claim.

yes, i agreed with you as my case is weak in terms of relevant supporting. now, i'm clueless to take the offer or fight it all out..

I assume you would have a benchmark... what is your tolerance level??

i'm not sure if your benchmark refer to the amount compensated..

was vaguely told around 30k?

of course, i was hoping for something more..

i know its better than nothing.

i did submit my case to the pro bono legal, hoping they would be a better position to advice.

Honestly, who would not want more money?

But the loss adjusters for all their negative image are professionals and have likely assessed payout based on loss of income etc. etc. You may not accept their reasoning, but it would be hard to assign a dollar value to neck pain, migraines and headaches that do not significantly result in the loss of income (which is measurable) or require long term medical attention. These are all fundamentals that they present as justification. Of course, throw in a hefty dose of under-offering (they are a profitmaking entity after all) and you may want to seek independent advice of your own to confirm their compensation is fair.

my side of story:

Any negative impact on you if you reject and ask for more?

Else, no harm trying...

Honestly, who would not want more money?

But the loss adjusters for all their negative image are professionals and have likely assessed payout based on loss of income etc. etc. You may not accept their reasoning, but it would be hard to assign a dollar value to neck pain, migraines and headaches that do not significantly result in the loss of income (which is measurable) or require long term medical attention. These are all fundamentals that they present as justification. Of course, throw in a hefty dose of under-offering (they are a profitmaking entity after all) and you may want to seek independent advice of your own to confirm their compensation is fair.

my sentimental but just received a call from pro bono legal, since i already have a lawyer following up on my case, they won't be able to assist.

Any negative impact on you if you reject and ask for more?

Else, no harm trying...

nope, just i don't know if i got a right to reject and ask for more.

that's why i wish to find out if any of you had similar case before..

i guess the only thing i could do is wait for the lawyer to revert, once so, i will probably discuss with him if i were to reject the offer.

will i stand any chance of being compensate more..

nope, just i don't know if i got a right to reject and ask for more.

that's why i wish to find out if any of you had similar case before..

i guess the only thing i could do is wait for the lawyer to revert, once so, i will probably discuss with him if i were to reject the offer.

will i stand any chance of being compensate more..

You can reject the offer. But if were to reject and ask for higher compensation...you would have to take out a civil suit against the insurance company...that was what was lay out to me.

My case was similar to yours...got rear ended and suffer from whip lash. The other party insurance offer 9K for the injuries and I took it cos didnt wanna go thru the hassle of taking up a civil suit. I also find not enuff cos the trouble they made me go thru...have to see their specialist lah...and I also have to see my own specialist before they even bother to take a look at my case.

My own personal expense was close to 2K liao....that is not inclusive of the MC and leave taken to go see doctor. If I add those together...I think easily exceed the 9K compensation.

For me...LPPL...dun wanna challenge the financial might of the insurance company...hahahahaha...I surrender.

You can reject the offer. But if were to reject and ask for higher compensation...you would have to take out a civil suit against the insurance company...that was what was lay out to me.

My case was similar to yours...got rear ended and suffer from whip lash. The other party insurance offer 9K for the injuries and I took it cos didnt wanna go thru the hassle of taking up a civil suit. I also find not enuff cos the trouble they made me go thru...have to see their specialist lah...and I also have to see my own specialist before they even bother to take a look at my case.

My own personal expense was close to 2K liao....that is not inclusive of the MC and leave taken to go see doctor. If I add those together...I think easily exceed the 9K compensation.

For me...LPPL...dun wanna challenge the financial might of the insurance company...hahahahaha...I surrender.

wow..i really don't know what to say after reading your reply..

i guess i could only wait for the law firm to revert, if the compensated amount is reasonable, just case close too..