Living With Less. A Lot Less.

Tungsl

Living with Less

I LIVE in a 420-square-foot studio. I sleep in a bed that folds down from the wall. I have six dress shirts. I have 10 shallow bowls that I use for salads and main dishes. When people come over for dinner, I pull out my extendable dining room table. I don

if we calculate by per person per size, it will be about 1350sqft for me alone. [laugh]

anyway, if a person is so damn rich, do you think he/she will buy a 450sqft home? it is not that possible, IMO.

during the olden times, the house is rather simple, a living room, a kitchen, bedrooms, a study room and toilets. that's all.

today, houses are filled with gym set, TV room, computer room and etc. with all these space plays an important role.

we cannot be possibly transform a bedroom to a TV room and vice versa within a short time. people want to enjoy life in a quicker pace.

it is sad but true fact that people are improving with the technologies.

most importantly, in today's market situation, buying properties are somewhat related to investment.

this is very different from the olden days where, you just need a hut, a truck, a farm and filled with animals.

anyway, if a person is so damn rich, do you think he/she will buy a 450sqft home? it is not that possible, IMO.

to make this statement, you probably didn't read the article or did not understand what the author is trying to convey.

it is a very challenging article

that by example for us

to live simple

why make the mistake of others

perhaps you are right.

somehow, how many will learn to understand and follow the author?

it is simple to say than done. think about it, if you are one of those, will you do the same? :D

Single easy, in fact it is better.

But with family , very difficult

Also, he has the ability to choose whether to live with more or less. For many with less money, it's no choice. 人在江湖,身不由己

perhaps you are right.

somehow, how many will learn to understand and follow the author?

it is simple to say than done. think about it, if you are one of those, will you do the same? :D

It's different when u have been there done that. Author already had his taste of high life until he find it meaningless.

For many of us here, it is still a distant dream [bigcry] [bigcry]

if we calculate by per person per size, it will be about 1350sqft for me alone. [laugh]

during the olden times, the house is rather simple, a living room, a kitchen, bedrooms, a study room and toilets. that's all.

today, houses are filled with gym set, TV room, computer room and etc. with all these space plays an important role.

we cannot be possibly transform a bedroom to a TV room and vice versa within a short time. people want to enjoy life in a quicker pace.

it is sad but true fact that people are improving with the technologies.

most importantly, in today's market situation, buying properties are somewhat related to investment.

this is very different from the olden days where, you just need a hut, a truck, a farm and filled with animals.

Maybe for you. Most people in Singpore still live in an apartment, with living room, Kitchen, bedrooms without fancy TV rooms or Gym sets in their home....

Single easy, in fact it is better.

But with family , very difficult

I agree. When I was single I tend to accept a lot less. I don't mind not having a car and take public transport. I can walk for 20 mins instead of taking feeder bus of 2 to 3 bus stops ride. I don't mind if I have a bed frame or not. I don't mind using a very normal phone. And still using a desktop.

Now? Cannot. Not when I am married and have kids Liao. Even if I can accept less for myself, I cannot accept less for my kids and of course my wife, though i know my wife can also accept less for herself too. This is a fact. Call it kaisu or whatever but that is a fact.

I think alot of ppl read this article but none know this guy out of this article or have even seen his place. Well, for a start he is quite a well known person on the Internet and have done talks on TED.

I feel it's easy for a person like him who has been there and done that. If you further research about him and have a look on YouTube, you will see him talk about his home. There are alot of good customized parts that are movable and well done. It's not done cheaply.

So if you asked me, is he living less with less space and material items than before? Sure, is his home cheap and simple for common folks like us who might want to have less materials? That might not be the case.

It might be simple but not cheap or affordable. His home might just be more expensive than a fully decked out 4 room HDB.

Edited by Jerms

in HK

you have an entire family, father, mother and two children living in a 300+sq feet apartment

and they get by and are happy

perhaps we are al spoilted

I agree. When I was single I tend to accept a lot less. I don't mind not having a car and take public transport. I can walk for 20 mins instead of taking feeder bus of 2 to 3 bus stops ride. I don't mind if I have a bed frame or not. I don't mind using a very normal phone. And still using a desktop.

Now? Cannot. Not when I am married and have kids Liao. Even if I can accept less for myself, I cannot accept less for my kids and of course my wife, though i know my wife can also accept less for herself too. This is a fact. Call it kaisu or whatever but that is a fact.

There is a difference between living a life full of excesses and a life with sufficient necessities. To an average-income family which chooses the former, it will have little resources left for other non-material things essential for a balanced life. Such a family's home may be filled with the latest gadgets etc, but lacks space/time for really good stuff like peace of mind, time for loved ones /friends, etc.

However, it's still to each his own.

Article is right... we have tendency to hoard too many material possessions (even things of little value, actually) that end up cluttering our lives and increasing stress. Not just in our homes, but also our workplaces (take a look at your desk/cubicle!) [laugh]

I really admire those people who can really chuck away things that they are fully confident that they don't need. Their homes have wide open floors, coffee tables free of clutter... very refreshing.

so after all he was just toking kok [laugh] [laugh]

I think alot of ppl read this article but none know this guy out of this article or have even seen his place. Well, for a start he is quite a well known person on the Internet and have done talks on TED.

I feel it's easy for a person like him who has been there and done that. If you further research about him and have a look on YouTube, you will see him talk about his home. There are alot of good customized parts that are movable and well done. It's not done cheaply.

So if you asked me, is he living less with less space and material items than before? Sure, is his home cheap and simple for common folks like us who might want to have less materials? That might not be the case.

It might be simple but not cheap or affordable. His home might just be more expensive than a fully decked out 4 room HDB.

in HK

you have an entire family, father, mother and two children living in a 300+sq feet apartment

It is possible but each family member must get rid of the hoarding mentality. You can't keep too much stuff per person in such a home.

in HK

live in hong kong, very scary [dizzy] , they live like that one leh :wacko:

article-2084971-0F6811F700000578-728_634x481.jpg

luckily, here in Singapore, we have the PAP Government, can live in nice nice HDB!!! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

smiley_emoticons_kinggrin_anbeten2.gifAll Praise be to PAP !!!smiley_emoticons_kinggrin_anbeten2.gif

post-25827-1363310670_thumb.jpg