Famous Buona Vista Duck rice to close!

Passing of an Era

1 hour ago

I have never posted before but on hearing news that the great Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice is closing by June 2013, I have to write something.

Warning: Article/Review below may border on being a little emo and over dramatic.

If there is a restaurant that encapsulates the story of the makan nation, it has to be Lim's. From a tender age of 5+ (am mid 30s now), I have patronised this far flung restaurant admist stories of motorbike racing along the "99 corners" road (a.k.a Kent Ridge Road).

In all my years of patronage, the food there has never disappointed. If you read the other reviews here, the duck meat is really as good as it gets. It is the combination of the duck meat and the hot porridge doused with luscious gravy that have warmed the stomachs and hearts of many Singaporeans.

What is even more charming and rustic of Lim's is that the place has never changed, the staff (that friendly uncle who always insist in speaking English and give you a feeling that he is just estimating your bill rather than calculating) are the same, the look is the same, the drinks are the same.. Everything you see, eat and feel there is a page out of the 1960s.

There are very few places left in Singapore that has such tradition and remain staunchly "unfranchised". I will be going there very frequently until the very end.

PICTURES

Famous Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice in Buona Vista to close in three months

Published on Mar 26, 2013

3:57 PM

Purchase this article for republication

Buy SPH photos

Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice Eating House at South Buona Vista Road. After 45 years in the business, Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice Eating House, famous for its boneless braised duck, will be closing shop. -- ST PHOTO: SEAH KWANG PENG

By Eileen Tay

After 45 years in the business, Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice Eating House, famous for its boneless braised duck, will be closing shop.

The coffeeshop at South Buona Vista Road is likely to close after June 20.

Founder Mr Lim Ah Too, 67, and his wife were reluctant to speak to Life!, saying they feared a deluge of customers if news got out that they would be closing.

But he eventually said he wanted to retire because he has a bad back.

ate there a couple of times as it was near to my office.......taste not bad but the price was [knife] imho.........

Passing of an Era

1 hour ago

I have never posted before but on hearing news that the great Lim Seng Lee Duck Rice is closing by June 2013, I have to write something.

Warning: Article/Review below may border on being a little emo and over dramatic.

If there is a restaurant that encapsulates the story of the makan nation, it has to be Lim's. From a tender age of 5+ (am mid 30s now), I have patronised this far flung restaurant admist stories of motorbike racing along the "99 corners" road (a.k.a Kent Ridge Road).

In all my years of patronage, the food there has never disappointed. If you read the other reviews here, the duck meat is really as good as it gets. It is the combination of the duck meat and the hot porridge doused with luscious gravy that have warmed the stomachs and hearts of many Singaporeans.

What is even more charming and rustic of Lim's is that the place has never changed, the staff (that friendly uncle who always insist in speaking English and give you a feeling that he is just estimating your bill rather than calculating) are the same, the look is the same, the drinks are the same.. Everything you see, eat and feel there is a page out of the 1960s.

There are very few places left in Singapore that has such tradition and remain staunchly "unfranchised". I will be going there very frequently until the very end.

Aww damn...

My parents used to ta pao hm very often back then cuz I stayed in Pasir Panjang when I was little. Guess we're about the same age Radx [:)]

Best duck rice ever bar none. Haven't been there for years. Time to pay a last visit... [bigcry]

I remember the uncle as very nice and polite. Sometimes even tompang friend's bike from SP to go there makan. Good excuse for him to play at 99 bends too.

ate there a couple of times as it was near to my office.......taste not bad but the price was [knife] imho.........

I must admit the standard dropped a bit during my 20s. Probably the uncle tired liao. And back then he already aged quite a bit.

Now I think very very old liao.

I must admit the standard dropped a bit during my 20s. Probably the uncle tired liao. And back then he already aged quite a bit.

Now I think very very old liao.

prob that's why I was not really keen going there to eat....normally it's my colleagues that jio me or my boss giving us or our foreign visitors a treat...... [laugh]

IMO

I prefer the chomp chomp one

Wa this radx tok like ah lau

Only mid 30s ar

Hahaha

I all along tot he is ard 40s till 50

Ps ps

Haha

Hahaha damn guess i am the only one which thought he is a old fart in his last 60s waiting to be buried. That said , i also eat this store since young. But no so often nowadays coz too far away.

Edited by CH_CO

SERIOUS!!? I love the loh duck rice very much....boneless and tender duck meat.also the fried tou gan.....they should do a Ubi roasted pig style.....sell the secret Receipt for million dollar lah....I think there will be investor interested in it...

duck and sauce is quite nice, but dont really like the rice. pricing not cheap

yea quality has been dropping past few yrs imo. Close down also dont care

If its good, ex still okay...... it is those ex but taste like XXXX..... pui... [knife]

Must try before it's gone.

Thanks for the heads up. [thumbsup]

Sure will miss this makan place.

Dont mind the price, afterall, it's not everyday event.

IMO

I prefer the chomp chomp one

Wa this radx tok like ah lau

Only mid 30s ar

Hahaha

I all along tot he is ard 40s till 50

Ps ps

Haha

He late 40s already lah :D

One of my favourite makkan places....have not been there in like, 2/3 years....how time flies.

Enjoyed the piping hot porridge with generous douse of braised duck gravy, tender duck meat and spare parts. Also the "oil vegetable". Parking can be a challenge but there are ample lots opposite where cold storage is...but must pay. The short uncle taking orders always have a smile and a twinkle in his eyes.

Will go eat before they close for good. It's always a pity that the next generation not keen to take over reins....guess it's tough trade...waking up very early and retiring late with no rest days except perhaps the cny period only.

Safe ride