Medishield or Medisave claim

Deckbuild

They should then list out which of these cases are done in a govt hospital

​When things come at no cost, moral hazard start to kick in. So sooner or later insurance company sure cannot tahan the high claim and making big losses. So now they want to get out of this situation by letting people pay for a portion of medical bills and the rest is covered by insurance and reduce moral hazard situation. This is a more sustainable solution. 

âWhen things come at no cost, moral hazard start to kick in. So sooner or later insurance company sure cannot tahan the high claim and making big losses. So now they want to get out of this situation by letting people pay for a portion of medical bills and the rest is covered by insurance and reduce moral hazard situation. This is a more sustainable solution.

â

The only problem is the pte hospitals

Why drag we all govt hospital as charged people along?

Govt hospital got buffet? I don’t believe

Thise people want to go private hospital buffet one, please Ownself pay their very high insurance

The only problem is the pte hospitals

Why drag we all govt hospital as charged people along?

Govt hospital got buffet? I don’t believe

Thise people want to go private hospital buffet one, please Ownself pay their very high insurance

​Like that you want to separate? Like those buy medical insurance that covered private hospitals to pay a portion of medical bills if go private hospital and not pay anything if go government restructured hospital?

​If like that, I tell you, many will then go for no cost payment option to government restructured hospitals and then end up it still back to square one, moral hazard come into play.

âLike that you want to separate? Like those buy medical insurance that covered private hospitals to pay a portion of medical bills if go private hospital and not pay anything if go government restructured hospital?

âIf like that, I tell you, many will then go for no cost payment option to government restructured hospitals and then end up it still back to square one, moral hazard come into play.

I don’t understand what you say

​Means most people will go for no need to pay money option for medical bills. 

​So its no brainer if insurance company separate between private hospital and government restructured hospital.

​Aka, go private hospital need co-payment, go government restructured hospital no need.

​Of coz majority of people will choose the letter and end up back to square one, which is moral hazard lor.

​This one you understand better bo?

âMeans most people will go for no need to pay money option for medical bills.

âSo its no brainer if insurance company separate between private hospital and government restructured hospital.

âAka, go private hospital need co-payment, go

government restructured hospital no need.

âOf coz majority of people will choose the letter and end up back to square one, which is moral hazard lor.

âThis one you understand better bo?

More people go govt hospital will end up buffet in govt?

I don’t believe

Cataract or toe fungus govt hospital want hospitalization? Haha I think they jit tao reject

Read here, see what a satki govt doctor did to one joker who try to buffet in govt hospital

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/insuance-company-want-existing-new-policy-holder-pay-part-hospital-bills-even-if-your-rider-5787465-44.html

More people go govt hospital will end up buffet in govt?

I don’t believe

Cataract or toe fungus govt hospital want hospitalization? Haha I think they jit tao reject

Read here, see what a satki govt doctor did to one joker who try to buffet in govt hospital

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/insuance-company-want-existing-new-policy-holder-pay-part-hospital-bills-even-if-your-rider-5787465-44.html

​Well, you will never know, there are a lot of clever people in Singapore hor. They will find ways or find loophole to go around it. 

​Like, its free, so why not..

vs

ai yo, still need to pay some money are, " doc, this one is it really need to do? If don't do can or not" or " doc got cheaper alternative " .

Edited by Yewheng

âWell, you will never know, there are a lot of clever people in Singapore hor. They will find ways or find loophole to go around it.

I have more faith in govt hospital than pte ones

​Like that you want to separate? Like those buy medical insurance that covered private hospitals to pay a portion of medical bills if go private hospital and not pay anything if go government restructured hospital?

​If like that, I tell you, many will then go for no cost payment option to government restructured hospitals and then end up it still back to square one, moral hazard come into play.

Actually, Prudential has something similar to what you suggested already. Where it is more beneficial for the client financially to choose govt restructured hospital. But the plan still gives them the option to go private but have to co-pay.

The thing with govt hospital is that the doctors got no incentive to suggest extra treatments or unnecessary hospitalisations unlike private hospitals.

Edited by Nzy

Actually, Prudential has something similar to what you suggested already. Where it is more beneficial for the client financially to choose govt restructured hospital. But the plan still gives them the option to go private but have to co-pay.

The thing with govt hospital is that the doctors got no incentive to suggest extra treatments or unnecessary hospitalisations unlike private hospitals.

That does not stop people from going to hospital unnecessary or patient to insist to continue stay in hospital ward for few more days for extra precautions when he/she is deemed fine to go home already and etc.

I think all these medical insurance and privatization of hospitals are causing lots of problem to the poor. It is so sad that medical has become so unethical and profit driven. While I see public hospitals going high end, it should not be at the expense of patients. Patients have a choice, there are private hospitals and please don't compete business with them.

A salaried regulator committee should be formed to investigate any insurance claims that are inflated and unnecessary procedures done at public hospitals. This committee must be independent and has no association with public hospitals management.

Once investigation is completed and found to be overcharging, a hefty fine be imposed and these monies goes to a pool to fund this committee.

Should patients wish to go private, then it is their decision how they wish to spend their money.  :a-noway:

AIA came up with a slightly cheaper plan last year when my renewal was near ... this one is more for planned medical  service as you had to go through AIA's medical advisers before you can be warded. they will decide on where you should go for  specialized treatment.

I don't know if private hospitals will be included but it should be included since the plan does mention private hospitals.

i might be switching over to this if the premiums get too much for me (i have pre-ex) ... and i really don't care if i go to a govt or private hospital when/if i really need it.

btw, i wonder if ppl knows that if they go private, then their follow up will be under private ... and when the insurance don't cover, they will still rack up a neat sum themselves when going for the follow-ups.

please don’t blame the doctors and specialists here

they also need to drive their bentleys and ferraris and live in luxurious landed properties given their great sacrifices they made for their profession

That does not stop people from going to hospital unnecessary or patient to insist to continue stay in hospital ward for few more days for extra precautions when he/she is deemed fine to go home already and etc.

This one I agree

People are likely to persuade doctors to allow to stay for one day to claim hospitalisation insurance

But the hospital side also steady one, won’t anyhow let anyone anyhow chut this pattern

Becuase if they kena question how come small case need stay in, the doctor can’t explain, he consperm jia lat

AIA came up with a slightly cheaper plan last year when my renewal was near ... this one is more for planned medical service as you had to go through AIA's medical advisers before you can be warded. they will decide on where you should go for specialized treatment.

I don't know if private hospitals will be included but it should be included since the plan does mention private hospitals.

i might be switching over to this if the premiums get too much for me (i have pre-ex) ... and i really don't care if i go to a govt or private hospital when/if i really need it.

btw, i wonder if ppl knows that if they go private, then their follow up will be under private ... and when the insurance don't cover, they will still rack up a neat sum themselves when going for the follow-ups.

That time my son warded in kkh for dengue

I call up prudential ask them help me check thousand times see whether can claim or not

They say check until pen also no ink liao

Sure can, just go ahead

I steady one l, before go in, I will call up ask them check sui sui

i renewed my with prudential last year already opt for the co-pay, cap at $5k i think.

govt hospital will also do unnecessary checks, not because the doctor trying to skin more from patients, it was because most of them quite junior and once they found something they will ask another specialist then another....... 

that is why old people dun like to go hospital, because usually will have one thing lead to another.

MOH should blacklist or shame those who abuse the medishield. Scrutinise their next claim and make them pay 100% if they are at it again. Leave those innocent ppl alone. Why make everyone suffer the same fate just becoz of the black sheeps?

they didn't do anything illegal, the terms were there and they make full use.

just that some people know how to take advantage than the other, do away with the 100% then identify whoever claim before and impose higher premium for them.

they didn't do anything illegal, the terms were there and they make full use.

just that some people know how to take advantage than the other, do away with the 100% then identify whoever claim before and impose higher premium for them.

all these insurance contracts are drawn by very free lawyers and I am very sure they list down every single do and don't.

how many of us actually read the contract ? ppl like to hear and do the good stuff ... and then try to find loopholes and work around it.

maybe the way to curb this is to go the way of car insurance ... NCD and increased premiums for claims ... so the policy holder will play a part in maintaining his claims ... don't fingernail chip off also go hospital and ask for x-ray and stay.

not bad idea ... but to completely blacklist is a no-no ... maybe they will be barred from buying the rider ... so they will be made to co-pay for any future treatments.