Accident on the 4th April 2013, filter lane at Punggol road

Carny84

Hi all,

Not sure if some kind souls can help with starting a new thread under "General" as i have not reach 25 posts yet.

I had a accident on the 4th April around 1040 pm, Along Punggol Road slip road towards Jalan Kayu/ SLE/CTE.

I was on the extreme left filter lane (there were 2 lanes), and after checking clear i proceeded.

Suddenly a cyclist (Foreign worker , dark skinned either indian or bangadeshi, wearing a black tshirt with dark colored bottoms ) cycled acrossed the pedestrian crossing without checking.

He was going at a fast speed, cycling across and i could not react in time. Jammed brakes but still hit the rear wheel of the bicycle.

He fell and i believe sustained some injuries towards his wrist and foot.

I dialed for police and ambulance , statements were given and the case is still pending.

Would anyone happen to see the accident?

I have been prowling the net to search for other such incidents, however, all pointed to the fault of the driver.

Would really appreciate any advice from the seniors here.

http://injury.findlaw.com/car-accidents/bi...-accidents.html

http://srsc.org.sg/advisories/cyclists-bic...fety-accidents/

There are some articles which states that the cyclist should dismount before proceeding , however, i believe the TP would be aware of these rules and regulations as well.

cyclist may have no nite blinkers, never dismount... etc.

you knock him you lose liao. But you certainly did the right thing by following the protocol.

relax.......since can't do anything but wait.

Hit a pedestrian suddenly dashing across quite distant b4 a zebra crossing, no fine no points deducted but injuries claimed my insurance. I still lose.

ya im thinking what else i can do.

Is there any seniors how much i should prepare?

My excess is actually 2500, not sure on what to prepare from here.

Haixx..

Suay because cycled too fast, but if that guy were riding slower, he might have been hit directly.

Nothing you can do but wait for investigating officer to call you lim kopi. Somehow someone must pay for medical, your insurance, if you are lucky.

Made police report and inform insurance?

Edited by KaKiLang

Nothing you can do but wait for investigating officer to call you lim kopi. Somehow someone must pay for medical, your insurance, if you are lucky.

Made police report and inform insurance?

ya made report and gave all the info to the insurance.

but well after listening to them, made me more worried.

E.G the bangala might have their supervisors/ company lawyers making claims for them.

Not sure how it will turn out. If the cyclist admits that he was cycling on the pavement, than TP MIGHT summon them as well.

If they claimed they were walking and my car kissed them, its good game for me.

Both contributed to the accident. You should liable for inconsiderate driving, $200 plus 9 demerit points while the pedal cyclist should liable for riding other than in an orderly manner (cycle along zebra crossing).

Pedestrian crossing as in not zebra crossing right? Is the 'green man' light in his favor?

I have encountered before as I was turning right, this Blanga cycling across pedestrian crossing very quickly and can only see him once he leave the pavement because of the street lamp. Had to zham brake as well.

Because of that experience, I think cannot blame you entirely. Anyway, he only has minor injuries so you should count yourself lucky already... imagine if you knock him straight on, I think you won't be able to sleep.

Everyone should take note to look out for such cyclists near industrial areas.

Ya, is green light in his favor?

Quote u 2 eg

1, my colg knocked a AT along loyang but is AT fault, but my colg gave him $20 n that's it

Car scratched

Think this considered lucky case

2, last end yr, another colg banged old uncle who dashed across on bicycle without looking at traffic in carpark

Blindspot to my colg, uncle fell on ground, my colg called police

Leg fractured

Got 1 co came down after afew days to photo the plc n statement those motorbike guys I forgot the co

Saying cyclist always like that but driver sure lose

My colg went court fined 800

Jus last week received tp letter saying uncle also wrong in this vase as mv look out traffic

Action against him

We were like hahaha

Cheng hu sure win liao lor

Both side fine

Hahaha

Pedestrian crossing as in not zebra crossing right? Is the 'green man' light in his favor?

I have encountered before as I was turning right, this Blanga cycling across pedestrian crossing very quickly and can only see him once he leave the pavement because of the street lamp. Had to zham brake as well.

Because of that experience, I think cannot blame you entirely. Anyway, he only has minor injuries so you should count yourself lucky already... imagine if you knock him straight on, I think you won't be able to sleep.

Everyone should take note to look out for such cyclists near industrial areas.

TS hope things turn out fine for u, it is an accident and no one wanted it to happen

Beside the point I nearly many years kana rear ended by as a FT cycling rather fast at Eunos exit to PIE(jurong) , Somehow our law very grey on cycling some town council have what pilot project for number plate and cycling lane all these like no follow up. Are cyclist allowed on pavement or road has been the longest debate

TS hope things turn out fine for u, it is an accident and no one wanted it to happen

Beside the point I nearly many years kana rear ended by as a FT cycling rather fast at Eunos exit to PIE(jurong) , Somehow our law very grey on cycling some town council have what pilot project for number plate and cycling lane all these like no follow up. Are cyclist allowed on pavement or road has been the longest debate

Cyclists not allowed on pavement except some of the estates lo. That is the law ma. They are supposed to be on the road. But I just learnt from a TP that in those estate like tampinese where cyclists are allowed on pavement, they are also allowed to cycle across pedestrian crossings but of course they are encouraged to dismount and push.