ST Forum: Recognise skills learnt in NS at the workplace

Vulcann

Siao liao then those with vocation as a sniper can do what huh?

Maybe work for LTA's outsourced enforcement agencies catching motorists perhaps? [laugh] [laugh]

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/premium/forum-...kplace-20130408

Recognise skills learnt in NS at the workplace

Published on Apr 08, 2013

MANY interesting ideas were put forward to change the perception of national service (NS) being a liability rather than an asset ("Getting back that NS feeling"; March 23).

The top suggestion should be to recognise the skills acquired by full-time national servicemen during their training. Even the roles of non-combat NSFs as clerks, for example, should not be viewed as a form of compulsory cheap labour.

Instead, the IT skills and work experience they acquire during their NS stints should be taken into consideration in the selection of applicants for government scholarships or civil service jobs. This is especially so for those who are recognised by their supervisors for having commendable work attitudes.

Similarly, for officers in the public service, the leadership skills they acquire during their training days should be noted when they are being considered for promotion.

Simply giving NSmen pay increments is insufficient. By being recognised for their skills, NSmen will view their service as an advantage rather than a burden to be performed without a choice. This is especially so as there are significant disadvantages in devoting two years at the prime of one's life to NS.

I hope the upcoming review will be fruitful and yield more positive attitudes towards serving NS.

Yeo Boon Eng (Ms)

Similarly, for officers in the public service, the leadership skills they acquire during their training days should be noted when they are being considered for promotion.

Believe this is already happening since dinosaurs ruled the earth.

Understand NSmen commissioned officers are recognised in the civil service during recruitment as well as in their promotions.

my ex-company is officer got $100 extra in basic pay when joining the company while other ranks $50........not sure if it's still practised though...

Got a high flyer U friend as a officer in SAF during NSF and when sign on SPF flew through the roof literally.

Your ex-company SPF or otherwise must say properly hor bec we all know you ex-mata [laugh] [laugh]

Got a high flyer U friend as a officer in SAF during NSF and when sign on SPF flew through the roof literally.

Your ex-company SPF or otherwise must say properly hor bec we all know you ex-mata [laugh] [laugh]

no lah, it's a US MNC......

but one of my mate in NS really flew thru' the roof like your friend when he completed his U and joins the SPF......... [laugh]

no lah, it's a US MNC......

but one of my mate in NS really flew thru' the roof like your friend when he completed his U and joins the SPF......... [laugh]

Same friend maybe? [laugh] [laugh]

Anyway I believe only the civil service or maybe MNCs values leadership posts during NSF.

Private sector choy le dou saw...

Same friend maybe? [laugh] [laugh]

Anyway I believe only the civil service or maybe MNCs values leadership posts during NSF.

Private sector choy le dou saw...

was your friend working for PUB after NS???

Nope but I do have a buddy working there as a high level staff but he only chow CPL last time.

PUB buck chew ta stamp treasures my pig-buddy-dog-pal so much [laugh] [laugh]

that's one of the skills your buddy learnt and now kena recognised at PUB mah..... [laugh]

But seriously he quite nua in U last time and also no scholar like yours truly.

He does have three vital skills to excel in any organisation: intelligence, inter-personal and communication.

Plus valuable chances to rub shoulders with top management up to PS level during and after his presentations.

Actually apart from Leadership skill from NS. I don't see that relevance of NS skills obtained that can be used for the working life...

Unless you work as:

- A security contractor for a PMC

- Government home team

- Various specialised defence/physical related jobs

Maybe the skills learnt can help to secure a job in a relevant area, also depending on how a person markets this in his resume and during interview.

I've seen a book, relevant to the USA only, teaching ex-military personnel on how to write resume to transition to civilian jobs. I guess it's all about knowing how to write a resume that emphasizes the skills practised in the military in a way that's relevant to the new job.

But when it comes to promotions, no one cares about what you did two, three years ago anymore. Always the emphasis in on what you contributed during the past appraisal year, and that's that.

not all commissions are for leading. some are for sensitive work. MO is a case in point.

I wonder if there are medical practitioners who came out of NS without being MO though?

i got to know one guy who was a combat engineer during his ns days

he got a job as a commercial bomb disposal specilaist because of this spcialist skill of his [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]