ST Forum: Recognise skills learnt in NS at the workplace

Vulcann

Actually apart from Leadership skill from NS. I don't see that relevance of NS skills obtained that can be used for the working life...

Unless you work as:

- A security contractor for a PMC

- Government home team

- Various specialised defence/physical related jobs

my unit commander after retiring kena "hired" by a garment-linked company as a senior position holder due to his "skills"...... [laugh]

sad to say, not all officers can lead

Have to agree with that.

Some superiors in real life as well unfortunately...

my unit commander after retiring kena "hired" by a garment-linked company as a senior position holder due to his "skills"...... [laugh]

which skill?

1. wayang

2. carry balls

3. yes man

4. delegating responsibility

5. all of the above?

all these skills in NS are nothing compared to the skills of SG ministers. That's why they are always in high demand from the pte sector

more of due to his insider knowledge.

what insider knowledge willl a unit commander hve that can benefit a GLC?

operational of the SAF staff lah.

better know how of how those ppl really abuse the equipment sold to them as compare to during inspection time. [:p]

i got to know one guy who was a combat engineer during his ns days

he got a job as a commercial bomb disposal specilaist because of this spcialist skill of his [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

The most direct route for a NDU diver after completing his contract is straighaway sign on as a commercial diver.

Some also work for SCUBA shops as DMs or instructors or even end up as partners/associates in these joints.

Edited by Vulcann

Next I guess will be transport pilots retiring from the air force and go train as commercial airline pilots though lately it seems the market is not so good with SIA letting go expat pilots.

Have to agree with that.

Some superiors in real life as well unfortunately...

indeed.... good workers promoted to leadership position also does not mean they will be good leaders.... it works both ways...

i got to know one guy who was a combat engineer during his ns days

he got a job as a commercial bomb disposal specilaist because of this spcialist skill of his [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

commercial bomb disposal? got so many bombs to dispose meh?

For my first job I managed to use my NS working experience since I never work before. They asked for someone with 2 years working experience and I told them I served 2 years NS. [laugh]