Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

IMO the list should include the level & unit number as well. Even if they change the signboard name ppl still recognize the unit number.

have lah...........a list complete with their unit numbers is pasted inside every lift......... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Must propose to the management to take photo (with signboard) and paste it at the lift lobby

and photos of the bosses and all staff as well huh???............... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

you mean those with chao ah beng face right?

haha obviously... you nice to me, i surely be nice to you

Some price really crazy one lo. I got my 32Gb Mirco Sd for samsung note 2 the price range from $26 to $43. The right way to shop is those with price and model display big big and do some research. For memory card Qoo10.sg quite good the price but shipping very long

depends on what class bah... got 4-8 and dunno what special model.

just bought 1 few months back. same model at different shops at most 2-4 dollars difference.

Qoo10 one i dunno liao

depends on what class bah... got 4-8 and dunno what special model.

just bought 1 few months back. same model at different shops at most 2-4 dollars difference.

Qoo10 one i dunno liao

Class 10 of course...Some tried very hard to con me in buying class 4 haha

That's why when I go sim lim sq, I'll take lift to lv 5 and then slowly browse to lv 3. Never look below that level. The I take lift to B1 car park and leave :D

I think 3 and 4 is good enough the rest is really kill ppl put fire. and SLS need more pretty mei mei to bring the crowd in. Chao ah beng is outdated

wah got such chop shop still surviving in Sim Lim ...ver long time never buy thing there all I buy now thru online in term of camera to computers parts...may need to go down one of the days...

Sim Lim Square off: Alleged thief turns violent, gets beaten up
Ronald Loh, The New Paper
Wednesday, Jul 02, 2014
20140630_sim-lim-brawl_TNP%20reader.jpg?
Security personnel taking the man away.
A man accused of stealing turned violent and hit an onlooker before he himself was attacked.
The ensuing brawl yesterday at Sim Lim Square attracted a crowd and the police later arrested four men.
Paul (not his real name), who works at the store involved, located at the ground storey atrium, said the man, clad in a black T-shirt, behaved suspiciously when he walked in at about 1.25pm.
The electronics gadget store assistant declined to be identified for fear of reprisals.
He claimed that as he moved closer to the man, he noticed the man stuffing a pair of headphones that cost more than $10 into his pocket. Paul confronted the man, accused him of shoptheft as he walked out of the shop and tried to detain him. But the store assistant did not expect the man to turn violent.
The man raised his voice and took off his T-shirt to show off his tattoos.
He told everyone he was a martial arts exponent and waved his hands as if he was ready for a fight.
A police spokesman said they received a call at about 1.32pm yesterday. When officers arrived at the scene, they arrested a man for theft in dwelling and another three people for rioting.
Speaking to The New Paper yesterday, Paul's boss, the store owner, said in Mandarin: "This is the first time something like this has happened. We've always just been working hard just to do our business well. Never would I expect something like this to happen."
They showed TNP footage of the incident captured by their security cameras.
Paul said he tried to pin the man on the ground after he turned violent.
"He kept screaming and struggling at first. But after a while, he calmed down and that was when I thought it would be okay to release him," Paul said.
But the man jumped to his feet and started verbally abusing the store assistant.
Paul said: "He kept challenging me and saying that he has fought bigger guys than me. He also waved his arms wildly, as though he was trying to show off his martial arts skills."
Paul said he kept his cool and did not react to the man's provocation.
Meanwhile, a crowd of onlookers had gathered. Some of them whipped out their mobile phones to record what was happening.
That was when the man turned violent and ran towards an onlooker on his left.
Using his elbow, he landed several blows on the onlooker's face and followed up with a series of punches and kicks.
FOUGHT BACK
The onlooker retaliated with a punch.
All hell broke loose as a group of unknown men ran towards the alleged shoplifter and attacked him.
He collapsed after receiving a few blows, pulling down a few shelves of electronic gadgets as he fell.
Despite this, his assailants continued punching and kicking him.
Said a witness, who gave TNP a photograph he had taken of the fracas: "It was crazy. Everyone just went for him and it was like a free-for-all." The commotion lasted about a minute. [laugh] [laugh]
The man and his attackers were separated by security guards and the store assistant, who ran in and shouted for everyone to disperse. The store was left in a mess, with items scattered all over the floor.
Said Paul: "We spent a lot of time putting everything back so that we could resume business."
Sim Lim Square security staff said they could not comment about the incident, but said that "everything was back to normal" at about 3.30pm. The police are investigating.
WHAT HAPPENED
1. After he is accused of stealing a pair of headphones, the man verbally abuses a store assistant. He then removes his shirt to expose his tattoo-covered torso while gesturing wildly and screaming loudly. A crowd gathers.
2. When the man realises he is being filmed, he punches and kicks the onlooker who was filming with his mobile phone. The onlooker retaliates with a punch.
3. Suddenly, a group of men charge towards the alleged shoplifter and rain blows on him. Even as he falls to the ground, they continue to punch and kick him. Security guards and others intervene.
4. Police officers reach the store and arrest the alleged shoplifter. His assailants, after being questioned by officers, are also nabbed.
SIM LIM SQUARE's ERRANT SHOPS
Some shops in Sim Lim Square have a habit of being in the news for all the wrong reasons.
It is usually because of loud disputes that erupt when customers accuse these shops of overcharging.
And because the shops are owned by individuals, there is little the building management can do.
In 2012, a complaint booth was set up to tackle the problem of shops overcharging customers.
The top 10 shops that received the most complaints were identified and shamed via notices pasted within the building.
But some of these errant shops then came up with ways to mask their dubious reputations.
Tactics include shrinking the shop's name to a small section of their main signboard, or simply removing it. Others even change the name.
In extreme cases, they register as a new company, renovate or move to another mall.

i think the store loss more than the $10 headphone after the event [laugh][laugh]

I very long never buy stuffs from there le.

some of them the professionalism really need to be questioned. [:|]

http://www.digitalone.com.sg/news/article/23441/4

NAMED AND SHAMED

Shops with more than one complaint: (From December 2012 to February 2013)

JW World: 12

Mobile Apps: 5

SMS Gaming LLP: 5

3Plus Mobile LLP: 5

Cyber Maestro: 4

Elite 3 Mobile: 4

Ray Technology: 3

Wee Mobile: 3

Square United Cam: 2

Source: Consumers Association of Singapore

[email protected]

Dispute between customer and salesman at Sim Lim Square results in injury
The New Paper Wednesday, Jul 09, 2014
SimLimConflict_TNP_20140709.jpg?itok=zz7
The salesman pushed me, claimed a shopper at Sim Lim Square.
Not true, the salesman retorted.
A dispute is again being waged between a customer and sales staff at the mall. Although the number of such occurrences are decreasing, the consumer watchdog said customers should be alert.
A shopping trip to Sim Lim Square ended with a trip to the hospital for the customer, who wanted to be known only as Mr Frankie, 34. He claimed he was manhandled when he returned to a shop where he bought a camera tripod.
He had wanted to exchange it for something of an equal value, he said. But he claimed the salesman at the shop refused to do so, was rude and pushed him, causing him to injure his hand.
Mr Frankie, an event manager and emcee, said he was at Sim Lim Square on May 28 to look for a camera tripod. He bought a camera tripod for $34 from Square United Cam.
But he claimed he had problems with it.
He said: "The tripod was unstable when I put my camera on top of it. The quality is very bad. I bought it because it was cheap."
On June 4 at about 8pm, he returned to the shop to exchange it for something of an equal value.
But he said the same salesman who served him that day refused to do so.
Mr Frankie said: "He advised me to buy another tripod that was more expensive. I tested it and it was still not stable."
He claimed the salesman tried to skirt the issue and slashed its price from $900 to $550 to entice him to buy it. But Mr Frankie wasn't interested.
He claimed the salesman then threw his tripod out of the shop.
"I went to pick it up and went back into the shop. He (the salesman) pushed me violently and I landed on some chairs. I used my left hand to support myself from falling down. But I still landed on the ground," he said.
Mr Frankie claimed another staff tried to push him out of the shop. But he managed to get into the shop and called the police with his mobile phone.
SOUGHT TREATMENT
He sought treatment at the Singapore General Hospital for his swollen hand, and was diagnosed with contusional injury with a need for immobilisation with a splint, according to a medical report dated June 5, which he showed to TNP.
When TNP approached the salesman, Mr Daniel Teo, at the shop on Thursday, he confirmed that Mr Frankie had bought a tripod from him. But Mr Teo, 47, disputed the customer's account of the incident.
He claimed Mr Frankie lost his balance when he knocked into chairs and fell. He claimed Mr Frankie had asked for a refund, not an exchange.
He said: "But the manager wasn't in, so we couldn't just take money out and refund him."
Mr Teo showed TNP a video recording he took that day using his mobile phone.
The 67-second-long clip showed a relaxed Mr Frankie holding up his mobile phone, with a voice in the background accusing him of shouting and touching the video cameras on display.
The Consumers Association of Singapore confirmed a report has been lodged. The police said a report was lodged. Its spokesman said the complainant was advised to seek civil redress.
12 Complaints in 30 months
Square United Cam has had 12 complaints lodged against it in the past 2½ years, said the Consumers Association of Singapore (Case).
Complaints involve misrepresentation, where the seller makes false statements or promises to induce consumers to sign the contract.
Case executive director Seah Seng Choon said: "For example, the retailer could state that the camera comes with a free tripod stand to persuade the consumer to buy. But in the end, the consumer was charged for the tripod stand."
During that same period of between 2012 and June this year, Case has handled 232 complaints against retailers in Sim Lim Square. From 106 cases in 2012, it fell to 86 cases last year. The first half of this year saw 40 cases so far.
The top five complaints include misrepresentation, defective goods, sales tactics, overcharging and failure to honour.
Square United Cam appeared on Case's alert list for seven months last year. It has not been highlighted on the list after that.
The alert lists retailers with three or more complaints filed with Case in the past three months.
A check with the alert list showed that although the shop's name is not on the list, the unit number is - with four complaints in three months, between April 2014 and June 2014.
The latest retailers highlighted on the alert list can be found at www.case.org.sg

last sunday i was there

2 salesmen were openly smoking at their shop

i don't know why people still shop in this mall

the atmosphere is so hostile and the chances of getting ripped off are far higher than getting a good deal

Edited by Enye

last sunday i was there

2 salesmen were openly smoking at their shop

i don't know why people still shop in this mall

the atmosphere is so hostile and the chances of getting ripped off are far higher than getting a good deal

this place can be a drama centre, everyday sure got new drama [laugh][laugh]

The shops there (2nd level) specialised in all sorts of batteries, such as those for home alarms, etc, are ok.

You own this shop issit [confused][:p][laugh]