First Drug trafficker to escape death

Jman888

another one escape the rope   [sweatdrop]

Malaysian on death row acquitted in drug trafficking case
AW CHENG WEI
Feb 13, 2018 06:00 am

In a rare 2-1 decision, the apex court acquitted a man on death row for drug possession.

According to a judgment released yesterday, Mr Gopu Jaya Raman successfully proved that he did not know that controlled drugs were hidden in the motorcycle he was riding into Singapore. He contested the High Court's judgment for not giving "due weight to evidence" showing that he did not know about the drugs.

On March 24, 2014, Mr Gopu, a Malaysian, was found trying to enter Singapore through Woodlands Checkpoint with three black bundles of diamorphine hidden in his motorcycle's fender. When immigration officers stopped him and found the drugs, he said he did not know the drugs were hidden in the motorcycle. Mr Gopu, then 28, also said the motorcycle was not his.

While he was crossing the Causeway earlier, Mr Gopu said he had a call from the man who helped him borrow the motorcycle, asking him to call after he entered Singapore.Mr Gopu then suspected that the motorcycle carried drugs as he had brought drugs into Singapore on two other occasions before he was arrested that evening.

He was trying to pay back a loan of RM4,000 (S$1,340) to the man, who had threatened to hurt his family if he did not traffic the drugs. After the call, Mr Gopu then checked the compartment where the drugs were hidden previously but he did not find anything.

After the authorities found the drugs, they got Mr Gopu's help to try to nab the others in the ring who might turn up to collect the drugs. The operation was called off when no one turned up. Authorities monitored his conversation with the man who had helped to get him the motorcycle.After listening to a number of exchanges, officers told Mr Gopu to send a message, indicating that he had no knowledge of the drugs.

In yesterday's judgment, Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon and Judge of Appeal Judith Prakash found that the High Court judge had not considered what the man had said in the monitored conversation when he responded to Mr Gopu's allegations that he did not know about the drugs. According to the judgment, the man had responded to Mr Gopu, saying: "Forgive me. Bring the motorcycle back to Malaysia."

The judges also found that Mr Gopu would have missed the drugs when he was checking for them, given the bundles' "size and dark colour".

As it is "inherently difficult to prove a negative... the burden on Mr Gopu should not be so onerous that it becomes virtually impossible to discharge", the judgment stated.

He don't need to go death row. But going jail?

not sure how the system work, if they prosecute him for death row, and he manage to prove his innocent, mean he can walk free?

Anyway he was in jail since 2014.

He don't need to go death row. But going jail?

It's odd.

Didn't he also admit to already doing it twice before this incident?

not sure how the system work, if they prosecute him for death row, and he manage to prove his innocent, mean he can walk free?

Anyway he was in jail since 2014.

Innocent of course can walk free lor.

another one pushing his luck, 25 yrs old still young   [sweatdrop]

Nearly 6kg of heroin, cannabis found on motorcyclist at Tuas Checkpoint
26 Jul 2018 05:06PM (Updated: 26 Jul 2018 05:10PM)

drugs-seized-jun-26.jpg
Cannabis and heroin seized at Tuas Checkpoint on Jul 25, 2018. (Photo: Immigration and Checkpoints Authority)

SINGAPORE: A 25-year-old Malaysian work permit holder was found with nearly 6kg of cannabis and heroin at Tuas Checkpoint on Wednesday (Jul 25) morning.

The man, who arrived in a Malaysian-registered motorcycle, was directed for further checks upon arrival at about 7.35am, said the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) and the Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB) in a joint press release on Thursday.

Officers found 912g of heroin under the seat of the motorcycle and about 986g of cannabis in the front basket of the vehicle.

Another 3.98kg of cannabis were strapped onto different parts of the suspect's body, the release said.

The amount of cannabis seized is sufficient to feed the addiction of about 430 abusers for a week, while 912g of heroin is enough to feed the addiction of more than 700 abusers for the same period, according to the press release.

Investigations by the CNB are ongoing.

i am sure many of these caught are just the runner not the mastermind behind it. it is just like hired gunman.

once these drugs are released into the market, how many more life will be affected.

therefore, i think death penalty is required to enforce the seriousness of the offence. 

another one pushing his luck, 25 yrs old still young   [sweatdrop]

This is just a bait for the authority to catch which many more came in undetected. Where got so coincidental this fellow was directed for further checks. Anyway might not die, instead got free lodging and food for life.

i am sure many of these caught are just the runner not the mastermind behind it. it is just like hired gunman.

once these drugs are released into the market, how many more life will be affected.

therefore, i think death penalty is required to enforce the seriousness of the offence.

Be more humane lah, who never make mistakes in life? A courier has no intention to kill, he is just in it for money, not to kill. The capital punishment should be reserved for heinous crimes like murder. I know what you are going to say, people suffering from drug addiction is worst than dying blah blah blah, but don't forget tobacco kill more people than drugs and dumbasses out there can get addicted to anything from glue sniffing to cough syrup etc, no need drugs to kill them. You clamp down on hard drugs, these substance abuse freaks will find other things to abuse and die a slow death in other ways. Edited by LPPL

Be more humane lah, who never make mistakes in life? A courier has no intention to kill, he is just in it for money, not to kill. The capital punishment should be reserved for heinous crimes like murder. I know what you are going to say, people suffering from drug addiction is worst than dying blah blah blah, but don't forget tobacco kill more people than drugs and dumbasses out there can get addicted to anything from glue sniffing to cough syrup etc, no need drugs to kill them. You clamp down on hard drugs, these substance abuse freaks will find other things to abuse and die a slow death in other ways.

if you consider the issues drug brought not only to the person consuming it, you will agree we need to put a stop to this. once this is driven in, it is like gun possesion and firing of a gun, don't ever think of it even if you are forced. kill that guy would be a better choice than trafficking it. 

In US, DEA target narco head rather than runner.

that will be ideal but it is very difficult. if there is no runner, there will be no heads too. 

Yet they can get drug so easily in the streets. No wonder Trump also want death penalty.

Actually the old or new laws that we have don't deter anything. Less reported cases of drug trafficking doesn't mean trafficking has decreased as there are probably many that went uncaught. Just ask yourself each time you travel on a plane, how often you see narcotics dogs at the airport? You think customs officers can smell heroin hidden in for example the heels of shoes etc?

Usually if they have checks or stop someone or a vehicle for more thorough inspection, it means they receive insider info or a tip-off.

They don't anyhow 24/7 check every single person thoroughly. Even the dog will quit!

So it's a runner's luck whether or not his mission has been compromised.

Edited by Sosaria

Usually if they have checks or stop someone or a vehicle for more thorough inspection, it means they receive insider info or a tip-off.

They don't anyhow 24/7 check every single person thoroughly. Even the dog will quit!

So it's a runner's luck whether or not his mission has been compromised.

That's my point, as long as they don't do a thorough check 100% of the time, what deterrence are they talking about. Hard drugs can still be bought on the streets and in night clubs etc so what deterrence? If they want to impose capital punishment, I think those pushing drugs in vice joints should get the capital punishment as well, not just traffickers. Otherwise a law that harshly deals with just traffickers and not the others in the syndicate is kind of lopsided and unjust. Edited by LPPL

That's my point, as long as they don't do a thorough check 100% of the time, what deterrence are they talking about. Hard drugs can still be bought on the streets and in night clubs etc so what deterrence? If they want to impose capital punishment, I think those pushing drugs in vice joints should get the capital punishment as well, not just traffickers. Otherwise a law that harshly deals with just traffickers and not the others in the syndicate is kind of lopsided and unjust.

As long as you possess more than weight, you will be dead, not necessarily the trafficker. If the law dun give a hoot who and why, just hang them so, I think anyone who wish to take the risk will think hard.

Moreover we are not in position to nail the up stream of the syndicate, so no need to waste resource to catch the big fish.

As long as you possess more than weight, you will be dead, not necessarily the trafficker. If the law dun give a hoot who and why, just hang them so, I think anyone who wish to take the risk will think hard.

Moreover we are not in position to nail the up stream of the syndicate, so no need to waste resource to catch the big fish.

If people can think, there will be no crime. If people can think nobody would buy cigarettes as well. Not to mention, all the anti smoking campaign and people still puff their way to cancer. I think laws are created to punish offenders according to the seriousness of the offense at the point of committing the offense and should not be looking at future causation. No point saying so much heroin can cause so many people to get addicted in future so we should have a deterrent sentence, coz people can get addicted to all kinds of shit that can be bought off the counter, not necessarily hard drugs. Heroin is undeniably potent but if you pop 50 panadols into your system, it can also kill you.