Why do we need 3 or 4 categories of COE when they are same?

Duk33d

The recent improvised COE cats, all same price, takes a genius to figure that out... :D

The best solution to your traffic problem or the best tweak to the previous coe formula is to have the same coe price for all categories.. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

This to due to the economic law of convergence, where it states that the optimum coe prices must converge for all 4 wheeled motor vehicles in the long run.

CAT A Car (1600cc & below) & Taxi [View Past CAT A Results]

Quota Premium Change Prevailing Quota Premium Quota Bids Received

$62,497

Up $1,468

$81,237 333 993

CAT B Car (Above 1600cc) [View Past CAT B Results]

$62,000

Down $5,010

$84,879 310 683

CAT C Goods Vehicle & Bus [View Past CAT C Results]

$58,502

Up $2,491

$55,590 225 354

CAT E Open [View Past CAT E Results]

$62,000

Down $4,989

- 240 421

Edited by Duk33d

The recent improvised COE cats, all same price, takes a genius to figure that out... :D

The best solution to your traffic problem or the best tweak to the previous coe formula is to have the same coe price for all categories.. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

This to due to the economic law of convergence, where it states that the optimum coe prices must converge for all 4 wheeled motor vehicles in the long run.

$62,497

Up $1,468

$81,237 333 993

$62,000

Down $5,010

$84,879 310 683

$58,502

Up $2,491

$55,590 225 354

$62,000

Down $4,989

- 240 421

Strange that this question was not popped when Cat A was substantially lower than Cat B. -_-

The best solution to your traffic problem or the best tweak to the previous coe formula is to have the same coe price for all categories.. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

$62,497

Up $1,468

$81,237 333 993

$62,000

Down $5,010

$84,879 310 683

$58,502

Up $2,491

$55,590 225 354

$62,000

Down $4,989

- 240 421

These is all about revenues...If they are really serious about solving traffic problems...reduce the number of COE issue out.. I am c*ck sure

is very effective but miw won't do it

These is all about revenues...If they are really serious about solving traffic problems...reduce the number of COE issue out.. I am c*ck sure

is very effective but miw won't do it

Are u kidding?? If they didn't reduce the quota of COE, why did COE go from $20k in 2008 to $90k last year?

For profit..... if they can they want additional category to the COE....

1.4 and below

1.4-1.8

1.8-2.4

2.4 and above....

HUAT ah~!

For profit..... if they can they want additional category to the COE....

1.4 and below

1.4-1.8

1.8-2.4

2.4 and above....

HUAT ah~!

1.4 and below.. if more ex.. VW tio liao.. [rolleyes][laugh]

depends on the orders for each Cat also. Let it be bah. Let the consumers decide. If Cat B is much lower, no prize for guessing what happens next.

Are u kidding?? If they didn't reduce the quota of COE, why did COE go from $20k in 2008 to $90k last year?

.... what I refer to is reduce the number of COE issue out constantly...whether the $$ is up or down,...surely the traffic problems will be solved...now we

have almost 1 mils..be it cars, lorries, vans, truck, motorcycles & buses

$62,497

Up $1,468

$81,237 333 993

$62,000

Down $5,010

$84,879 310 683

$58,502

Up $2,491

$55,590 225 354

$62,000

Down $4,989

- 240 421

I am not sure on the law of convergence....would it be that basing on the way we get the finalised COE number....(lowest of the bidder in the bucket), that if we combine all the COE together, the base will be alot more, which would lower the COE confirmed price?.

when you combine, the rich would overwhelm the market. Having more than one category, say Cat A may result in the poorer ones competing against each other and could possibly result in COEs that are higher than Cat B.

Any idea whether in near future, govt going to revise the COE categories?

u thinkin there're high officials in this forum?