University degree not VITAL for success!

If my child doesn’t like to study... I’ll tell them don’t worry about not having a Master’s Degree.. just stop at Bachelor degree will do. It’s ok one

The thing with the ang mos is they can have very practical hands on bottom up experience.

So their knowledge and ability is real kong fu back by long service. The hands on on folks very respected.

Unlike here where getting your hands dirty is almost a sin for a manager.

It depends on the job. To build the experience, one needs to be committed to the career, relatively long service at least in the first job. Nowadays young people here, in the first place, shun engineering and other difficult jobs, then tend to job hop a lot. Coupled with no degree , I think is a formula for unemployment.

And it's a sign in some developed countries. 

So the question is:

Would you let yourself or your child to stop upgrading themselves and further their studies to get a degree?

Let's say if finance and learning attitude is not a problem.

in the society today, minimally a bachelor degree ba... depends on their interest also...

if finance and learning attitude is not a problem, then what are the factors to stop the kid from getting a degree? family issues?

in the society today, minimally a bachelor degree ba... depends on their interest also...

if finance and learning attitude is not a problem, then what are the factors to stop the kid from getting a degree? family issues?

Government encourage people not to have degree mah...

I see the job market, I pity the current generation.

They want degree, they are encourage not to, make no mistake the uni will follow govt and tighten... But still foc for the foreigners.

When they come out to work,

Find out no degree no talk.

Even got degree, flooded with foreign degree holders..

This just says to them, you better find other ways, how to get them to commit long term when they see no reasonable future returns? Can call them strawberry, but they have it harder.

And btw.. I would not encourage my kids to enter engineering either.. And I am in engineering.. flooded with fts

Edited by Playtime

I see the job market, I pity the current generation.

They want degree, they are encourage not to, make no mistake the uni will follow govt and tighten... But still foc for the foreigners.

When they come out to work,

Find out no degree no talk.

Even got degree, flooded with foreign degree holders..

This just says to them, you better find other ways, how to get them to commit long term when they see no reasonable future returns? Can call them strawberry, but they have it harder.

And btw.. I would not encourage my kids to enter engineering either.. And I am in engineering.. flooded with fts

bobian... many locals dont want to be engineers, even if they may have eng degrees...

Sad to say, I think most are not "hungry". Compare to our situation earlier. For such jobs, the rewards are at the end when you chart your career well and are rewarded for your expertise.

But when you start out, the pay is usually pretty low for a few years, as trainee or whatever. For our generation of "uncles", even with such conditions, it was a step up from our parents' careers, and society's expectations were such that kids, especially sons, become independent when education is complete. So we can bear with it and are now reaping the rewards. Nowadays, govt label this as "resilience" and have to specially send students to OBS to learn this [laugh]

Many strawberries nowadays their parents are white collar professionals, able to give them comfy life. Makes them less inclined to go this route. There's just no drive to work hard.

Not just engineering, even for medical and law grads, with lucrative future career, but you notice louder complaints these days about the terrible hours when first starting out.

Strawberry wants fast results with little effort. Like those slimming programs that promise results in weeks with no exercise! How can?

Edited by Sosaria

Strawberry wants fast results with little effort. Like those slimming programs that promise results in weeks with no exercise! How can?

strawberry generations nowadays want 5k starting pay, managerial position, work life balance, no OT no stress, no hands-on dirty work, annual 100k by age 30 :D

Government encourage ......

In business. My ROI must be as large as possible.

Disposable is the route to go.

Plus helps the business people to get goodwill where they go when they wear the FT hat.

I sayang sayang your people and help you with your people problem. So easier to get the deal. Some lesser people has to sacrifice, willingly or not.

Its the same for any society. PW my rear end.

Due to past experience, an apology that leaves me scratching my head usually means a raw deal without my knowledge or consent has been done.

It meant that i was not smart enough to protect myself and the person apologizing realises it and is very sad that this has happened. They have to makan the naive because they need to get what they want to get. An objective or result.

And the apology serves for their clemency in the future as they understand there will be an accounting. Or that after they are gone a sweet for the bitterness.

And i read so many misdiagnosis because of patriachial attitude.

Do you know why medicine training takes so long and is tekan in nature?

How does the Durian feel when they become the coconut? As the coconut is the true form in their evolution. Painful with the grinding off the thorns.

Have a good sunday.

How to?

You are competing with Indian, prc, pinoys...

Can you honestly compete with their minimum pay? You have bachelor, they produce Masters.. but still cheaper than u.

The industry have been hollowed out of locals by unequal cost structure of citizens vs fts.

Over the years I have seen the entire IT sector dominated by Indians and pinoys.. not in a good way either as many are NATO.

I hear banking is now little India.

Telecoms is pretty much prc.

New job seekers are having a hard time.. i suspect established workers have no idea what's it's like, if it's that easy, the retrenched folks will have no problem. Only when they go be taxi drivers than they admit.. are themselves strawberry?

How to?

You are competing with Indian, prc, pinoys...

Can you honestly compete with their minimum pay? You have bachelor, they produce Masters.. but still cheaper than u.

The industry have been hollowed out of locals by unequal cost structure of citizens vs fts.

Over the years I have seen the entire IT sector dominated by Indians and pinoys.. not in a good way either as many are NATO.

I hear banking is now little India.

Telecoms is pretty much prc.

New job seekers are having a hard time.. i suspect established workers have no idea what's it's like, if it's that easy, the retrenched folks will have no problem. Only when they go be taxi drivers than they admit.. are themselves strawberry?

There are many jobs requiring specialised technical skills now. Industry have to hire locals but difficult to find. These jobs require commitment and fairly long apprenticeship period while training and getting the required certifications. Big rewards eventually but still many strawberries shun these positions. Scared of the commitment usually, unsure whether the job is right for them. Last time we don't have this luxury, that's the diff. Just take the job first. We are established now but also started up from scratch.

It's not just pte sector jobs, even in public sector which only open to SC and PR, heard from frens that attitude of younger entrants are lacking, easily stressed out and quit. Who wouldn't, if still no family to feed and have parents providing room and board. It's like unemployment welfare schemes!

Edited by Sosaria

strawberry generations nowadays want 5k starting pay, managerial position, work life balance, no OT no stress, no hands-on dirty work, annual 100k by age 30 :D

Its not only the strawberry gen that wants this.

Its the parents of the strawberry gen that want

their kids to have this too. That's why they send

their kids to extra tuition classes etc.

I am glad to say I am not like this at all.

These standards are just too low for me

and  I want my kids to be minsters by the

time they are 30. I think too many parents

are setting their sights too low. [smash]

There are many jobs requiring specialised technical skills now. Industry have to hire locals but difficult to find. These jobs require commitment and fairly long apprenticeship period while training and getting the required certifications. Big rewards eventually but still many strawberries shun these positions. Scared of the commitment usually, unsure whether the job is right for them. Last time we don't have this luxury, that's the diff. Just take the job first. We are established now but also started up from scratch.

It's not just pte sector jobs, even in public sector which only open to SC and PR, heard from frens that attitude of younger entrants are lacking, easily stressed out and quit. Who wouldn't, if still no family to feed and have parents providing room and board. It's like unemployment welfare schemes!

Extremes of applicants will exist.

The job/education market is a different thing.

If people see little advancement chances, and high opportunity cost, they will go.. same for fts... That's the only reason they are here, yet we only pick on our new entrants.

One cannot pick extreme applicants and ignore the realities of the labor market.

The govt is prata maximum now.

Do not compare with older time.

Just take the 90s.

Have wages kept Pace with just housing?

The so called strawberries can easily say :"u old buggers had it easy.. talk so much u come walk in my shoes lor.."

The older retrenched ones will surely sing a different tune.

Its not only the strawberry gen that wants this.

Its the parents of the strawberry gen that want

their kids to have this too. That's why they send

their kids to extra tuition classes etc.

I am glad to say I am not like this at all.

These standards are just too low for me

and I want my kids to be minsters by the

time they are 30. I think too many parents

are setting their sights too low. [smash]

A minister recently lectured people about resilience and enduring hardship.

He said he lost an election in Al junied (knn only a minor grc parachute member)..

Then waited 5 years.. knn again then parachute in Amk grc.

Again knn never mention the 5 years waiting had golden cushion job lined up for him.

Edited by Playtime

A minister recently lectured people about resilience and enduring hardship.

He said he lost an election in Al junied (knn only a minor grc parachute member)..

Then waited 5 years.. knn again then parachute in Amk grc.

Again knn never mention the 5 years waiting had golden cushion job lined up for him.

I agree with him.

That's what I want for my kids too.

resilience and enduring hardship.  [thumbsup] 

Yes, agree, there are good paying jobs that does not require a degree.

I have friends who are in such jobs

Usually the path of these jobs are tough and rewards are little during training phase. But once attain the actual vocational/professional level, the rewards become very good.

These are some of the jobs that does not require a university degree.

1) Military Pilots

The route to become one is tough and very stringent, emphasis is pyschomotor skill sets and good mental capacity. Take 2.5 years or more to get the wings.

2) Commercial pilot

Similar to military pilot.

3) Marine navigator

Long voyage that last months away from home. But good 5 digit salary for poly grad.

4) Insurance agents

Needs professional certification.

The question is how many are really able to enter such vocations?

My peers and me who didn't managed to continue the military pilot route,

All continued to get a business degree to join the corporate world

Except one who join commercial pilot after getting his degree.

Even those still in the military.

Majority also took degree when their performance allow them to get study awards. That was to help their career advancement.

Those who didn't get degree, opt to join commercial airlines. But to get ATPL is not that easy too.

Getting a degree is not a sure route to success, but it's a good entry measure to enter corporate world.

Yes many strawberries had the mindset getting a degree entitles them to success the moment they get the 1st job.