Kids GPS Tracker

Extremme

Hi, I am thinking of investing in a Kids GPS tracker. I was searching around and it seems most of which needs a sim card. As I travel alot with my kids, I am worried about the autoroam charges.

Hence I am keen in those that do not need a sim card but rather just a GPS system. Thus far I manage to find one which is affordable and has a per use charge.

http://www.gpsmagazine.com/2010/08/best_bu...hp#.UZb7jqPmjFo

Anyone has invested in a good and affordable Kids tracker device to recommend? Thks

Hi, I am thinking of investing in a Kids GPS tracker. I was searching around and it seems most of which needs a sim card. As I travel alot with my kids, I am worried about the autoroam charges.

Hence I am keen in those that do not need a sim card but rather just a GPS system. Thus far I manage to find one which is affordable and has a per use charge.

Anyone has invested in a good and affordable Kids tracker device to recommend? Thks

amazon has alot

I wanted to buy those without the need to use sim card. Maybe like the link I attached. Based on per use or monthly subscription.

gps tracker need some way to comm with the main server or monitoring party, typically using cellular ie sim card lah.....

the model that you linked is used in usa only, cause they are also using one of the usa cellphone carrier....

there are two parts to this type of device.. the gps receiver portion that pinpoints the device location by receiving signals from satellites.... n the transmitter portion using a simcard (on gsm network)

its like asking for a device that u can type a document n print but u dun wan the printer...

its been 3 years ... so anyone has a good recommendation for a personal gps tracker ?

my boy just entered nursery this year and the school will bring them outside for trips so I want to get a reliable tracker to put on him for safety.

any recommendation ? something small like a keychain would be better so can just hook it on his uniform.

sim card ones is ok ... since i'll be getting a prepaid card ... and the data consumption is very little.

Edited by Ysc3

its been 3 years ... so anyone has a good recommendation for a personal gps tracker ?

my boy just entered nursery this year and the school will bring them outside for trips so I want to get a reliable tracker to put on him for safety.

any recommendation ? something small like a keychain would be better so can just hook it on his uniform.

sim card ones is ok ... since i'll be getting a prepaid card ... and the data consumption is very little.

never use it before but this one should be small enough. i maintain my wife google account in my phone and turn on her google timeline, can always see where she go   [sly]

http://www.lazada.sg/tk102b-car-vehicle-gps-gsm-gprs-tracker-with-sos-over-speed-alarmblack-8714771.html

Buy from Qoo10 or Aliexpress.. those colorful tracker watch (3G) that he can wear all the time.. no point keychain type as u not tracking his bag but the kid himself.

Take note buy those 3G type and not Edge or GSM (2G) type as SG on 1 Apr will shut down 2G network..

Cost abt 30+ sgd..

Buy from Qoo10 or Aliexpress.. those colorful tracker watch (3G) that he can wear all the time.. no point keychain type as u not tracking his bag but the kid himself.

Take note buy those 3G type and not Edge or GSM (2G) type as SG on 1 Apr will shut down 2G network..

Cost abt 30+ sgd..

been there ... the $30 ones are the 2G models ... the 3G models are about $80.

children are sometimes very irritated by the things they wear ... so I was thinking of a keychain instead of a watch so maybe I can clip it onto his uniform instead of making him wear it on his wrist.

never use it before but this one should be small enough. i maintain my wife google account in my phone and turn on her google timeline, can always see where she go   [sly]

http://www.lazada.sg/tk102b-car-vehicle-gps-gsm-gprs-tracker-with-sos-over-speed-alarmblack-8714771.html

so does it come with proprietary app to view the map ? and real time or only timeline ?

Back in the '70s long long ago, I have seen in shopping arcades/pasar malams, adults using raffia string.

been there ... the $30 ones are the 2G models ... the 3G models are about $80.

children are sometimes very irritated by the things they wear ... so I was thinking of a keychain instead of a watch so maybe I can clip it onto his uniform instead of making him wear it on his wrist.

so does it come with proprietary app to view the map ? and real time or only timeline ?

Get the 3G models since 2G are no longer in service by telco. And 3G have better tracking performance than 2G network.

Spec says 2G+... Singapore cannot use

Cannot be leh. It is working leh. I am using it right now.

I put it in my car and can track where my car is. See attached screenshot of my activity this morning. No more 2G network liao right? But it is still working.

post-2654-0-73884000-1491351309_thumb.jpg

Cannot be leh. It is working leh. I am using it right now.

I put it in my car and can track where my car is. See attached screenshot of my activity this morning. No more 2G network liao right? But it is still working.

Screenshot_GPS tracker history.jpg

Don't know also. Maybe spec is wrong. Then good lor.