Gordon Ramsay to Char Kway Teow!!

Jman888

Is it fair to call for the challenge if Gordon has not even tasted the dish let alone understand the taste bug of the asian? If he come out with an ang mo style Char kway teow, people won't say it is nice.

i dun really fancy this celebrity infamous chef, but to call for such challenge doesn't make sense.

By the way is Hill Street CKT really that good, i still prefer Penang style.

SingTel and food bloggers issue challenge to Gordon Ramsay

by inSing.com Editor

inSing.com - 5 June 2013 10:12 AM | Updated 20 hours ago

Will British chef Gordon Ramsay's cooking skills trump those of a Singapore hawker?

At 10am on 5 June, a challenge was issued to Ramsay by Singapore's more popular food bloggers. With the support of SingTel, they have asked the most (in)famous awardee of Michelin stars to engage in a cook-off with the country's most popular hawker.

Daniel Ang of Daniel's Food Diary asked on his blog: "So Dr Leslie Tay asked if a Michelin star chef like Gordon Ramsay can fry a plate of char kway teow as good as Hill Street

Can be done it the name of fun. Just like the show Throwdown! with Bobby Flay, where he challenges other cook who are well known for only one type of dish, and it's done is a fun way.

Gordon Ramsay, are you ready for a Throwdown!?

Gordon can be anything but fun [laugh] [laugh]

Can be done it the name of fun. Just like the show Throwdown! with Bobby Flay, where he challenges other cook who are well known for only one type of dish, and it's done is a fun way.

Gordon Ramsay, are you ready for a Throwdown!?

Gordon Ramsey's well travelled...who knows he tried the dish it already...maybe he even tried "re-making" the dish on his own style...without the vulgarities you normally see on his shows [:p]

I saw Anthony Bordain a few times featuring asian food stuff also...

I dont know which is the real Hill Street CKT. But the CKT at Hill Street food centre which I had in the 90's was fantastic. [thumbsup] It was at the ground floor, third stall from the left most corner. Next to a drink stall selling soya bean/glass jelly drink.

Hill Street food centre no more liao. It was torn down. It was next to the Central Fire Station, Opp Funan Centre with a link bridge on level two to the food centre. Its an empty field now.

Then I went on to the CKT at Whampoa Market, cooked by a mother n son. But when Whampoa Market had reno, they quit. The mother always give me more kuay teow.

Then I went on to the CKT at Hong Lim Market, cooked by a old auntie. But when Hong Lim Market had reno, she quit too.

So now patronise the CKT at Army Market basement, cooked by old man with wife helping. They were on Tuesday Report programme before. Apparently his son-in-law will be taking over. His son-in-law is a grad. Old man CKT is like Penang type. Not black black one. Very tasty. Once a month, I have it.

Is it fair to call for the challenge if Gordon has not even tasted the dish let alone understand the taste bug of the asian? If he come out with an ang mo style Char kway teow, people won't say it is nice.

i dun really fancy this celebrity infamous chef, but to call for such challenge doesn't make sense.

Personally, I also think it's apples and oranges comparison. A westerner's taste buds and judgement of a local dish would obviously differ from our own. But all done in the name of good fun with the results meaningless - it should be okay.

I also prefer the Penang style char koay teow, cooked in Penang, which is very hard to find it perfectly replicated here.

yes that was the one i remember too which i had it a few time, but it is kind of sweet and wet, not to my liking.

but if compare to the similar style elsewhere, it was better than the other.

I dont know which is the real Hill Street CKT. But the CKT at Hill Street food centre which I had in the 90's was fantastic. [thumbsup] It was at the ground floor, third stall from the left most corner. Next to a drink stall selling soya bean/glass jelly drink.

Hill Street food centre no more liao. It was torn down. It was next to the Central Fire Station, Opp Funan Centre with a link bridge on level two to the food centre. Its an empty field now.

Wasn't there a show where he did something like that? Challenge another country's local cook?

Ramsay rocks la...

it's not really a challenge if Singtel is involved... it's a paid ad...

Edited by Mockngbrd

it is part of the publicity to promote local hawker food <_< if Gordon won, mean you will find more FT selling hawker food in the food court? :huh:

Wasn't there a show where he did something like that? Challenge another country's local cook?

Ramsay rocks la...

it's not really a challenge if Singtel is involved... it's a paid ad...

Edited by Jman888

yes that was the one i remember too which i had it a few time, but it is kind of sweet and wet, not to my liking.

but if compare to the similar style elsewhere, it was better than the other.

Ya, it was sweet. Thatz wat attracted me to his CKT. [laugh]

Both local CKT and Penang CKT, I also like. But I dont like the CKT wif lots of vege at level 1 of Army Market. Yucks!!! I prefer the proper CKT not some fake healthy eating CKT. <_<

last time my American colleague was on business trip to Singapore. when I was back subsequently in the usa office for the business trip, heard them joked about how pitiful this American colleague was, trying to look for burgers to eat, when he was in Singapore.

I kind of felt my country being insulted by them. I don't think it is that difficult to find burgers in orchard road,unless he has got a unique American brand of burger he wanted.

in addition, we have so many choices of nice food in Singapore, I don't really see how a burger can measure up to these choices. I can only say their taste buds are just stubborn.

I can imagine how it will go...

Gorden : How hard can it be to stir fry some f***ing kway teow ?

You pour some F***ing oil into the hot wok, throw in the F***ing aromatics...then some F***ing soy sauce...the F***ing lupcheong...add F***ing bean sprouts...this is how you cook this F***ing dish !!

Many years ago maybe it was true not many 'real burger joints here, i believe they dun see McD or BK is selling what they call a real burger.

Not all ang mo are well traveled, and use to food other than what they have in their country. My ang mo ex-colleague also cannot take local food after staying for 4 years, insist of having salad and sandwich for lunch.

last time my American colleague was on business trip to Singapore. when I was back subsequently in the usa office for the business trip, heard them joked about how pitiful this American colleague was, trying to look for burgers to eat, when he was in Singapore.

I kind of felt my country being insulted by them. I don't think it is that difficult to find burgers in orchard road,unless he has got a unique American brand of burger he wanted.

in addition, we have so many choices of nice food in Singapore, I don't really see how a burger can measure up to these choices. I can only say their taste buds are just stubborn.

Edited by Jman888

You pour some F***ing oil into the hot wok, throw in the F***ing aromatics...then some F***ing soy sauce...the F***ing lupcheong...add F***ing bean sprouts...this is how you cook this F***ing dish !!

i aint know who Gorden is

but if he is doing all the farking on tv

i sure be watching his show!!!!!! :wub::wub::wub:

we won't be hearing that, replace the f**king with censor beep :D

Many years ago maybe it was true not many 'real burger joints here, i believe they dun see McD or BK is selling what they call a real burger.

Not all ang mo are well traveled, and use to food other than what they have in their country. My ang mo ex-colleague also cannot take local food after staying for 4 years, insist of having salad and sandwich for lunch.

I did hear about this comment before that McD or BK is not viewed as real burger in some American eyes. I always wonder how different can they be since they are also American brands. I have taken other American burgers in usa as well......they are more like Carls Junior but I don't really feel it is very much different.

I find American ang mo quite walled up where food is concerned. my Czech colleague enjoys all the spicy stuff we take in Singapore, including indian curry and prata