Private settlement - what to ask for

SLSAMG88

Got into an accident this morning with a lorry - his fault, minor scrape on the side of my car - he wants to settle privately - question is - can a lorry driver afford it?

I'm assuming he thinks he just needs to pay for the dent - which will be like $400 - $500 - but my previous experience when I claimed the other guy's insurance - also need to factor in car rental for two or three days while car is in workshop - which could amount to $1000 (I don't know what the going rate is for car rentals) - so all up might be $1500...not sure if lorry driver can afford this.

Should I just go the insurance route?

Private settlement is all about settling for a decent amount to repair the damage. It does not factor in rental of replacement car la.

People choose this route so that it will not affect your next insurance renewal.

Just settle for a honest figure and not carrot a lorry driver.

What goes around come around

What MLS said is right, private settlement mean getting a decent amount to repair the car. If you want to claim loss of use, medical fee, repair cost, etc...you are better off claiming his insurance since you are worried he might not have the money.

Edited by Fcw75

I did a private settlement recently. You should draft an agreement for both parties to sign and for the other party to agree not to make any claim against you. suggested settlement agreement below:-

Date: 11 June 2013

This settlement agreement is made between XXXX (I/C number: ) and YYYY (I/C number: ).

In consideration of the sum of S$______________ paid in cash by XXXX to YYYY agrees that the sum paid above shall constitute full and final settlement of the accident damages to his car SXX1234 on 11 June 2013 and YYYY agrees not to make any insurance claim against XXXX.

Signed: ______________________

XXXX

Signed:________________________

YYYY

My insurance company asked for proof before they refunded my premium as I changed car recently. But be careful as some people later twist and turn and say that you may have banged them and then refuse to settle. If no one is hurt, police will not intervene and it will be your word against his word.

Private settlement is all about settling for a decent amount to repair the damage. It does not factor in rental of replacement car la.

People choose this route so that it will not affect your next insurance renewal.

Just settle for a honest figure and not carrot a lorry driver.

Ok - thanks for that - will just go thru insurance then - I needs a car!

Got into an accident this morning with a lorry - his fault, minor scrape on the side of my car - he wants to settle privately - question is - can a lorry driver afford it?

I'm assuming he thinks he just needs to pay for the dent - which will be like $400 - $500 - but my previous experience when I claimed the other guy's insurance - also need to factor in car rental for two or three days while car is in workshop - which could amount to $1000 (I don't know what the going rate is for car rentals) - so all up might be $1500...not sure if lorry driver can afford this.

Should I just go the insurance route?

for commercial vehicle, just claim insurance lah, no need the driver ( probably just an employee ) to bear the cost?

fyi, last year my bil kana bang by a cement mixer

i took 400 from him after bargaining from 500

the driver of cement truck thank me so much

saying if really go insurance route

his boss is asking him to -1000 from his pay

just claim insurance. what is so difficult nowadays. if the bugger in the wrong why dont claim his insurance? wack gao gao take courtesy car. afterall is claiming for 3rd party and will not effect your NCB.

It's very simple. If driver at fault is keen to private settle, then just settle for amount and move on. Give some leeway since we seldom see such kind of drivers anyway.

It's just incorrect to go for insurance route since we all know the claim will be inflated. We never know when Karma comes knocking.

just claim insurance. what is so difficult nowadays. if the bugger in the wrong why dont claim his insurance? wack gao gao take courtesy car. afterall is claiming for 3rd party and will not effect your NCB.

Thanks to people like you and you have no shame to say wack gao gao. <_<

Then all premiums will increase if all other accidents claims wack gao gao.

wait till pple claim you bro

some pple really have to claim gao gao

some if they come down plead for easier way, there should be some leeway

i met pple ask me pte settle, i oso plaed for pple pte settle

once, my younger sis damn wrong, i called that other party straight

he was so steady till say he go home polish it off

i wanted to respray for him i told him

sg still has nice pple around

I have no intention to wack gao gao! But I do need a car - the other alternative is to just take the money and not repair, it's a long scratch + dent - I can live with that, I'm not so in love with my car that my "heart pain"...

7m6kxuK.jpg

What do you think MCF "bros"?

I have no intention to wack gao gao! But I do need a car - the other alternative is to just take the money and not repair, it's a long scratch + dent - I can live with that, I'm not so in love with my car that my "heart pain"...

that time i kena one a-----e. about same as yours. die die only willing settle for 1.5k. end up i also lan lan pay up. haiz.

that's the reality of life in sg.

that time i kena one a-----e. about same as yours. die die only willing settle for 1.5k. end up i also lan lan pay up. haiz.

that's the reality of life in sg.

My skin is not so thick that I can do that to a lorry driver - my uncle is one, hard worker, nice guy, drives like your typical lorry driver though (ie. sh1t!) - I'm so conflicted!

But in your case - 1.5k - isn't that more than your insurance premium?

Actually you already have the answer and it is in your reply.