Ron97 in Malaysia - Common ?

Mjklbkldl

Hi there,

I am planning to drive my car into Malaysia and she only takes 98ron.

Believe 97ron should be acceptable, but will this grade be found in most petrol stations (Shell/Exxon/PETRONAS etc) along the north-south highway as well as in the cities ?

Many thanks for advice as I am not well versed with Malaysia petrol scene.

Edited by Mjklbkldl

Stations on NSH will have 97. In the bigger towns you should be able to at least one station with 97, especially if it's a new-ish one. That being said, even around KL i sometimes have to try different stations because some of them only have up to 95. Not really an issue but try not let yourself get into a situation where you're running on fumes and hunting for a station with 97, better to top up when you're down to a third or a quarter tank.

Got it. Many thanks.

Will octane boosters help if I have to take in 95ron ? Any brands to recommend? May like to just standby a bottle to complement a tank of 95 if absolutely required.

cheers !

Whether you're newbies or veteran , driving into JB have few checklist/s to follow;

A) Do give way to traffic and observe traffic sign and rules/ if make a mistake, wave hands to say Sorry or Thumb-up sign ."

B) Open your eyes big big and display parking coupon, buy form Mama shop.

C) Follow your noise- if you see Sinkies car topping up petrol, follow suit, canpt go wrong, if in doubt, juz open your mouth and ask.

D) Say " Thank U " and Smile.

Dun drive recklessly, and do not speed.

Happy driving !!

p/s: Make sure you change RM in woodlands and top up malaysia ' Touch&go card' for faster access.

Got it. Many thanks.

Will octane boosters help if I have to take in 95ron ? Any brands to recommend? May like to just standby a bottle to complement a tank of 95 if absolutely required.

cheers !

most off-the-shelf boosters will not boost one tank (50L?) of Ron95 to become Ron98. Check each individual product for it's "concentration" then do the math.

IMO, much easier to:

1) start looking for petrol station when near 1/3 or 1/4 tank left (as mentioned by previous poster)

2) if really no choice but to pump 95 when 97 is unavailable (assuming they allow u to pump 95), i would pump 15-20L of 95 and limit to low throttle while looking for another station to pump 97. Happened to me once in the middle of the night along NSHY (went to next R&R abt 30-50km away), as well as when i was driving in Indonesia (i went to three different stations to look for Pertamax Plus but all sold out. only Pertamax available. In the end i found it at the 4th station [bigcry] ). If low throttle and keep rpm low (perhaps 3k and below?), shld be fine (since the 95 is mixed with remaining 97/98 in the tank)

really depends on your ride and how it was tuned. For example, if your ride is tuned aggressively on 98 then u may wanna take more precautions. Usual disclaimers apply.

Got it. Many thanks.

cheers !

What car u drive that needs 98 RON? Is it a turbo car?

If it is...u dun need to pump 98RON if u drive normally n dun push to max as 98 RON only if yr turbo on full boost.

I doubt u can get 95RON as its only allowed fr Msian cars n motorcycles. SG cars must pump 97RON.

Edited by Pisces69

Got it. Many thanks.

cheers !

Most Octane Booster,up 10 points,[not 10 octane]which is just 1 octane when mixed with 50 litres of petrol.

Edited by ER-3682

Yeah like what John says, worst case just pump a little bit of 95 in the tank and go easy until you find a station with 97.

If you are using iPhone, you can download the Caltex app which will show you the stations in Sg, Malaysia and I think Thailand. Hope it will help in route planning on where to stop for fuel.

Hi there,

I am planning to drive my car into Malaysia and she only takes 98ron.

Believe 97ron should be acceptable, but will this grade be found in most petrol stations (Shell/Exxon/PETRONAS etc) along the north-south highway as well as in the cities ?

Many thanks for advice as I am not well versed with Malaysia petrol scene.

my previous car and current car takes only 97 only....

so far no issues on availablity of petrol on NSH... the only problem where i cannot really find ron 97 is cameron highlands. genting has one at bottom of hill

sometimes if really no choice just pump whenever oct u can find. almost if they saw it, just know what to do la [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Rezorn86

Got it. Many thanks.

cheers !

If you are really limping...and cannot find 97...just top up a little like 10L for you to limp further...dun high rev the car...keep your rev low to prevent knocking...and hor...you cannot pump 95 for SG plate cars...so you better take advise from people here...when you are down to 1/4 tank...start looking for petrol station !! hahahahaha....

No lah...unless you driving to ulu ulu places...most of the station would have at least one pump that sells 97. Very rare that you will come across stations that sells only 95 if you are talking about driving along the NSH...but if you venture side way to the western states...that one I dunno...only drove there less than 5 times.

sometimes if really no choice just pump whenever oct u can find. almost if they saw it, just know what to do la [laugh] [laugh]

Problem is my car needs ron97...

r we allowed to pump 95 in malaysia now? thought they have changed the regulation for sg cars?

eWe were near Labis 2 days ago. When we went to a Caltex station, all the pumps dispense 95. We asked and they said OK. We just fill the tank to the brim at only RM1.90/litre!.

What car u drive that needs 98 RON? Is it a turbo car?

If it is...u dun need to pump 98RON if u drive normally n dun push to max as 98 RON only if yr turbo on full boost.

I doubt u can get 95RON as its only allowed fr Msian cars n motorcycles. SG cars must pump 97RON.

that is what i wanted to ask too...what car only run on ron98... conti car also can take ron95 so what car need 98 only .. must be some super high end car

the way i see it is got petrol to keep the car going better than no petrol

Some tune their car to that Ron for better performance

i see i see ...but must be flexible when on long highway ... cannot die die insist on find the preferred ron until no petrol car cant move ... when that happened si mi performance also zero :D