Driverless cars: The way forward

Darthrevan

Govt will own all the driverless cars. You pay each time you use it.

The ones who lose out = Taxi drivers. [rifle]

Taxi companies win coz don't rent cars out to drivers, just buy automated cars and let them self drive the passengers, passengers pay same fare (taxi coy will say such cars expensive, but can sit one more person, so will be worth it). Higher profits = higher taxes = taxi coy win = govt win.

Why is he talking this?

I have seen this in movies.

What makes him think we don't already know?

In the movies, we have flying cars.

He's living in his own world... PM Lee, pls wake him up !

Upper pillar not straight enough, the lower beam will be crooked eventually [rolleyes]

The problem is the bottom is corroded, so upper beam cannot hold any longer . . .what do you expect ?

Of course crooked la!

The problem is the bottom is corroded, so upper beam cannot hold any longer . . .what do you expect ?

Of course crooked la!

Hey ! Brother,

Don't scares me leh, they're still holding my minimum sum lor, that is alot of monies you know, if gone with these corroded beams, then I become beggar [bigcry]

In the movies, we have flying cars.

He got the idea from back to the future movie.

What a forward looking minister.

Ei give him some credit lar.

At least he tried to be funny.

Unlike other people want to lim kopi if not happy. So scary.

who dare to issue insurance ?

who dare to sit behind the wheel with their life controlled by the gps and sensor ... ?

but again if based on the scenario like iRobot movie ... that's possible ...

in order to support driverless car ... the biggest changes is the environment and code of practice in order to support driverles

http://arabiangazette.com/google-scores-win/

unless the road is like train track ... one way and comes with many safety measures like auto brake, auto cutoff power, etc

imagine driverless at 90kmph or 110kmph at NSH ... with so many undefined and unexpected scenario with kuku driver banging you left/right/behind .... your eyes still need to be 100% on the road

CHALLENGES

The laws and regulations for driverless cars, more than the technology, is the main hinderance in its adoption.

There are several interesting questions that prop up for driverless cars. Suppose if you get in an accident while driving in auto-mode, then whose fault would it be? Will you, as the car driver, be to blame and liable or Google, who designed the system?

While it’s true that even flights now operate mostly in auto-mode and pilots perhaps take control for less than 1/10th of the journey, the scenario at the ground level is not exactly the same with so many obstructions and rules to take care of.

The integration of various technologies like GPS, radar and sensors also makes it even more critically important and allow lesser room for failure.

Tyler Cowen, an economist says: “Though the notion is scary, the benefits are potentially significant”.

However, he insists that unless the current driving codes are rewritten, which take for granted that a person is behind the wheel, we may not see many driverless vehicles on the road.

Google is betting on this technology in the hope of reaping benefits of being an early adopter, especially with this new patent under its belt.

Our government can't even get out MRT running without non-stop issues every other week! My Taiwan colleague who took the train to work thinks that how can the transport minister be around. With so much transport related issues! He would be gone, force to resign ages ago....... :angry:

Our democracy is different with them, ours is Double Standards in World Top Class. [scholar]

RpPKib2.jpg

Singapore's first driverless electric vehicle will soon hit the roads, plying a two-kilometre route between Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and JTC Corporation's CleanTech Park.

NTU's Energy Research Institute, in conjunction with JTC and vehicle manufacturer Induct, and supported by EDB, are running trials on the electric vehicle, which can seat eight passengers and have a maximum speed of 20 kilometres per hour.

The electric vehicle is already in use in the United States and Europe, but NTU is developing and testing new technologies to reduce its charging time and improve performance.

The two-year test project is the first of its kind in the region, and could be used to replace shuttle buses.

If the trials prove to be successful, the vehicle manufacturer said it may produce the driverless vehicle in Singapore and commercialise it in Asia.

Mr Pierre Lefevre, CEO of Induct Technology, said: "It's a small bus but the frequency can be higher and the price of ownership is much less than (operating a bus). If you want to run (the vehicle), it is between 30 and 50 per cent less expensive than a normal (shuttle) bus. It can be a solution in some areas."

Source: http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singa...ehicle-go-trial

Video: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=576569179075186

Edited by Darthrevan