Biz owners getting greedier or what?

Fuelsaver

1. Developers upping property price?

2. AD / PI profit margin upping?

3. Charity organization soliciting minimum amount of one off / monthly donation?

4. ...

5. ...

how long can we sustain before next econ meltdown / stagnation?

it's understandable everyone wanna make money from biz / investment, but r we not doing it at expense of future generations? I'm dummy in econ, so can smone enlighten me if i'm incorrect?

talkin about environment sustainability, does it not also apply to other stuffs?

The cost of living is so high because of property prices (read greedy property developers) and fuel costs (read greedy petrol cartels). Those are the base costs that affect everything.

How much is enough? When you have made a million bucks, one wants two million. When you have made five million, you would want ten.

To a third-party, a business owner with a yearly profit of millions is being greedy. To the business owner, millions pale next to the billions that his peers at the exclusive club make per year. Who is right and who is wrong then?

The fact is, the absolute does not matter. What matters is the relative amount. As long as there are people wealthier than you, the desire to move upwards will be there.

Until of course something major happens (terminal illness, etc) and in a moment of awakening the individual realises that the penultimate importance of money is the biggest lie that society has been telling him.

3. Charity organization soliciting minimum amount of one off / monthly donation?

4. ...

5. ...

it's understandable everyone wanna make money from biz / investment, but r we not doing it at expense of future generations? I'm dummy in econ, so can smone enlighten me if i'm incorrect?

talkin about environment sustainability, does it not also apply to other stuffs?

Agree, we can't stop the wealthy from driving the cost up (it was quite obvious and bad recently), but living within one mean can still be happy.

I had a knock at my door from a charity group last week, after explanation what the organisation is doing, i can't help them with the donation although i wanted to, i have a 2 contribution on monthly basis to other group, and the on going medical fee for my mom is my current concern so i declined. But i feel good that this person actually offering other alternatives if i need helps.

How much is enough? When you have made a million bucks, one wants two million. When you have made five million, you would want ten.

To a third-party, a business owner with a yearly profit of millions is being greedy. To the business owner, millions pale next to the billions that his peers at the exclusive club make per year. Who is right and who is wrong then?

The fact is, the absolute does not matter. What matters is the relative amount. As long as there are people wealthier than you, the desire to move upwards will be there.

Until of course something major happens (terminal illness, etc) and in a moment of awakening the individual realises that the penultimate importance of money is the biggest lie that society has been telling him.

This cost increase, that one increase...what to do? But yes, nowadays biz owners care more about profit margin than anything else. And it seems like the larger they are, the less they care about people and staff.

In life we feel that we do not have control over many things - escalating food prices, rising property prices, growing medical costs. These appear to be much larger than us and we are powerless to do anything about them.

Some become angry at the environment at large. Some give up and feel defeated. Yet there are others who can rise above the occasion in spite of their less advantageous positions.

How does this happen? The key is in not believing that one is powerless to change the "bad" things that are happening to him (or his family).

Recently I decided to lose some weight after much procastination. My health was deteriorating, plenty of wobbly bits when walking fast or climbing up stairs. For many months I had simply avoided the idea that my increasing weight was increasingly causing me problems.

One fine day four weeks ago, I sent an e-mail to AIBI and ordered a rowing machine. The saturday it arrived, I kicked myself into action and began rowing for twenty minutes that day. At the same time, I switched to a low carbo diet and cut out totally all the sugary stuff that I had been indulging in.

After four weeks, I have shed almost six kilograms and am more than three quarters way towards my ideal weight.

Looking back, I could have continued deluding myself that there was no real need for me to do anything and perhaps then end up fat and having high blood pressure.

The fact of the matter is that everyone can do something about what he or she is unhappy about, no matter how large that thing is.

My weight loss perhaps seems mundane when compared to more "serious" issues but the fundamentals of how this and everything else work are the same.

The key is asking myself "What troubles me?" and then do something about it, one way or another.

Am I unhappy at my job? If so, what makes me unhappy? Can I really not do something about it?

Am I getting peeved with my neighbours? If so, can I not throw my pride away and make the first move to reconcile and improve the relationship?

Am I feeling miserable with my spouse? If so, what is it about the relationship that is making us upset?

Take the first step and the rest of the needed steps will become more apparent.

Agree, we can't stop the wealthy from driving the cost up (it was quite obvious and bad recently), but living within one mean can still be happy.

I had a knock at my door from a charity group last week, after explanation what the organisation is doing, i can't help them with the donation although i wanted to, i have a 2 contribution on monthly basis to other group, and the on going medical fee for my mom is my current concern so i declined. But i feel good that this person actually offering other alternatives if i need helps.

1. our real economy is barely achieving positive growth

2. our economy has been over reliant on property n construction for growth last 4yrs.

3. we are largely living on household wealth increase due to property price increases.

4. with property resale prices slowing down & HDB resale index dropping, household wealth increase slowing down.

5. interest rates creeping up at d same time rents r flat lining.

Give it a few more years when d USA has fixed their economies & SIBOR normalize to long term 3-4% w drag even more income generators.

Forgot to linclude kopitiam upping prices of kopi

cinema ticks prices inching up..

medical insurance premiums increasing year after year..etc

....... :angry:

Edited by Kyrios

Forgot to linclude kopitiam upping prices of kopi

cinema ticks prices inching up..

medical insurance premiums increasing year after year..etc

....... :angry:

about kopitiam prices. I have stopped buying drinks from them. The operators have been complaining difficulty in getting staff. Funny thing is, every time when I patronise these kopitiams, one runner after another will come and hassle me to order drinks. Sometimes, the same runner can approach me a few times in a span of less than 15 minutes.

What a productive way! :wacko: But clearing and cleaning tables damn slow.

Edited by Kangadrool

In life we feel that we do not have control over many things - escalating food prices, rising property prices, growing medical costs. These appear to be much larger than us and we are powerless to do anything about them.

Some become angry at the environment at large. Some give up and feel defeated. Yet there are others who can rise above the occasion in spite of their less advantageous positions.

How does this happen? The key is in not believing that one is powerless to change the "bad" things that are happening to him (or his family).

Recently I decided to lose some weight after much procastination. My health was deteriorating, plenty of wobbly bits when walking fast or climbing up stairs. For many months I had simply avoided the idea that my increasing weight was increasingly causing me problems.

One fine day four weeks ago, I sent an e-mail to AIBI and ordered a rowing machine. The saturday it arrived, I kicked myself into action and began rowing for twenty minutes that day. At the same time, I switched to a low carbo diet and cut out totally all the sugary stuff that I had been indulging in.

After four weeks, I have shed almost six kilograms and am more than three quarters way towards my ideal weight.

Looking back, I could have continued deluding myself that there was no real need for me to do anything and perhaps then end up fat and having high blood pressure.

The fact of the matter is that everyone can do something about what he or she is unhappy about, no matter how large that thing is.

My weight loss perhaps seems mundane when compared to more "serious" issues but the fundamentals of how this and everything else work are the same.

The key is asking myself "What troubles me?" and then do something about it, one way or another.

Am I unhappy at my job? If so, what makes me unhappy? Can I really not do something about it?

Am I getting peeved with my neighbours? If so, can I not throw my pride away and make the first move to reconcile and improve the relationship?

Am I feeling miserable with my spouse? If so, what is it about the relationship that is making us upset?

Your attitude is good! Thanks for sharing.. I also need to lose weight, jog a bit, the next two - five days relax, very bad. After reading what you did, I believe I can lose some weight too.. Jia you OmOm! Hit the last one quarter.. I'll lose my weight too..

After OT: Some might think Biz owners are rising prices because they're greedy, but not all biz owners are greedy. The smaller ones are just trying to cope with rental increases and staff salaries, the large profits are taken by the bigger corporations..

This is the kind of attitude that more Singaporeans need to adopt. Change starts from oneself......Just like in this post as "Why and How onto yourself first" and things WILL change.

:o

dun know for charitable orgs ... but for businesses, its not a one man operation ... so we cant really say the "biz owner" is getting greedier ... i am very sure the general manager and manager and asst manager are also asking for a pay rise ... then the executives and ops and sales ppl are also expecting that year end bonus ... and lets not forget about the maintenance people, clerks and the receptionist - they are also hoping for an increments too.

so how many of us fall in the above employee categories ?

For any businesses, it's primary goal is always to maximise shareholders' returns in forms of either increase in share prices or dividends (for public co.) or profits for owners of private companies. And to do that, the business has to have a healthy retained profits. End of the day, owners of a business does not run the business to make losses and even for charities, unless the charity has a strong backing like the Bill Gates charity, the charity also has to ensure that it is run with minimum input that results in maximum output to ensure survivability.

Of course other stakeholders like the society and environment are important but if the business is currently running a loss, then the last thing the management would be thinking of is social or environmental responsibilities. In such a situation, suvivability of the business is the no.1 priority.

IMO, we do have a choice when making purchases, if the condo is expensive then don't buy lor, and if you can't afford to donate to certain charities because they have a minimum amount, then just donate to other charities that you can afford lor...By purchasing the condo with inflated prices, then the developer is making money from that project and will continue charging similar inflated prices for future projects. If a condo has alot of unsold units, then the developer will have to reduce prices to sell the units and would probably price future projects accordingly.