How many of you use the pulse and glide method?

Ahgong

I started a thread on the lifespan of a clutch pump in preparation for this thread.

you can read up on that here -> Clutch pump - good for how many pumps?

the main reason for asking the question on how many pumps a clutch pump is good for, because if you want to use the pulse and glide method, you will be engaging and releasing the clutch more often for a manual car.

How does the pulse and glide method work?

src: Pulse and Glide Method

let's say you're on a road where you want to go 60 km/h. Instead of driving along at a steady 60, you instead accelerate to 70 (that's the pulse), and then coast in neutral ... down to 50 (that's the glide). That's it. Rinse and repeat. And repeat. And repeat...

When i first got my car, the average FC is around 8.5-9KM/L

after i read the above, i tried it on my ride. and i was really pleased with the results!

I got an average of 10KM/L after trying the above method for one tank!

I am still in the midst of perfecting the pulse and glide, but it works! and i must say, quite wonderfully too!

imagine, i managed to squeeze a whole 15% more mileage out of my small tank!

For those who are already pulsing and gliding, do share your experience.

For those who are not, after reading this, are you going to try?

Seriously ?

yep!

no bluff you.

and i am kinda over the moon about this.

if not because of my wheels being different size on all 4 sides, i figured i would get even better FC!

waiting to get my tires changed to see if the FC will improve even better or not.

let's say you're on a road where you want to go 60 km/h. Instead of driving along at a steady 60, you instead accelerate to 70 (that's the pulse), and then coast in neutral ... down to 50 (that's the glide). That's it. Rinse and repeat. And repeat. And repeat...

not a good idea to coast in neutral...

am doing this so call pulse and glide method the first day i got my manual ride, but coast in highest or 2nd highest gear, at least u still have control in case of emergency. only coast in neutral when i know i will come to a complete standstill, like approaching traffic junction. never a big fan on cruise control, always find it burn more fuel......

but doing this will frustrate the fellow driver following behind......

i doubt this method will improve my FC, becos my car's 1st gear is far more fuel-inefficient than 2nd gear....so if i "glide", then i might be hovering at neutral or 1st gear n therefore not reap the benefit of the more efficient 2nd gear....btw, i'm assuming this method works for automatic transmission....if it's only for manual, then ignore wat i said

Edited by Timex1441

I dunno why anyone would want to have a car coasting/moving along in neutral gear. It just does not make any sense.

yep!

no bluff you.

and i am kinda over the moon about this.

if not because of my wheels being different size on all 4 sides, i figured i would get even better FC!

waiting to get my tires changed to see if the FC will improve even better or not.

ok i believe you. however, pls get the same size for all four tires, really cannot imagine having different size on all four tires !

Edited by Ingenius

So tiring just to make some small savings. Doing this to a car that average 8~9km/L? Come on lah, it dun make cents or sense. Get a small efficient car or hybrid car if you are trying to save on fuel cost.

i doubt this method will improve my FC, becos my car's 1st gear is far more fuel-inefficient than 2nd gear....so if i "glide", then i might be hovering at neutral or 1st gear n therefore not reap the benefit of the more efficient 2nd gear....btw, i'm assuming this method works for automatic transmission....if it's only for manual, then ignore wat i said

i have not tried on an auto car. but to use the method, it would mean switching between N-D often.

not something i would recommend for auto car as the constant switching may spoil the gearbox faster IMHO.

ok i believe you. however, pls get the same size for all four tires, really cannot imagine having different size on all four tires !

bo pian. stupid dealer, put the wheels different size on all 4 sides.

if i can hang him by the balls, i really would!

frigging idiot!

and all the while i tot is my wheel alignment is the one causing the problems! wasted time and money to try and align the wheels. only to discover it when i was hunting for tyres!

will be changing the tyres on my ride soon! :)

So tiring just to make some small savings. Doing this to a car that average 8~9km/L? Come on lah, it dun make cents or sense. Get a small efficient car or hybrid car if you are trying to save on fuel cost.

well, i dun find it as a tiring work, to me in fact is a form of leisure driving technique, just that i dun do the neutral part.

To u might be a small saving, to others could be a great saving as TS might need to travel at least 200km per day, but still want to enjoy this fuel guzzler as and when needed. dun flame as just giving some benefit of doubt.

before the flame starts, my FC is around 5 to 7km/l nowadays LOL~~ no intention of saving fuel as i love the thrill of speed gaining which rarely goes beyond than 120kph and perform this so call pulse and glide (in gear of course) thereafter.

It also reduces clutch pad wear...

The only time use neutral is when i reach a traffic stop or during downslope in a jam....

do it sometimes at night after 11pm when traffic is light.

got to agree it's dangerous if you need any sudden braking/acceleration.

Someone engaged neutral to slide down ecp fort road ramp. No engine brake, kiss my rear. My then expectant wife was in car with me. Lucky minor.

Car is yours to drive, but road is for all to use. Save petrol, gd for u. But drive safe.