Monthly Car Rental

Luvalive

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to rent a car on a monthly basis with my budget of $900. I will be using the car primarily on local roads and to Johor Bahru maybe once a week to makan and do some grocery shopping as well as to pump petrol and shower your car.

I am 27 this year and happily married with a daughter who is turning 1 this month. I have been driving since I was 19, cleared my theory and practical tests in one attempt and have never accumulated any demerit points nor met with any accidents. I am currently working as a Department Manager with a MNC Electrical, Electronics and Furniture retailer. My household income is about $7k/month.

The reason as to why I decide to rent a car instead of buying one is because I would like to see if my family can cope with the financial burden of having a car. Thus, the length of rental can be anything from 3 months to 1 year.

Should you rent me your car, you have my word that I will take care of your car like my own and I will never conduct any illegal activities in your car. I do not smoke and I will ensure nobody smokes in your car, I will also not ferry durians or stinky people in your car. Promise!

I am a car lover, you can trust me with your car. Really. (:

Thank you for reading, and if you can't rent me your car but happens to know of someone who can, please help to link me up! Thank you.

Benson Wong

Hi everyone,

I'm looking to rent a car on a monthly basis with my budget of $900. I will be using the car primarily on local roads and to Johor Bahru maybe once a week to makan and do some grocery shopping as well as to pump petrol and shower your car.

I am 27 this year and happily married with a daughter who is turning 1 this month. I have been driving since I was 19, cleared my theory and practical tests in one attempt and have never accumulated any demerit points nor met with any accidents. I am currently working as a Department Manager with a MNC Electrical, Electronics and Furniture retailer. My household income is about $7k/month.

The reason as to why I decide to rent a car instead of buying one is because I would like to see if my family can cope with the financial burden of having a car. Thus, the length of rental can be anything from 3 months to 1 year.

Should you rent me your car, you have my word that I will take care of your car like my own and I will never conduct any illegal activities in your car. I do not smoke and I will ensure nobody smokes in your car, I will also not ferry durians or stinky people in your car. Promise!

Thank you for reading, and if you can't rent me your car but happens to know of someone who can, please help to link me up! Thank you.

Benson Wong

cant lend you my car but I know someone who can.

Avis

you can google for the link

Edited by Moneysucker

cant lend you my car but I know someone who can.

Avis

you can google for the link

Cannot lah! Must bear in mind my small budget of $900/month! Avis I think I will need to pay $1900/month. :wacko:

Yes, you may take care of the car properly. That is a MAY. BUT why should anyone rent his car to you at half the market rate?

Maybe you can consider buying a 05 or 06 sunny. Should work out to under 6k depreciation per annum. Add in road tax and insurance, should be still within budget...the problem is that you must get a quote for your insurance, coz it might be quite ex assuming you are not yet 27 and have 0% ncd.

u promise to take care but how to keep that promise when you drive out the car from Singapore.. nothing can be assured, it is all luck (good or bad)

That's one of the strangest reason I have heard for renting a car.

Every month you just need to put aside $900 plus parking and petrol from your salary directly into your own bank account and don't spend it.

That will be enough to let you simulate the financial burden of having a car.

I don't think you will find any taker.

My ex-boss stationed long term in Europe parked his car in the car park as nobody else is driving it. One of my colleagues will drive it out once in a blue moon to run the engine as he has his own car.

Even that is the case, I think he would rather let the car rot in the car park than renting it out for 900 bucks a month. -_-

Hi everyone,

Benson Wong

dept head in mnc only 7k a month? so low ah? what kind of lousy mnc isit?

Cannot lah! Must bear in mind my small budget of $900/month! Avis I think I will need to pay $1900/month. :wacko:

It's very hard to find proper rental for $900/month. Proper car rental companies generally rent out at $1000+ even for basic cars, due to higher insurance costs and all. But you don't need to pay $1900 to rent from the more expensive companies like Avis, there are other companies that rent budget cars at $1100 to $1200/month, which is only 200 or 300 more than your initial budget of $900/month. In my opinion it is worth paying that small difference for properly registered and insured rental cars, rather than taking the risk to rent from private owners.

Some private owners might be willing to rent cars for $900/month, but do think twice as it isn't legal without the proper insurance and if you get found out you might even lose your driving licence. Even if you claim to be borrowing the car from a friend, something might happen and you might get found out. And you will have no legal recourse in event of any dispute with the owner.

a few practical comments

as what fellow forumers say firstly

1) Do you have excess cash in the range of $1600 a month? which I think is the bare minimum to own a car nowdays

Do take note that you should ideally still have some savings after that

eg 5 year old Toyota altis

a) Installment = $800

b) Insurance = factor in $2000 as new driver or around $150 a month

c) Petrol = $400

d) Road tax = $50

e) Season Parking = $90 for HDB

f) Office = $100 estimated

g) ERP & other parking = $100

Total = ~$1600

Secondly for a family with 1 kid, I think $7000 may not be comfortable enough to own a car without a slight stretch, especially if $7000 is before CPF.

Also the economics does not make it viable to rent a car for $900 as the base cost for car rental companies is already more than $900. Especially so as car rental insurance alone is usually a few ks a year (more expensive than personal insurance)

imho you want to try out renting a car first because I think you know in your heart its going to be a little stretched.

be patient you are still young, I am sure that you will be able to more comfortably purchase a car in a few years time. Hopefully the coe goes down which will make things much easier.

My ex-boss stationed long term in Europe parked his car in the car park as nobody else is driving it. One of my colleagues will drive it out once in a blue moon to run the engine as he has his own car.

Even that is the case, I think he would rather let the car rot in the car park than renting it out for 900 bucks a month. -_-

If your ex-boss has a nice car, I don't mind just running the engine weekly (maybe a short spin around the neighbourhood, just to make sure that nothing's wrong with the car). Haha... Hopefully MRS, Z4 or something that range or higher. FOC.

[laugh] [laugh]

Thank you all for your inputs.

I'm setting aside $900 for the rental of the car, and I would like to see how the total charges add up so as to have a real gauge of the total costs involved.

I used to rent a 2001 Citroen C5 2.0A for $900/month back in 2006 and I recall paying up to $1800/month in total. So I really understand what I'm getting into since this is not the first time I'm renting cars on a monthly basis. My hope is that I can get a comparable quote, preferably an automatic and not a MIC vehicle.

Still hoping to find someone who can lend me their cars within my small budget! ^_^

Hi everyone,

Benson Wong

Hi Benson,

Congrats on fatherhood! The bb in your avatar is your little princess?

Just to update u on 2 things:-

1) I dun think its legal to rent out personal car on a long term basis, read before somewhere tat this

Arrangement can only be done on weekends only (not too sure).

2) MCF bros here all very rich. $900 is the average DAILY salary...

Lastly, welcome to fatherhood! [bounce1]

May your little girl stay healthy always! [thumbsup]

It's very hard to find proper rental for $900/month. Proper car rental companies generally rent out at $1000+ even for basic cars, due to higher insurance costs and all. But you don't need to pay $1900 to rent from the more expensive companies like Avis, there are other companies that rent budget cars at $1100 to $1200/month, which is only 200 or 300 more than your initial budget of $900/month. In my opinion it is worth paying that small difference for properly registered and insured rental cars, rather than taking the risk to rent from private owners.

Some private owners might be willing to rent cars for $900/month, but do think twice as it isn't legal without the proper insurance and if you get found out you might even lose your driving licence. Even if you claim to be borrowing the car from a friend, something might happen and you might get found out. And you will have no legal recourse in event of any dispute with the owner.

a few practical comments

as what fellow forumers say firstly

1) Do you have excess cash in the range of $1600 a month? which I think is the bare minimum to own a car nowdays

Do take note that you should ideally still have some savings after that

eg 5 year old Toyota altis

a) Installment = $800

b) Insurance = factor in $2000 as new driver or around $150 a month

c) Petrol = $400

d) Road tax = $50

e) Season Parking = $90 for HDB

f) Office = $100 estimated

g) ERP & other parking = $100

Total = ~$1600

Secondly for a family with 1 kid, I think $7000 may not be comfortable enough to own a car without a slight stretch, especially if $7000 is before CPF.

Also the economics does not make it viable to rent a car for $900 as the base cost for car rental companies is already more than $900. Especially so as car rental insurance alone is usually a few ks a year (more expensive than personal insurance)

imho you want to try out renting a car first because I think you know in your heart its going to be a little stretched.

be patient you are still young, I am sure that you will be able to more comfortably purchase a car in a few years time. Hopefully the coe goes down which will make things much easier.

Thank you both for taking your time to pen down your thoughts. Appreciate your kind advices. [:p]