KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

You able to view the video? Funny I can't view my own video.

Can view bro. Thanks for the video.

Anyway I find that the original key-ring on the spring is too thick and big. It doesn't really sit on the boot joint well cos our boot joint is very small. 

So what I did was replace the key ring with a small diameter key ring. Now it seats properly.

I also just changed my back license plate light to OSRAM LED T10 bulb. Damn nice now. Lol.

Yes,because agent need to order the remote together with the Key....

From what I understand, they can't just replicate a replacement. They have to order a complete set. 

Last time my SE also tell me to keep it safe and don't drop it. Cos replacement will be close to 500. 

You can go to those more high tech keysmith. But you run the risk of incomplete cloning of the key code.

If I am not wrong, my front 2 map light is 9 LEDs each, 10 bucks each.

the centre cabin light is 20 LEDs. 20 bucks.

So total is $40 bucks including installation. Did it at sggarage at yishun. Now that workshop is managed by Edwin's brother and mother. Edwin is based in their AMK workshop.

the super bright types look like this hehe

$_12.JPG

Why never change boot LED light also?

Boot also good to have lotsa white light mah.

Lol. Lazy to change liao. 

Anyway for those who don't understand what I meant by the original key ring not seated firmly in the boot joint, refer to the picture attached.

This is after I change to a small key ring so can see the whole key ring sits within the joint. More secured. Less chance for it to drop down.

Also managed to adjust it until it can open smoothly and minimise the rocking when boot reaches the top. But definately will still have a slight rocking cos of the momentum.  

post-176323-0-87890200-1483620605_thumb.jpg

Edited by Whattheheck

Can view bro. Thanks for the video.

Anyway I find that the original key-ring on the spring is too thick and big. It doesn't really sit on the boot joint well cos our boot joint is very small.

So what I did was replace the key ring with a small diameter key ring. Now it seats properly.

I also just changed my back license plate light to OSRAM LED T10 bulb. Damn nice now. Lol.

From what I understand, they can't just replicate a replacement. They have to order a complete set.

Last time my SE also tell me to keep it safe and don't drop it. Cos replacement will be close to 500.

You can go to those more high tech keysmith. But you run the risk of incomplete cloning of the key code.

If I am not wrong, my front 2 map light is 9 LEDs each, 10 bucks each.

the centre cabin light is 20 LEDs. 20 bucks.

So total is $40 bucks including installation. Did it at sggarage at yishun. Now that workshop is managed by Edwin's brother and mother. Edwin is based in their AMK workshop.

Mine philips T10 white LED license plate light and metallic license plate. Damn nice.

Lol. Lazy to change liao.

Anyway for those who don't understand what I meant by the original key ring not seated firmly in the boot joint, refer to the picture attached.

This is after I change to a small key ring so can see the whole key ring sits within the joint. More secured. Less chance for it to drop down.

Also managed to adjust it until it can open smoothly and minimise the rocking when boot reaches the top. But definately will still have a slight rocking cos of the momentum.

My spring got loosened after a day. Need to tighten it up slightly.

Mine philips T10 white LED license plate light and metallic license plate. Damn nice.

My spring got loosened after a day. Need to tighten it up slightly.

Metallic as in the stock license plate right? 

The spring maybe you try using a smaller key ring like I did. Maybe it would sit properly and wont dropped.

Metallic as in the stock license plate right?

The spring maybe you try using a smaller key ring like I did. Maybe it would sit properly and wont dropped.

Chrome type.

I mean the spring got stretched and loosen up.

Hi all, this is my configurations for the boot spring. The sweet spot that I have found. Hope this is useful. No need to change the original ring to a smaller one.

post-181782-0-48269000-1483665906_thumb.jpg

post-181782-0-95980200-1483665906_thumb.jpg

Edited by Zerodestinyz

Chrome type.

I mean the spring got stretched and loosen up.

Bro, your chrome type go where make? how much?

Edited by BullsEye

Hi all, this is my configurations for the boot spring. The sweet spot that I have found. Hope this is useful. No need to change the original ring to a smaller one.

Nice sharing. 

What I noticed is that after afew of the spring in the boot, I think the spring gets stretched and it doesn't open as forcefully as initial. 

The video is when I first installed. Still slightly faster and more forceful than I preferred. After afew hours, it opens more gently and slower.

video_2017-01-06_20-50-29.mov

Nice sharing. 

What I noticed is that after afew of the spring in the boot, I think the spring gets stretched and it doesn't open as forcefully as initial. 

The video is when I first installed. Still slightly faster and more forceful than I preferred. After afew hours, it opens more gently and slower.

Wa bro, what have you added to your ride. Can see from the video you are in the accessories shop.

More poison?

Wa bro, what have you added to your ride. Can see from the video you are in the accessories shop.

More poison?

Lol. Went to sound proof my doors and wheel arc area. Double layers. 800 total. Using sound guard insulation mat. At Autoimage enterprise.

Wow...$800!!! Our K3 that noisy ah...doing may increase weight and thus affect FC. 

My 4 doors double layer, wheel arcs side fender, boot lid, STP sound damping mat. FC still the same.

Hi there,

My 2015 K3 is due for 20K servicing.

Any recomendation for workshops that specialise in Kia servicing ?

I used to go Autosaver for my old Toyota and Nissan but I find that their servicing packages are getting more expensive and the quality of work is dropping.

BTW, where can I get the price of the servicing packages of C&C for K3 ? I dun seem to see that in their web page.

TIA...

Cos I prefer to be as quiet as possible so can enjoy music in my car ma. 

Hi there,

My 2015 K3 is due for 20K servicing.

Any recomendation for workshops that specialise in Kia servicing ?

I used to go Autosaver for my old Toyota and Nissan but I find that their servicing packages are getting more expensive and the quality of work is dropping.

BTW, where can I get the price of the servicing packages of C&C for K3 ? I dun seem to see that in their web page.

TIA...

Eh.... I just type in google "cycle and carriage kia service" and all you were looking for is there leh.

http://www.kia.com/content/dam/kwcms/sg/en/pdf/KIA_CareServicePlan_Aug2016.pdf

My 4 doors double layer, wheel arcs side fender, boot lid, STP sound damping mat. FC still the same.

Does it really helps? There are reports stating that the R&D have done whatever soundproofing already. Cause they knows where the problem are. If you look at our K3, there are area with padding or dampers pasted, these are area need attention. This is just my perception...But I think it's good to improvise too.

Cos I prefer to be as quiet as possible so can enjoy music in my car ma.

Eh.... I just type in google "cycle and carriage kia service" and all you were looking for is there leh.

http://www.kia.com/content/dam/kwcms/sg/en/pdf/KIA_CareServicePlan_Aug2016.pdf

Yes, me too. My previous ride was a V6 2.7L, the engine is very smooth and quiet. At highway speed, you can't hear any roar of the engine. So I believe if you quiet ride, other than tires, soundproofing, engine also plays an important part.