Temperature keep going up.

Monkill

Need help, my car temperature keep going up to 100%, water are fill to the max. What should i do? Can just change coolant?

Your radiator fan is working?

Best is to get your car to a workshop either drive slowly or have a tow truck bring it there.

There could be many factors attributing to such issue.

How old is your car?

Could be thermostat spoilt, stucked in the closed position so the coolant cannot flow into the radiator therefore resulting in engine temp keep rising.

Edited by Fcw75

Possible Problem or/and the following

(1) Thermostat damaged

(2) Water Pump damaged

(3) Radiator up the lorry

If the temperature light is lighted up, better go to a workshop to check. Tried to drive to my workshop when i saw the red light but in the end the engine died. Cost me a a few thousand to service up as requires to do overhaul!

what did you replace that cost you few $k?

That is actually quite foolish. One of my company drivers did the same thing to the van a few years back. Keep driving on from changi till reach clementi. lagi chia lat..... of course, the engine needed major overhaul after that and it was not worth it because the van had less than 3 years left. Should have just got it towed and pay a few hundred dollars for repairs than thousands.

After this incident, I encountered the same situation also with my company van. Steam was coming out from the bonnet and had to drive slowly to park the van at a bus stop and call for tow. Turn out that radiator spoil. Got it fixed in a day instead of waiting for a week for overhaul.

Possible Problem or/and the following

(1) Thermostat damaged

(2) Water Pump damaged

(3) Radiator up the lorry

Worst, could be engine gasket issue. :mellow:

thanks for all the reply, it's my company van, i think left with 1 year plus COE nia. quite cui. overhaul need few thousands sia, sibei bo hua lei.

what did you replace that cost you few $k?

Usual would be a top overhaul...

My mech teach me to check...open the radiator cap...run the engine to normal working temp...gun your throttle...if you see water fountain from the radiator...say hello to a top overhaul and goodbye to your money.

Never attempt to drive when the engine is overheating. There was once my car overheat at Taman Perling...I took 4-5 farking hours to limp to Woodlands. After that...I call for tow truck to send to workshop. (cos tow from Malaysia is gonna be a bomb and it was pass midnight.)

How I drove was wait for radiator to cool...top up with water...drive off immediately...maybe around 1-2km...stop to add water...and so on...but lucky for me...nothing expensive happen...just had to replace a stupid $10 radiator plug that was faulty.

Usual would be a top overhaul...

My mech teach me to check...open the radiator cap...run the engine to normal working temp...gun your throttle...if you see water fountain from the radiator...say hello to a top overhaul and goodbye to your money.

Never attempt to drive when the engine is overheating. There was once my car overheat at Taman Perling...I took 4-5 farking hours to limp to Woodlands. After that...I call for tow truck to send to workshop. (cos tow from Malaysia is gonna be a bomb and it was pass midnight.)

How I drove was wait for radiator to cool...top up with water...drive off immediately...maybe around 1-2km...stop to add water...and so on...but lucky for me...nothing expensive happen...just had to replace a stupid $10 radiator plug that was faulty.

i kena tow from ksl there to any location in SG... i think i paid rm 550.... consider acceptable lar... call AA can liao...will give you workshop contact

any big vehicle need to pay rm 300 when cross malaysia customs... considering the 550 include the rm 300... pricing quite ok..

i kena tow from ksl there to any location in SG... i think i paid rm 550.... consider acceptable lar... call AA can liao...will give you workshop contact

any big vehicle need to pay rm 300 when cross malaysia customs... considering the 550 include the rm 300... pricing quite ok..

2WD bro...mine is a 4WD...the other time we ask was like RM1K !!!

That is actually quite foolish. One of my company drivers did the same thing to the van a few years back. Keep driving on from changi till reach clementi. lagi chia lat..... of course, the engine needed major overhaul after that and it was not worth it because the van had less than 3 years left. Should have just got it towed and pay a few hundred dollars for repairs than thousands.

After this incident, I encountered the same situation also with my company van. Steam was coming out from the bonnet and had to drive slowly to park the van at a bus stop and call for tow. Turn out that radiator spoil. Got it fixed in a day instead of waiting for a week for overhaul.

I assume there is a temperature gauge in the van as well and the reading in the gauge would have alerted the driver.

Yesterday was so hot that even in the taxi cabs, the AC couldn't keep up with the outside temperature. Your AC may just be overwhelmed. Stupid HEAT.

[sunny][rifle]

When temperature hot, do not open the radiator cap, very dangerous!

This one is more likely radiator prob or spoil

Bring to workshop through tow is the best way

Btw is it a KIA model? Cos in early 2000s KiA cars have these prob