Opel Car Owners - Pls fall in

Ngjs

No specific shops to go to. I went for one at Ubi Road 3, the mechanic helps me with everything. Ordered a pair of new headlights from ebay.co.uk and ship to Singapore. Going to install soon once it arrives. Anyway my headlight is not spoilt, was wanna change new ones to look better and look new

Cost of parts : $289 . Shipping $120

Labour $80 to install.

(Local agent say no stock, need to wait 3 months, cost $1200. Siao !!!!!!!!!)

I find it strange when people starts to complain when there is a long wait for local parts. There is this thing call Google , Ebay and all you need is to use your brain to make it work. Try searching for Vauxhall Astra H instead of Opel Astra and you get tonnes of parts to import and get your mechanic to install. HELLO not everything you need to go through agents or ask workshop to sell you. Unless you driving toyota or nissan lah. I remember the days when we import our own cars from Japan, (JDM) . Go LTA fill up import papers, call Japan, arrange shipping, go Pandan and collect car. Dont need agent to do that. I am one of the proud owners of 17 Nissan Silvia S15 back in 2001. 7 of them were imported by ourselves. SO stop KPKB say no parts. Cry cry cry. Go research a bit and get things done.

if your headlights get smashed. you cannot drive your car at night for 1-2weeks while waiting for new headlights to arrive from UK? what about something more critical like a brake master pump, like what happened to my Vectra-B. LL but to buy from Agent else no use of the car for a week or more. if it was a simple japanese car like a corolla / wish/ civic, your downtime will be less than a day.

Which workshop you opel owners frequent ?

I usually go to CK Motor at AMK autopoint. The workshop has most of the parts, even gearbox, etc. Parts are cheaper than authorised dealers by quite a bit.

Hee i am not adverse to ordering online and buying from overseas on my own. I currently drive a saab now so i have to so such self importation there and then. However many of the fairly common parts can also be provided by the workshop i patronised so it does help i can leave this job to workshop at times.

I drove a corsa sometime back then and also my brother was driving an astra sometime in tears 2002 to 2005. There was once when his astra was rear ended and he also suffered from the lengthy wait for bumper to arrive like another brother here had shared. I recall there was also another instance with his or my car which dawn on us the opel ad may have carried too little parts for our liking. But of course now is a good 10 years later, i have learn to do my own import of parts and patronise other dealer who carry the parts i needed so i think it is a smaller concern now. However i do understand the frustration of the other brothers about relative scarcity of opel parts held in stock by ad.

No specific shops to go to. I went for one at Ubi Road 3, the mechanic helps me with everything. Ordered a pair of new headlights from ebay.co.uk and ship to Singapore. Going to install soon once it arrives. Anyway my headlight is not spoilt, was wanna change new ones to look better and look new

Cost of parts : $289 . Shipping $120

Labour $80 to install.

(Local agent say no stock, need to wait 3 months, cost $1200. Siao !!!!!!!!!)

I find it strange when people starts to complain when there is a long wait for local parts. There is this thing call Google , Ebay and all you need is to use your brain to make it work. Try searching for Vauxhall Astra H instead of Opel Astra and you get tonnes of parts to import and get your mechanic to install. HELLO not everything you need to go through agents or ask workshop to sell you. Unless you driving toyota or nissan lah. I remember the days when we import our own cars from Japan, (JDM) . Go LTA fill up import papers, call Japan, arrange shipping, go Pandan and collect car. Dont need agent to do that. I am one of the proud owners of 17 Nissan Silvia S15 back in 2001. 7 of them were imported by ourselves. SO stop KPKB say no parts. Cry cry cry. Go research a bit and get things done.

Hehe that was my next question. I wanted to ask if there are other opel specialist workshop other than ck.

If you may have read, i drive a saab and heard some negative account of ck workshop from fellow saab forumers who frequented ck before.

I usually go to CK Motor at AMK autopoint. The workshop has most of the parts, even gearbox, etc. Parts are cheaper than authorised dealers by quite a bit.

Edited by Acemundo

I have got a friend who bought a 5 year old astra at 8+k depn ........it is amazingly cheap. I thought 8k depn should be something of the Korean or Malaysian marque asking prices.

I asked him how is the drive, his feedback is that the engine sounds too rough for his liking. but well, so far no breakdown. I think he used it for about 8-9 months already.

I am driving a vectra-c gts 2.2 which I bought 1 and half yr back.. I got it at less than 7k dep. cheaper than a small japanese sedan. Ride is good and spacious, but road tax and servicing is high (I go to both ad and ck). If the parts are more readily available and priced cheaper I think more people will buy the brand. It is quite a solid car. Even my friend who is driving a 5 series commented that the door when opening and closing feels more solid than his car!

Good to know that more and more opel owners are coming in.

Road tax is dependent on engine capacity not model la.

Most of the parts can get from UK online site. There is a wealth of resources in the uk astra forum. Owners there strip the car to install ICE, change EO, filter, Transmission Oil, etc.

Just got the COE for my Zafira Tourer order yesterday. This is my 3rd Zafira, I have zafira A & B and now the Tourer. Exclude the COE cost, the car price I paid is not too far from the price in 2007 where I bought my Zafira 1.8MTA.

Edited by Goodman

Hi bro,

Can how is the drive if B n it wear n tear?

Looking at 2nd hand car :-)

Thanks

Just got the COE for my Zafira Tourer order yesterday. This is my 3rd Zafira, I have zafira A & B and now the Tourer. Exclude the COE cost, the car price I paid is not too far from the price in 2007 where I bought my Zafira 1.8MTA.

I am driving a vectra-c gts 2.2 which I bought 1 and half yr back.. I got it at less than 7k dep. cheaper than a small japanese sedan. Ride is good and spacious, but road tax and servicing is high (I go to both ad and ck). If the parts are more readily available and priced cheaper I think more people will buy the brand. It is quite a solid car. Even my friend who is driving a 5 series commented that the door when opening and closing feels more solid than his car!

how sharp is CK knife? do share

some guys say it can make a diamond grow legs and arms and eyes and kowtow to u with 3 joss stick, cry a bucket and then run away

how sharp is CK knife? do share

some guys say it can make a diamond grow legs and arms and eyes and kowtow to u with 3 joss stick, cry a bucket and then run away

i normally advise friends to bring along a basket to catch hold of something that might drop off.

Some say Jeremy Clarkson will shit enough bricks to build all the pyramids in Egypt once over again

it seems ck does have some very loyal supporter customer, nonetheless.

Zafira B is not a bad car, just need to get used to the MTA gear shift. For my eight years driving it, only one major break-down.

bro, what is the breakdown about?

some people advised reliability issue about the MTA. from your experience with opel, is that the case or not?

bro, what is the breakdown about?

some people advised reliability issue about the MTA. from your experience with opel, is that the case or not?

So far till now, I do not face MTA issue. The breakdown was 4 years ago, and forgotten which part failed but it just not able to start though the battery is still working (can listen radio). Need to toll back and took about 3 -4 days to fix it.