Changi Airport abuses low salary staff, pay $500 only

Aventador

Read todays Straits Times and felt extremely angry. The article talk about how great that the airport & NTUC managed to 'double' their staff salaries. But i was so angry reading the article. How can a government entity condone paying staff $500 a month?

unless they are working 10 days a month, if they are actually being paid that amount for 1 month, that is abusing low wage workers

even now with the pay increase, that is shitty pay.

They will probably blame the appointed contractor, but if they know these guys were paid unfairly, why NTUC and Changi Airport only act now?

----------------------------------

see article extract here:

Straits Times, 14 Aug 2013

Airport trolley handlers had their salaries nearly doubled from last month, as part of the labour movement's efforts to lift the pay of outsourced contract workers.

The 240 airport trolley handlers are now earning up to $1,000, up from their monthly pay of $550 to as much as $1,000. Their increase in pay depends on their work attendance and performance.

Besides earning more, these handlers will also get more training to pick up new skills to become more employable.

The recent moves are part of the NTUC's progressive wage model, which sets out a career ladder with pay standards for low-wage workers in various sectors. NTUC assistant secretary-General Cham Hui Fong said on Tuesday that the labour movement will work with other employers to improve the salaries and job opportunities of other airport outsourced contract workers. These include baggage handlers and aircraft interior cleaners.

Straits Times

Edited by Aventador

Please go and find out how much those aunties and uncles arranging the books at our national libraries are being paid

Recently spoken to a friend in his 50s who is working there after the company he worked for folded.

I assume those airport trolley handlers are locals? [:/] That's why they can abuse them by paying them low salary. If employ foreigners, there is a rule states that the employer must pay them a certain salary amount.

If trolley mgt was outsourced to 3rd party contractors, how does the govt has the say how much to pay these people?

If they have no say, why the article praising them for doubling the salaries now?

I have written in my 1st post, if they knew earlier, why only do something about it now

(actually I know the reason why the news is annouced now, this week is a lead up to big National Day Rally announcements, watch this Sunday - won't say more)

S$550 per month.

Maybe company give extra allowance. BAO chiat (S$50) and BAO transport (S$50) since they are all retireee....

ur title very misleading...Changi airport abuses low salary staff??

The trolley retrievers are not even their staff..they outsourced everything..want to kpkb muz go find the companies which won the contract..

Actually i feel workers in airport even the low level 1s are better paid than outside..

I was talking to a bangla cleaner in my neighbourhood..he told me he work more than 12 hours a day, everyday, paid $600 a month..not sure lodging or meals provided..

If they have no say, why the article praising them for doubling the salaries now?

I have written in my 1st post, if they knew earlier, why only do something about it now

(actually I know the reason why the news is annouced now, this week is a lead up to big National Day Rally announcements, watch this Sunday - won't say more)

maybe the contractor is company related to govt?

wah! are they going to annouce double pay for everyone? [bounce1][bounce1][bounce1]

those job in airport and library are mostly for retiree who just want to do something to pass time and not stay at home molding.

the job are in air con environment and does not require much physical work.

its like that wad, in garment sector, you get well paid for sitting in office and asking for BJ while getting s--t for getting work done. haha sound extreme, but there are some truth in it..

Is easy for Changi to state as a term of the tender that workers must be paid at least $XXX

you will let your customer audit your financial account book?? :blink:

its like that wad, in garment sector, you get well paid for sitting in office and asking for BJ while getting s--t for getting work done. haha sound extreme, but there are some truth in it..

not much different from commercial world [laugh]

I assume those airport trolley handlers are locals? [:/] That's why they can abuse them by paying them low salary. If employ foreigners, there is a rule states that the employer must pay them a certain salary amount.

got meh?? my colleague in shipyard earning less than air port staff leh.

$500 is probably basic pay. Plus other allowance like transport, OT and others maybe got $700-$900. I think it's good news to these workers. Since most I see are elderly, the increase will be significant to them.

those job in airport and library are mostly for retiree who just want to do something to pass time and not stay at home molding.

the job are in air con environment and does not require much physical work.

Go read the actual article in ST print edition

they interview one baggage handler, and he says this increase will help him , so he don't need to ask money from his children every month

in your mind you think they are just passing time, but the truth is most work because they need to support themselves