Singtel has 1.01Bn Profit!

SingTel's net profit rose seven per cent on-year in the first quarter to S$1.01 billion on stronger operational performance and higher earnings contributions from its regional mobile associates.

PHOTOS

Singapore Telecommunications (SingTel). (AFP/File - Roslan Rahman)

ENLARGECAPTION

SINGAPORE: Singapore Telecom said Wednesday its net profit climbed 7.0 percent in the fiscal first quarter from the previous year on stronger contributions from regional associates and lower costs.

Net profit in the three months ended June was S$1.01 billion ($797 million), up from S$945 million in the same period last year, Southeast Asia's biggest telecom firm by revenue said in a statement to the Singapore Exchange.

Group revenue fell 5.3 percent to S$4.3 billion, SingTel said, adding that this reflected a more cautious business environment and a slowdown in the mobile market in Australia, where its wholly-owned subsidiary Optus operates.

SingTel, which has expanded beyond its small domestic market in the city-state, said the weaker Australian dollar also weighed on revenue.

Earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortisation (EBITDA), were up 4.0 percent to S$1.30 billion as expenses fell 9.0 percent.

The company said its regional mobile associates posted a 14 percent rise in pre-tax ordinary earnings to S$552 million, with India's Bharti Airtel reporting a better performance.

Apart from Bharti Airtel, SingTel also owns substantial stakes in four other foreign mobile operators -- Indonesia's Telkomsel, Thailand's Advanced Info Service, the Philippines' Globe Telecom and Pacific Bangladesh Telecom.

"It was a strong quarter," SingTel group chief executive Chua Sock Koong said in a statement.

"We continue to make progress in strengthening our high performance core business and create next-generation growth engines in the digital space."

SingTel said its combined regional mobile customer base climbed 6.0 percent to 477 million.

"Our regional mobile associates have continued to perform well. We are also pleased to see some pricing discipline returning to the Indian mobile market and are optimistic that (Bharti) Airtel, as the market leader, is positioned to benefit from this."

- CNA/AFP/fa/xq

well now they are getting $138+ less quarterly cos i cancelled my MIO plan :angry:

can add to another $128 from me... :angry: :angry:

Would've been more if not for Optus. The guy who spearheaded the deal should be forced to give back all his salary including CPF.

Maybe you should rephrase, Singtel has1.01bil profit becos they do this.....

Hoho

no...jus starting...nex yr will be 2.02bn [laugh] [laugh]

They got profit but why they recently had a retrenchment exercise??? Not sure if u guys know, there was a retrenchment exercise recently in Singtel. They gona outsource a lot of their backend stuff.

Definitely did not profit much from me...

I never had a data plan for phone, only depending on wi-fi.

Have been on company plan, never upgrade phone, now mobile bill only around $10-$14 monthly [lipsrsealed] Constantly remind people to use SMS or call... don't whatsapp me [laugh] I will only whatsapp back days later!

Edited by Sosaria

bloody hell!! :angry: :angry:

SingTel to double charges for mobile users who exceed their monthly data bundle

Published on Aug 14, 2013

By Irene Tham

SingTel will be doubling mobile charges for customers who exceed their monthly data bundle from next month. The telco had earlier quashed rumours of this change in its charging.

From Sept 16, any usage in excess of a customer's data allowance - which starts from 2GB - will be billed $10.70 per GB, capped at $188 per month. The new rates are double the current promotional rates of $5.35 per GB, capped at $94 per month.

Affected customers are those on its fourth-generation (4G) mobile data plans, all of which are bundled with tiered mobile data charges. As of June 30, the telco had 537,000 4G customers.

Customers on its 3G plans will not be affected unless they renew their contracts from Sep 16. Similarly, those on its Broadband on Mobile plans - which allow laptop users to go online wirelessly via a 3G SIM card encased in a plastic dongle - will also not be affected unless they renew their contracts.

screw LTE

poor signal .... slow ... unstable .... nabei ... pay LTE plan and call helpdesk to complain ... and the answer is ... sir, can you switch to 3G if you can't get LTE

Heng i nvr convert to the new plan..im still using the 12gig plan..

Wont be upgrading..dun need the LTE..

they really growth fast, still remember their prfit was like $1 billion a years in late 80s, now 4X liao :huh:

err, 4x after 25 years is not high lah. only grow like 5.7% in compound annual rate.

screw LTE

poor signal .... slow ... unstable .... nabei ... pay LTE plan and call helpdesk to complain ... and the answer is ... sir, can you switch to 3G if you can't get LTE

Correct. LTE is really beh gan.

err, 4x after 25 years is not high lah. only grow like 5.7% in compound annual rate.

sorry should be late 90s about 15 years ago [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Jman888