BMW 316i vs Mercedes CLA

Limxiaoming

ok guys,

for the over trade, this is how i view it. Below are my choices btw CLA and a normal jap car without overtrade. Correct me if i am wrong

Case 1:

Japanese car

New car: $120k

OMV: $16k

Used car trade in price: $30k:

Cost for me to pay for the car: $120k-$30k = $90k

Case 2:

CLA180,

New car: $166k

OMV: $27k

used car trade in price with overtrade: $30k +$21k = $51k

Cost for me to pay for the car: $166k - $51k = $115k

so. I will say $25k more to get a merc cla180 rather than a normal jap saloon.

Worth it?

to me it is...

to me the overtrade of $21k is like an extra bonus as compared to the normal $30k i would have gotten for my old car

I fully agree with you, for $25k more it's definitely worth to get a CLA over a Jap saloon.

Just the OMV difference of approx $11k only already accounts for the $25k diff so essentially

C&C profit for the CLA is the same as a Jap B&B car [thumbsup]

Looks like Merc found a niche segment to sell underpower car to those who don't mind it as long as the badge is 3 pointed star.

Buy the way, OMV is even lower than basic price in Germany.

Looks like Merc found a niche segment to sell underpower car to those who don't mind it as long as the badge is 3 pointed star.

Buy the way, OMV is even lower than basic price in Germany.

Under power or not is very subjective.

You give my mother a honda jazz, she will tell u that the car is quite powerful and fast.

You give some bro here a 200hp car, they will tell u that it is underpower.

To me, 122hp is enough and it is under Cat A i understand.

A ECU tunning can make it up to 150hp..

To me 122hp or 150hp is more than enough.. Singapore only, how fast you wanna drive? every trafficlight push ppl?

To me, i get CLA more for the style and brand rather than the power..

Look at the car, it is simply lovely at every angle....

the most basic CLA is selling at $29,900 in US. so if u factorise in their dealer's profit, and some equipment, we are not that far off..

yes, if you exclude the $110K that goes into govt pocket .... LOL

the most basic CLA is selling at $29,900 in US. so if u factorise in their dealer's profit, and some equipment, we are not that far off..

haha! uniquely singapore!!

boh bian leh..slaves to the government!

CLA is suitable for those mid 20s. I'm reaching 31 with a baby coming soon.. the F30 looks more 稳重.

Edited by Rayoflight

haha! uniquely singapore!!

boh bian leh..slaves to the government!

CLA is suitable for those mid 20s. I'm reaching 31 with a baby coming soon.. the F30 looks more 稳重.

Mid 20s got money to buy CLA meh? Mostly just started working for 2-3 yrs at most...

Under power or not is very subjective.

You give my mother a honda jazz, she will tell u that the car is quite powerful and fast.

You give some bro here a 200hp car, they will tell u that it is underpower.

To me, 122hp is enough and it is under Cat A i understand.

A ECU tunning can make it up to 150hp..

To me 122hp or 150hp is more than enough.. Singapore only, how fast you wanna drive? every trafficlight push ppl?

To me, i get CLA more for the style and brand rather than the power..

Look at the car, it is simply lovely at every angle....

Thanks for proving my point.

From your post, you totally don't understand my POV.

It is NOT the bhp ONLY. It is BHP vs weight. CLA is 1.4 to 1.5 ton. 122bhp where got enough especially with human added.

I was wondering why no one considered the 2 series looks good. Unless the 2 door is a turn off.

2 series does look good.... but i actually like the previous gen 1 series coupes more tho

why not ... by 30s millionaire liao leh ... featured in ST on weekend liao ...

Mid 20s got money to buy CLA meh? Mostly just started working for 2-3 yrs at most...

why not ... by 30s millionaire liao leh ... featured in ST on weekend liao ...

this kind is rare, more of the exception than the norm. if the CLA can only target for sales to people in their mid 20s in Singapore, don't think they will have much biz to do for this make.

when i said by 30s millionaire is teasing la

but looking at the sales number for bmw/merc/audi/vw for entry level ...

it's the norm for mid-to-late 20s and early 30s to afford conti entry level car liao ... sup sup water

this kind is rare, more of the exception than the norm. if the CLA can only target for sales to people in their mid 20s in Singapore, don't think they will have much biz to do for this make.

when i said by 30s millionaire is teasing la

but looking at the sales number for bmw/merc/audi/vw for entry level ...

it's the norm for mid-to-late 20s and early 30s to afford conti entry level car liao ... sup sup water

I am in the wrong job. I only can afford a $100+k car now.

you mean $199K after overtrade right ... hehe

I am in the wrong job. I only can afford a $100+k car now.

It's weird that i dont see that many F30s compared to F10s on the roads.

Where are the F30s hiding? It's like 1 in 10 maybe and driven by aunties and uncles. haha

Edited by Rayoflight

Where are the F30s hiding? It's like 1 in 10 maybe and driven by aunties and uncles. haha

Especially 316.

Heng, i m an old man driving a young man car.

yup..bloody F10 like teksi.....right @soya?