Our Singapore Conversation OSC, National Rally tonight

Wind30

Kind of curious,

what kind of policy tweaks does people here hope that the Government will announce today? This time round, it seems that the government will announce some BIG changes....

It is kind of interesting the huge emphasis on the OSC this year. I have been to a FEW.... I wonder any of you have been to any and what are your views on this...

My take on OSC

1) the people discussing issues did not do due diligence and does not have the relevant information to have an INFORMED discussion. simple things like why land cost is needed to be factored in HDB BTO cost was not even understood.

2) LTA OSC was the best in terms actually getting LTA people to discuss their policies and why some things are done the way it is.

My hopes for todays Rally

1) please don't change things to drastically. The citizens need to be given lead time to adjust to the new policies.... EXAMPLE pri 1 admission is something that require years of preparation, be it moving house, doing parent volunteering, joining alumni, etc. Any changes should be deferred at least 2 years after announcement.

I attended 1 of the housing OSCs. All this housing issues stem from the fact that they refuse to revamp n set local mortgage rates n continue to let banks set them. Some say how can set rates higher if bank fund cost is much lower? Pass it in parliament, legislate it.

My hopes for todays Rally

1) please don't change things to drastically. The citizens need to be given lead time to adjust to the new policies.... EXAMPLE pri 1 admission is something that require years of preparation, be it moving house, doing parent volunteering, joining alumni, etc. Any changes should be deferred at least 2 years after announcement.

That time MOE also announce changes to the balloting system and it was to be effective immediately the following year. Similarly the baby bonus scheme all were in effect almost immediately after announcing it in the rally. So its really a 50/50 chance if the announcement would delay 2 years or not. Govt will see the urgency to decide the timeline to implement any policy changes.

My only hope is for the govt to do more for the sandwich middle-class, who make up the majority of citizens, and are often neglected in their welfare policies.

Careful what we ask for. It has been shown time and again that when govt gives $1, they'd take back $2 or more later, in other ways.

Edited by Juzzme

Kind of curious,

what kind of policy tweaks does people here hope that the Government will announce today?

My hope :

1) HDB price down,

2) Medical cost down,

3) Transportation cost down,

4) Number of FT down,

5) Number of PR down,

6) Number of 'S' passes down, (cos fake cert and some companies fake pay for FW to apply)

7) Number of 'Single Tendered' coffee shops/food centres down,

8) Number of Scholarship for foreign students down,

9) COE down

errrrrr............ hope not much to ask from gov ... -_-

Careful what we ask for. It has been shown time and again that when govt gives $1, they'd take back $2 or more later, in other ways.

Give $1, take back $2? U must be joking!!!

Well known fact tat they give u a chicken wing and take back WHOLE chicken! <_<

1. GST up

2. CPF minimum sum up

3. CPF drawdown age up

4. Personal income tax up

5. Corporate tax up

6. Property tax up

7. ERP up

8. Road tax up

9. Water & Electricity bill up

1) HDB price down,

2) Medical cost down,

4) Number of FT down,

5) Number of PR down,

6) Number of 'S' passes down, (cos fake cert and some companies fake pay for FW to apply)

9) COE down

My hope :

1) HDB price down,

2) Medical cost down,

4) Number of FT down,

5) Number of PR down,

9) COE down

errrrrr............ hope not much to ask from gov ... -_-

if someone can CSI the cost of renovating offices of our ministers, most of us would peng sang, let start CSI for uncle khaw - how to have medical cost down - how to main posh offices; our president has two good class bungalow in BT rented out - how to have price down - otherwise rental drop our president will demand higher pension; uncle goh's daughter migrated to UK with hubby but same joker pointing fingers at citizen for skipping town - wondered if hubby got PR or Citizenship - unlike common native citizen who have difficulty in getting PR for husbands; LKY younger brother, Freddie was the chairman of DBS Vicki Securities and now the chairman is Freddie's son - is there no talent among native Singaporeans - hence we need more FTs; the government push and penalised everybody if they don't switch to CPF but ministers and senior civil servants all are on pension and starts from age 51years; if we have ARF, duty tax, COE, ERP and all don't work - what next GPS charging; we do NS and one have to ask, who are we protecting, why our MP can be MP without doing NS; WE DONT NEED SHORT TERM MEASURES BUT WE need long term solutions; good luck, we count on our younger generation to do right what is wrong; do I make sense or am I too emotional especially on national day

I think when our country cries to the world and beat her chest that we have arrived as a country but look around, so many old foggies working in petrol station, macdonalds, cleaners, trolley pushers and so on .... do you think all of them really want to work till they reach their grave, the simple truth is they cant because they cannot afford it

we have a beautiful country, what we have achieved, thanks to not just a few but everyone including you and me, lets not loose the momentum, we can achieve, stand up for Singapore

1. GST up

2. CPF minimum sum up

3. CPF drawdown age up

4. Personal income tax up

5. Corporate tax up

6. Property tax up

7. ERP up

8. Road tax up

9. Water & Electricity bill up

1) HDB price down,

2) Medical cost down,

4) Number of FT down,

5) Number of PR down,

9) COE down

[bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

Newton's 3rd law :- 'Equal & Opposite Reaction'

you want everything down, something must goes up first ... :ph34r:

That time MOE also announce changes to the balloting system and it was to be effective immediately the following year. Similarly the baby bonus scheme all were in effect almost immediately after announcing it in the rally. So its really a 50/50 chance if the announcement would delay 2 years or not. Govt will see the urgency to decide the timeline to implement any policy changes.

baby bonus is different right... the point about P1 enrollment is that Parent volunteering is already closed for next year enrollment. If you change the enrollment for next year, I tell you a LOT of people will be angry. There are a LOT of people planning to send their children to their old school next year, me included. If changes is done next year, we cannot even get into 2C because Parent Volunteering is closed.

I (probably other parents) am willing to go into the streets to protest if they remove Alumni rights next year...

u so lucky, got chicken wing.... -_-

I got chicken backside .... [sly]

And still gonna pay back whole chicken???!!! [speechless]

Lets hope they really mean to do something for us this time rd, and not some wayang shows...

Enough of all these shows liao...

Knn... Still dun buck up, show me 2016!!!

baby bonus is different right... the point about P1 enrollment is that Parent volunteering is already closed for next year enrollment. If you change the enrollment for next year, I tell you a LOT of people will be angry. There are a LOT of people planning to send their children to their old school next year, me included. If changes is done next year, we cannot even get into 2C because Parent Volunteering is closed.

I (probably other parents) am willing to go into the streets to protest if they remove Alumni rights next year...

"I (probably other parents) am willing to go into the streets to protest if they remove Alumni rights next year..."

Count me in! Mine gg thru phrase 2A2 in 2 yrs time...

if someone can CSI the cost of renovating offices of our ministers, most of us would peng sang, let start CSI for uncle khaw - how to have medical cost down - how to main posh offices;

don't know about the rest of the ministers but "Uncle Khaw" as you call him live in a modest semi-D in YCK. I think he can probably afford much posher houses with his salary... the fact that he chooses to stay there (for many years already) tells me I don't think he is the kind that will renovate his office and install golden taps.

CSI and check your facts first; heard of wayang; CSI also what kind of properties he and his family owns in Malaysia; perhaps that tells you where is heart actually is; CSI for the truth

Edited by Djim

CSI and check your facts first; heard of wayang; CSI also what kind of properties he and his family owns in Malaysia; perhaps that tells you where is heart actually is; CSI for the truth

Cut him some slack... At least he is doing something. U gonna give him

some time to clear up the mess left behind by Marlboro Tan...