Buying $ usd good investment?

Leeke1

Heard usd will slowly appreciate. I am thinking of converting some sgd to usd thru money changer. Any comment or recommendations?

Long term MAS wants to continue to appreciate SGD to curb inflation ... slowly.

Sgd is depreciating by more than 3% since early this year. I think the trend will continue till usd vs sgd of ard 1.6 precrisis

i'm no expert, but reading some of those articles, USD as a reserve currency, it is able to do many things others can't... like printing and get away with it

SGD is strong with MAS policy, based on a basket of secret, unknown currencies plus our foreign reserves.

should not go wrong with them..and btw, Ringgit, is for stretching SGD further [laugh]

I think mas also can do printing rite? Just tat our reserves is strong and do not need any printing to control our currency rate vs others. Any experts here can comment?

Heard usd will slowly appreciate. I am thinking of converting some sgd to usd thru money changer. Any comment or recommendations?

wait for SGD to strengthen abit first then, buy US$. Countertrend rally

buy usd alone won't earn much lah. must buy stocks listed in usd. more risky more profits. i like big tech like apple or cisco. in fact bot some last night. vested interests.

Sgd is depreciating by more than 3% since early this year. I think the trend will continue till usd vs sgd of ard 1.6 precrisis

You have already made up your mind and answered your question you raised in the opening of this thread.

I am waiting for some expert to overturn my decision. Like the previous comment about buying us shares. I think is better idea.

But I would rather buy high divided us share. Less volatility. .

which one?? high divs/junks have been destroyed recently.. but agree less volatile, heck all stocks are less volative. FX is most liquid of cse most volatile

http://scharts.co/15bR3H1

US divs r taxable FYI unlike SG divs

Edited by Duckduck

Alamak please la.....

Why dont you invest in gold if you have money to burn? Its less volatile and now price

But you think money changer stupid? You sell your usd the rate is lower

isnt the same as putting it in time deposit or foreign deposits where interest is 1.+% if im not wrong

Bro come on...

Alamak please la.....

Why dont you invest in gold if you have money to burn? Its less volatile and now price

But you think money changer stupid? You sell your usd the rate is lower

isnt the same as putting it in time deposit or foreign deposits where interest is 1.+% if im not wrong

Bro come on...

gold..maybe..but equity market good means gold will drop rite? usually they are reversed trend.

of coz i know money changer do earn money base on the difference of buying and selling price.. i mean keep USD for long term till it hit around 1.6 (currently ard 1.27)..it will be a fairly long process to reach the target price..

for exp:

if i convert 100000 sgd = 78740USD (base on 1.27)

if USd vs SGD hit 1.5 or 1.6

78740USD = 118110SGD (base on 1.5)

i earn 18110SGD

if from the current 1.27 to 1.5 takes 5 years

each year will be SGD3622

the yield is 3.6% annually

still better than FD

gold..maybe..but equity market good means gold will drop rite? usually they are reversed trend.

not always. gold was up alot coz US fed QE. If they didnt QE, gold wld b a piss of sh!t by now as well. in 2008, gold crashed together w stocks before US QE

dont invest in stuff u dont understand. might as well just buy safe stuff like blue chip stocks.

Edited by Duckduck