Confessions of a property agent

Scion

newspapers always like to highlight those successful ones hor?

what about those who din make it?

maybe for every successful one, there are 100 who fail

eg brilliant graduates earn 8k per month in their first job

eg successful stock brokers earn 50k per month

can also say lucky punter win 1m from casino

[:|] [:|] [:|]

property.jpg

TNP PHOTO: Ariffin Jamar

At last Sunday

graduates no job; taxi overdone now is property agents; next mortuary attendant who are paid millions - drive Ferrari to work with one hand holding a tennis racket and the other hand ... I forgot one or two tennis balls

newspapers always like to highlight those successful ones hor?

what about those who din make it?

maybe for every successful one, there are 100 who fail

eg brilliant graduates earn 8k per month in their first job

eg successful stock brokers earn 50k per month

can also say lucky punter win 1m from casino

[:|] [:|] [:|]

TNP PHOTO: Ariffin Jamar

At last Sunday

Nowadays I read everything with a bucket full of salt. Words are superficial until I see it with my own eyes.

What news never report is that of 100 property agent maybe only few can be like him, the rest either struggle or not doing well.

Come to think of it,property agents are one of those who made big bulk from the influx of FT.When these foreigners come,they need accommodations be it rental or purchase.Right?And of course of the ONE that make it,thousands failed.Dog eat dog world...

Ya, hard work, luck plus connections comes into play. Without any of it, it will be very tough being a property agent.

Take this article with a pinch of salt.

Highly sensationalised.

Hardly any 2% commission now. Industry norm is 1%, and if you co-broke, you end up with only 0.5%commission, excluding the % share you have to give to your real estate company.

Whatever you earn excludes all running cost, like ad cost, petrol etc.

If being a property agt can make money, 40% of agts would not have withdrawn from the industry since 2010 when CEA rules came into play.

property agent don't make money? u sure bo?

in any "agent" business ... there is a huge gap between the top 20 vs mediacore 80

property agent

insurance agent

bank/investment product sales agent

car sales agent

luxury watch sales agent

etc

the top 20 are in the million dollar table ... annual income can exceed $1M

the mediacore 80 earn far less than the top 20 ... huge huge gap

Take this article with a pinch of salt.

Highly sensationalised.

Hardly any 2% commission now. Industry norm is 1%, and if you co-broke, you end up with only 0.5%commission, excluding the % share you have to give to your real estate company.

Whatever you earn excludes all running cost, like ad cost, petrol etc.

If being a property agt can make money, 40% of agts would not have withdrawn from the industry since 2010 when CEA rules came into play.

With so many property agents around, can sell one HDB a month or two i think can survive but if cannot how? No income no CPF .... eat ownself and for how long.....I think hardwork aside, need a lot of luck, contacts and need to eat "humble pie"

it's a fair game. no risk no gain. high risk high gain.

why property agent, insurance agent, etc can earns few hundreds thousands a year

if it is so easy, everyone can be agent liao instead of 9-to-5 salaried workers (steady income and the meagre 2-4% salary increased, etc)

similarly, i cannot agree why a footballer can make 10/20/30 millions a year

are they so genius that could change the world?

no, but that is a talent that not everyone can have ... and in fact almost 90% fail make it to the end

those who make it to the end get the oyster

With so many property agents around, can sell one HDB a month or two i think can survive but if cannot how? No income no CPF .... eat ownself and for how long.....I think hardwork aside, need a lot of luck, contacts and need to eat "humble pie"

And that newspaper interview with that taxi driver who claimed could make 7k-8k.

154 is after all 154. Only the date of print is correct.

Very soon, you can also read "15K a month for a cleaner". :D

Cannot lah, table wiper only $4.2k per month, cleaner maximum $7.5k i eatimate......how can $15k?

Its good to be a property agent hor?

All these stories... the reporters just like to interview the successful ones.

Why not talk to those who do so-so or not so well in their professions? Maybe they are not so rich in dollar sense, but could be other interesting things that they achieve?

These type of stories don't sell newspapers??

it's a fair game. no risk no gain. high risk high gain.

why property agent, insurance agent, etc can earns few hundreds thousands a year

if it is so easy, everyone can be agent liao instead of 9-to-5 salaried workers (steady income and the meagre 2-4% salary increased, etc)

The 9-to-5 salaried worker may have other attractive things like family time, time to pursue own interests, etc.

But maybe the newspapers don't consider this as interesting to the common people, who are only focused on $ as indicator of success.

Life is all about making choices.

All these stories... the reporters just like to interview the successful ones.

Why not talk to those who do so-so or not so well in their professions? Maybe they are not so rich in dollar sense, but could be other interesting things that they achieve?

These type of stories don't sell newspapers??

Anyway, those not so successful, they would also not want to be interviewed as they have nothing to show off. Better work quietly than get famous for wrong reasons. [laugh] [laugh]