Malaysia Ringgit Exchange Rate

Well based on Bloomberg, the current concern i think is that Malaysia has a high proportion of it's bonds and debts held by overseas investors, i think somewhere around 30-40%. Highest in SEA followed by Indonesia, hence the volatility in their currencies.

I think political risks and 1MDB has mostly blown over. So the recent volatility is not linked to that.

MYR will remain weak as a lot of Malaysians have or are moving monies out and many are doing that after 1MDB. Many non bumi Malaysian tycoons started to invest overseas years ago, now the middle class are doing the same. Similiar to what is going on in China?

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/capital-flight-a-big-headache-for-beijing

no worry ... Beijing å¤§å¥ say ... by 2025 msia sibei huat!

Well... 如果plus一直plus有望。。。

The three conditions are quite stringent for his words to be still valid.

Edited by Showster

Ringgit falls to weakest level since 1998 Asian financial crisis

SINGAPORE: The Malaysian ringgit on Monday (Dec 19) fell to 4.4805 against the US dollar, its weakest level since the Asian financial crisis in 1998, according to a Bloomberg report.

Against the Singapore dollar, the ringgit fell to 3.106, but recovered slightly to trade at about 3.096 around noon.

still long way to 4  :D

that one never include lng leh....

you assume lng price is strongly correlated with oil price

last time before shale gas, true

now weakening quickly

you assume lng price is strongly correlated with oil price

last time before shale gas, true

now weakening quickly

Edited by Kusje

Without studying it in depth, I can't say if it is really weakening over time (or will weaken over time).

But charting it out, still looks okay to me leh.

I mean, I'm not sure what the correct benchmark for LNG but since the landed price for japan seems to be up quite a bit recently, I think it would go back to my argument of helping to support the RM?

anyway if you think RM is going to strengthen, better buy now

i not industry insider in oil and gas so my personal views hold no water

anyway if you think RM is going to strengthen, better buy now

i not industry insider in oil and gas so my personal views hold no water

Frankly, o&g insider also dunno or just guessing most of the time  [laugh]

I won't buy RM beyond what I can reasonably spend in the next 6 months la.

Edited by Kusje

No one has done more to lower the RM 

than my fren Jibby and all I hear in this forum

is complaints that he is not doing enough.

No one is every satisfied, no one ever grateful,

no one is every appreciative. 

You all must be strawberry, not the older generation

that got values like appreciation and gratefulness

and satisfaction. The world does not revolve around

you and what you want.

Frankly, o&g insider also dunno or just guessing most of the time  [laugh]

I won't buy RM beyond what I can reasonably spend in the next 6 months la.

how come you don't chart lng price with RM since you are into charting?

share share your charts leh

I can only conclude its not my fren Jibby that is greedy,

its the people here. Every sen Jibby has he has worked 

very hard to for. Here people do nothing to get the RM to 4

except open their mouth to complain.

i am not complaining.

relationship with the RM now is Love and Hate.

Looking only one trip ahead at a time.
too risky to buy too much now to keep.