NEA summon me for emitting water vapor

Aerosmith

spent $400 at workshop to diagnose problem because i myself is afraid of white smoke cause it might mean my turbo up lorry.

turns out $400 wasted because every part was tip top condition, headgasket, turbo seals, no leaks, oil at optimum levels.

it will only occur on cold starts in the morning and probably after leaving it for more than a day or when it was just washed.

the day that NEA caught me on video, it had just rained and it was also probably just washed.

i appealed twice, but both rejected.

what should my next step be?

can i bring it down to NEA and prove to them my car no emit smoke? or must i invite them to come my house in morning to prove them there is water vapor if i flush my exhaust with water from a hose.

In the morning when I leave the house before sun rise, most vehicles also emitting white "smoke" including mine.

Btw $400 to check for smoke seems a bit too much. Like Macross zero said, just bring to an inspection. They will test if the "smoke" is really smoke.

it seems like there is absolutely no way to convince NEA it is water vapor...

but i thought in singapore it is innocent til proven guilty? where is NEA's concrete prove that the visible smoke was harmful gases and not water vapor?

also, i had only bought the vehicle for 2 weeks. i asked them for leniency on account that it was just bought 2 weeks ago and even that also cannot cannot.

i have 2 options left:

1. i feel that this time i should take on them in court. but i do not know the procedures. do i just skip payment date and wait for court summon, then appear in court and state my case or is there a proper channel to do this.

2. i understand from my friends and from one of the posts above that you cannot prove to NEA your car did not produce smoke because they caught you in the past. However, is it possible that i attempt to counter-prove. that is to say, i prove to NEA that my car CAN produce water vapor in the right conditions. Do you think like that can? What I will do is to go down to NEA and show them my car does not produce smoke. i then splash water at the exhaust to show them.

usually its black smoke from commercial vehicles and white smoke from 2 strokes bikes that get fined for this offence leh...never heard vapour also tio..

just to clarify, NEA is not charging me for emitting water vapor. the official charge is emitting visible smoke.

also, when i went down to NEA to view the tape, the officer who showed me also laughed and said it is rare to catch cars and mine was just unlucky lol.

This reminded me of a certis guy filming my car using the bus lane.

Long story cut short, i was trying to merge into the right lane after leaving BKE exit Bt Panjang. Hwr, right n 2nd lane all jam n my rear has high speed cars coming down from BKE.

The safest way was for me to maka the bus lane, signal right n then slwly cut to the right. NB, kana summon!

Went to LTA appeal, i said i dun want to waste my breath. Just see my in car video. Lady officer said ok. Next time cannot.

Told her if that certis dun need to use his tiny brain n assess the situation, might as well fire him n just put a static cam at the bus stop! [whip]

Edited by Tiger1

just to clarify, NEA is not charging me for emitting water vapor. the official charge is emitting visible smoke.

also, when i went down to NEA to view the tape, the officer who showed me also laughed and said it is rare to catch cars and mine was just unlucky lol.

sounds extremely crappy. this white smoke is extremely visible on a cold morning after a big rain lah due to condensation in the exhuast pipes.

i hope you get yourself clear for this case mans.

Nea offence for smoke very difficult to waive off.

There is no way for you to prove your vehicle conditionat the time when they snap you.

Even if u send your vehicle now or the next day, you cannot prove the time when they caught u.

Kena twice on my bike last time..Kena until sian. See MP also they reject.

It's quite ridiculous they use their eyes to calibrate the quantity of smoke.

And worst, using eyes to calibrate the quality of emission.

Utter joke....

Eh, only got camera picture and no other recording? Like that how to show conclusively that it is smoke and not water vapour?

they got video of my car emitting "smoke".

Tell them you're not going to pay and to schedule a court date. When you get to court, pull out as many articles you can about water vapour and exhaust, and ask them to prove that it is smoke.