Work-life balance? Know trade-offs too

Jman888

huh i open for wat? u never read my reply i write again: as long they dont bring whole clan here n deny singies jobs.

instead of complaining at every opportunity, hv u personally created any jobs for sgporeans?

i dun think it is right and fair to say that for all singaporean, there are people who work till sick and death.

sorry. I don't meant all Singaporeans. basically, it's most of Singaporean having that mindset. my past experiences working with Singaporeans are similar.

reason being,

1. their direct supervisors tend to push work to them once they saw the worker isn't loaded with tons of work.

2. foreign talents using their speciality (mouth) to suck up to bosses, giving ideas which they themselves know is difficult to execute and in turn push the execution job to lower ranked Singaporean worker.

3. after all the extras and hard work done, end of the year bonus, salary increment, promotions was all not there or not given to them according to how hard they work.

I know there are lots of Singaporean still working hard. but those are the most bottom category of workers who cannot afford to lose their job. they have families to feed. so they work hard, not because wanting to be promoted, but afraid of losing their job.

This place is run like a business...the ppl are there to guard the figures nia nia...not really interested in your welfare.

When population is aging, these ppl worried about the burden of paying out social security so they up the retirement age saying that ppl actually want to work but for the retirement cap.

When Management's high salaries are potentially threatened by a workforce that is more informed of their rights, they say ppl will steal your lunch.

Just like in the past...you don't choose me as your Management, your cubicle will never be upgraded.

Its all about money isn't it? Welfare is a profanity in itself [cool]

instead of complaining at every opportunity, hv u personally created any jobs for sgporeans?

i did awhile back. ended up hiring a few singies n 1 PRC PR NUS grad lol.

complaining is my right n it prevents complacency n its a feedback for garmen as well & their internet brigade.

watever we type here is being monitored by garmen n prob the USA's NSA as well. BTW NSA reads all our emails hor nothing is secret anymore

Edited by Duckduck

How right you are, and this is due to poor management oversight of the scope of work done by each employee.

There are only a fixed number of working hours per day. Which employee will voluntarily take up more roles and do the extra things that need to be done - if his boss never assigned it to him?

If the boss never assign, it simply means that the boss is unaware this employee is doing the extra. So what will the employee gain?

We see many middle management trapped in this cycle of fire-fighting at work every day, never spend the time to chart out what each of his subordinates is officially doing, or track their progress... end up, those people with more initiative end up doing more work quietly while the others benefit.

to be honest. management people or bosses high up there, they can't e bothered to look at their employees performance (in terms of doing good). they will just look at their growth and how much money they can make.

on the 2nd tier, those supervisor or team leader, they won't honestly report the good work done by their subordinate. instead they will "hint" it's their leadership. if they report directly on good performance of their subordinate, certainly one day that guy would go above them. which is what they do not want.

moral of the story? capability and hardworking doesn't necessarily meant you would be recognized.

what you think will not be what your boss think.

want lesser working hours by working harder with the shorten hours? no way.

working lesser by having pay cut? possible..

hullo thats y she was a political prisoner for decades! she was her country's opposition party mah of more in touch w d ground.

I have the funny feeling, instead of she trying to learn from Singapore

maybe our PM should learn from her [laugh]

We are all working in a company call Singapore Ltd.

Some times makes me feel, my employer are more concern for my welfare and health than my country.

Work-life balance will have trade-offs.. What bout Aussie??

Edited by Knoobie

Basically we all want the same thing, is to be Happy

15 Things You Should Give Up To Be Happy

Here is a list of 15 things which, if you give up on them, will

make your life a lot easier and much, much happier. We hold on to so

many things that cause us a great deal of pain, stress and suffering

and, instead of letting them all go, instead of allowing ourselves to be

stress free and happy, we cling on to them. Not anymore. Starting today

we will give up on all those things that no longer serve us, and we will

embrace change. Ready? Here we go:

1. Give up your need to always be right

There are so many of us who can't stand the idea of being wrong,

wanting to always be right even at the risk of ending great

relationships or causing a great deal of stress and pain, for us and for

others. It's just not worth it. Whenever you feel the urgent need to

jump into a fight over who is right and who is wrong, ask yourself this

question: Would I rather be right, or would I rather be kind? --Wayne

Dyer.

What difference will that make? Is your ego really that big?

2. Give up your need for control

Be willing to give up your need to always control everything

that happens to you and around you -- situations, events, people, etc.

Whether they are loved ones, co-workers, or just strangers you meet on

the street, just allow them to be. Allow everything and everyone to be

just as they are, and you will see how much better that will make you

feel.

By letting it go, it all gets done. The world is won by those

who let it go. But when you try and try. The world is beyond winning.

-- Lao Tzu

3. Give up on blame

Give up on your need to blame others for what you have or don't

have, for what you feel or don't feel. Stop giving your powers away and

start taking responsibility for your life.

4. Give up your self-defeating self-talk

Oh my! How many people are hurting themselves because of their

negative, polluted and repetitive self-defeating mindset? Dont believe

everything that your mind is telling you, especially if it's negative

and self-defeating. You are better than that.

The mind is a superb instrument if used rightly. Used wrongly,

however, it becomes very destructive. -- Eckhart Tolle

5. Give up your limiting beliefs

... about what you can or cannot do, about what is possible or

impossible. From now on, you are no longer going to allow your limiting

beliefs to keep you stuck in the wrong place. Spread your wings and

fly!

A belief is not an idea held by the mind, it is an idea that

holds the mind. -- Elly Roselle

6. Give up complaining

Give up your constant need to complain about those many, many,

maaany things people, situations, events that make you unhappy, sad and

depressed. Nobody can make you unhappy, no situation can make you sad

or miserable unless you allow it to. It's not the situation that

triggers those feelings in you, but how you choose to look at it. Never

underestimate the power of positive thinking.

7. Give up the luxury of criticism

Give up your need to criticize things, events or people that are

different from you. We are all different, yet we are all the same. We

all want to be happy, we all want to love and be loved, and we all want

to be understood. We all want something, and something is wished by us

all.

8. Give up your need to impress others

Stop trying so hard to be someone that you are not, just to

make others like you. It doesn't work this way. The moment you stop

trying so hard to be someone that you're not, the moment you take off

all your masks, the moment you accept and embrace the real you, you

will find that people will be drawn to you, effortlessly.

9. Give up your resistance to change

Change is good. Change will help you move from A to B. Change

will help you make improvements in your life and also the lives of those

around you. Follow your bliss, embrace change, don't resist it.

Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you

where there were only walls. --Joseph Campbell

10. Give up labels

Stop labeling those things, people or events that you don't

understand as being weird or different, and try opening your mind,

little by little. Minds only work when open. The highest form of

ignorance is when you reject something you don't know anything about.

-- Wayne Dyer

11. Give up on your fears

Fear is just an illusion, it doesn't exist -- you created it.

It's all in your mind. Correct the inside and the outside will fall

into place.

The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself. --Franklin D.

Roosevelt

12. Give up your excuses

Send them packing and tell them they're fired. You no longer

need them. A lot of times we limit ourselves because of the many

excuses we use. Instead of growing and working on improving ourselves

and our lives, we get stuck, lying to ourselves, using all kind of

excuses -- excuses that 99.9% of the time are not even real.

13. Give up the past

I know, I know. It's hard. Especially when the past looks so

much better than the present and the future looks so frightening, but

you have to take into consideration the fact that the present moment is

all you have, and all you will ever have. The past you are now longing

for, the past that you are now dreaming about, was ignored by you when

it was present. Stop deluding yourself. Be present in everything you do

and enjoy life. After all, life is a journey not a destination. Have a

clear vision for the future, prepare yourself, but always be present in

the now.

14. Give up attachment

This is a concept that, for most of us is so hard to grasp and

I have to tell you that it was for me too, (it still is) but it's not

something impossible. You get better and better at with time and

practice. The moment you detach yourself from all things, (and that

doesn't mean you give up your love for them because love and attachment

have nothing to do with one another, attachment comes from a place of

fear, while love well, real love is pure, kind, and selfless, where

there is love there can't be fear, and because of that, attachment and

love cannot coexist) you become so peaceful, so tolerant, so kind, and

so serene. You will get to a place where you will be able to understand

all things without even trying. A state beyond words.

15. Give up living your life to other people's expectations

Way too many people are living a life that is not theirs to

live. They live their lives according to what others think is best for

them, they live their lives according to what their parents think is

best for them, to what their friends, their enemies and their teachers,

their government and the media think is best for them. They ignore

their inner voice, that inner calling. They are so busy with pleasing

everybody, with living up to other people's expectations, that they

lose control over their lives. They forget what makes them happy, what

they want, what they need, and eventually they forget about themselves.

You have one life, this one right now -- you must live it, own it, and

especially don't let other people's opinions distract you from your

path.

Be happy, give up attachment, give up criticism, give up your

fears, give up your need to impress, in order to be happy.

----------

Carry a Heart that Never Hates.

Carry a Smile that Never Fades.

Carry a Touch that Never Hurts.

:D I certainly hope our pm got some of those words. Not everything is about growth. And growth figures doesn't mean ppl are happy. Sgp is becoming some kinda sweat shop. Ppl work work work and have no fun. Even trying to get some work-life balance also tio some kinda warning about trade-offs. Where's the joy in work dan?

she is quite sharp...

She added: "Perhaps Singapore could learn from us a more relaxed way of life."

she is quite sharp...

She added: "Perhaps Singapore could learn from us a more relaxed way of life."

as we can also see there is a trade-off, she wants her country to prosper and she wants singapore to be relax :huh: :huh:

complaining is my right n it prevents complacency n its a feedback for garmen as well & their internet brigade.

watever we type here is being monitored by garmen n prob the USA's NSA as well. BTW NSA reads all our emails hor nothing is secret anymore

Some people only want to hear the good things, all else means nothing or noises, ear-sores to them :-) When they hear feedbacks which require them to provide solutions as per what they are hired n paid for, they respond with "WHAT DO YOU THINK?"

Thanks

After reading these points I already feel happy, or at least tell myself I am

Basically we all want the same thing, is to be Happy

15 Things You Should Give Up To Be Happy

Here is a list of 15 things which, if you give up on them, will

make your life a lot easier and much, much happier. We hold on to so

many things that cause us a great deal of pain, stress and suffering

and, instead of letting them all go, instead of allowing ourselves to be

stress free and happy, we cling on to them. Not anymore. Starting today

we will give up on all those things that no longer serve us, and we will

embrace change. Ready? Here we go:

1. Give up your need to always be right

There are so many of us who can't stand the idea of being wrong,

wanting to always be right even at the risk of ending great

relationships or causing a great deal of stress and pain, for us and for

others. It's just not worth it. Whenever you feel the urgent need to

jump into a fight over who is right and who is wrong, ask yourself this

question: Would I rather be right, or would I rather be kind? --Wayne

Dyer.

What difference will that make? Is your ego really that big?

2. Give up your need for control

Be willing to give up your need to always control everything

that happens to you and around you -- situations, events, people, etc.

Whether they are loved ones, co-workers, or just strangers you meet on

the street, just allow them to be. Allow everything and everyone to be

just as they are, and you will see how much better that will make you

feel.

By letting it go, it all gets done. The world is won by those

who let it go. But when you try and try. The world is beyond winning.

-- Lao Tzu

3. Give up on blame

Give up on your need to blame others for what you have or don't

have, for what you feel or don't feel. Stop giving your powers away and

start taking responsibility for your life.

4. Give up your self-defeating self-talk

Oh my! How many people are hurting themselves because of their

negative, polluted and repetitive self-defeating mindset? Dont believe

everything that your mind is telling you, especially if it's negative

and self-defeating. You are better than that.

The mind is a superb instrument if used rightly. Used wrongly,

however, it becomes very destructive. -- Eckhart Tolle

5. Give up your limiting beliefs

... about what you can or cannot do, about what is possible or

impossible. From now on, you are no longer going to allow your limiting

beliefs to keep you stuck in the wrong place. Spread your wings and

fly!

A belief is not an idea held by the mind, it is an idea that

holds the mind. -- Elly Roselle

6. Give up complaining

Give up your constant need to complain about those many, many,

maaany things people, situations, events that make you unhappy, sad and

depressed. Nobody can make you unhappy, no situation can make you sad

or miserable unless you allow it to. It's not the situation that

triggers those feelings in you, but how you choose to look at it. Never

underestimate the power of positive thinking.

7. Give up the luxury of criticism

Give up your need to criticize things, events or people that are

different from you. We are all different, yet we are all the same. We

all want to be happy, we all want to love and be loved, and we all want

to be understood. We all want something, and something is wished by us

all.

8. Give up your need to impress others

Stop trying so hard to be someone that you are not, just to

make others like you. It doesn't work this way. The moment you stop

trying so hard to be someone that you're not, the moment you take off

all your masks, the moment you accept and embrace the real you, you

will find that people will be drawn to you, effortlessly.

9. Give up your resistance to change

Change is good. Change will help you move from A to B. Change

will help you make improvements in your life and also the lives of those

around you. Follow your bliss, embrace change, don't resist it.

Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you

where there were only walls. --Joseph Campbell

10. Give up labels

Stop labeling those things, people or events that you don't

understand as being weird or different, and try opening your mind,

little by little. Minds only work when open. The highest form of

ignorance is when you reject something you don't know anything about.

-- Wayne Dyer

11. Give up on your fears

Fear is just an illusion, it doesn't exist -- you created it.

It's all in your mind. Correct the inside and the outside will fall

into place.

The only thing we have to fear, is fear itself. --Franklin D.

Roosevelt

12. Give up your excuses

Send them packing and tell them they're fired. You no longer

need them. A lot of times we limit ourselves because of the many

excuses we use. Instead of growing and working on improving ourselves

and our lives, we get stuck, lying to ourselves, using all kind of

excuses -- excuses that 99.9% of the time are not even real.

13. Give up the past

I know, I know. It's hard. Especially when the past looks so

much better than the present and the future looks so frightening, but

you have to take into consideration the fact that the present moment is

all you have, and all you will ever have. The past you are now longing

for, the past that you are now dreaming about, was ignored by you when

it was present. Stop deluding yourself. Be present in everything you do

and enjoy life. After all, life is a journey not a destination. Have a

clear vision for the future, prepare yourself, but always be present in

the now.

14. Give up attachment

This is a concept that, for most of us is so hard to grasp and

I have to tell you that it was for me too, (it still is) but it's not

something impossible. You get better and better at with time and

practice. The moment you detach yourself from all things, (and that

doesn't mean you give up your love for them because love and attachment

have nothing to do with one another, attachment comes from a place of

fear, while love well, real love is pure, kind, and selfless, where

there is love there can't be fear, and because of that, attachment and

love cannot coexist) you become so peaceful, so tolerant, so kind, and

so serene. You will get to a place where you will be able to understand

all things without even trying. A state beyond words.

15. Give up living your life to other people's expectations

Way too many people are living a life that is not theirs to

live. They live their lives according to what others think is best for

them, they live their lives according to what their parents think is

best for them, to what their friends, their enemies and their teachers,

their government and the media think is best for them. They ignore

their inner voice, that inner calling. They are so busy with pleasing

everybody, with living up to other people's expectations, that they

lose control over their lives. They forget what makes them happy, what

they want, what they need, and eventually they forget about themselves.

You have one life, this one right now -- you must live it, own it, and

especially don't let other people's opinions distract you from your

path.

Be happy, give up attachment, give up criticism, give up your

fears, give up your need to impress, in order to be happy.

----------

Carry a Heart that Never Hates.

Carry a Smile that Never Fades.

Carry a Touch that Never Hurts.

as we can also see there is a trade-off, she wants her country to prosper and she wants singapore to be relax :huh: :huh:

i know i know [sly] reanrrage alittle bit [:p]

she wants singapore to be relax [sly] so that [sly] her country can prosper

It's naive to think everyone is responsible to create jobs, just like to say everyone needs to save lives like a doctors or catch thieves like mata.... Kekekekekke

The usual fear-mongering because the upper echelons are benefitting the most and lining their coffers from all this economic growth whilst the lower and middle incomes face stagnant wages, job insecurity and inflation.

If you don't slog, tomorrow Singapore will sink into the sea, you dunno meh? Do you want that? You want work-life balance? Then YOU will be personally responsible for the downfall of Singapore. It will be your fault when your wives and daughters become maids in other countries. Blah blah blah....

theyve been coming here ever since 2009. dont u see more italian, french SMLJ FTs here opening restaurants etc? i dont mind as long they dont bring whole clan here n deny singies jobs

Bring all their daughters.... We need diversity in racial backgrounds of XMM.... Welcome!!!

Seriously, as long as our govt manages the inflows well to protect locals job seekers who deserve it, it's ok Indiscrimate opening of flood gates, and expect the locals to bend backward to those who flow in is no no

The usual fear-mongering because the upper echelons are benefitting the most and lining their coffers from all this economic growth whilst the lower and middle incomes face stagnant wages, job insecurity and inflation.

If you don't slog, tomorrow Singapore will sink into the sea, you dunno meh? Do you want that? You want work-life balance? Then YOU will be personally responsible for the downfall of Singapore. It will be your fault when your wives and daughters become maids in other countries. Blah blah blah....

Please stop scaring me.... Tolong, tolong